AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2006, 06:27 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

9550 is a cut-down 9600, not a 9500, so whiel performance is ok, it's not great. better to get a 6600/6200, which has more functionality than the 9550. Just be aware that most 6200's are turbo-cache models, meaning that they use system ram for videoram, thereby reducing the amt of ram avaiable to your system. there are a few 6200's that are not "TC" models, so keep your eye out for one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2006, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Posts: 6

Thank's for the advice, I think the Geforce wil be better,more features like PS3.0
not like your going to use it much.I don't know wat's with ATi thease days, thier low-end cards are lagging behind NVidia cards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2006, 05:45 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Depends on the series.

Yes, the X600, 700, 1300 and 1600 arent what you would call the best midrange. However look at the 9xxx generation. You couldnt find a comparable Nv product to the 9500, 9600 and 9700 series, which was ATI's
midrange at the time.

Its funny becuase thats when ATI held the majority of the market share from Nvidia. Seeing as how these companies make most of their $$ on the midranged market, Nvidia pulled out all the guns and in essence, there was
a 100% turn around.

ATI's midrange is returning, its starting in the from of the X1800GTO, and looks to be quite promising.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2006, 11:20 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Are we seeing a yeild issue with the 7900? As I'm only seeing sporadic stock of the GT. The GTX is near non existant here in the UK.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2006, 11:30 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

asus, evga, BFG, gigabyte, and a few others all in stock here. Fact of the matter is that demand for these cards isn't really all that high, and retailer's will be holding cards back because they perform better than the previous generation, which is still more expensive. 7900GT comparable to 7800GTX....
Gotta get rid of the old, before the new...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2006, 11:40 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardus
Hi guy's I'm new here, I need a new video card, cos I have a outdated Sapphire ATI Radeon 9250 256mb DDR, it's very basic, with very big game envitonments
I get a dramatic slowdown. Is a Geforce 6200 or a ATI 9550 doing to work alot better? I would like a Geforce XFX6600 GT with DDR3 memory,but It's too expensive.I live in South-Africa 3rd world coutry you know.
SA thats where I'm from glad to see a fellow african. What art Joberg, capetown ,durban?
@cad we got plenty here. My local store has about 20 in stock, there trying to sell of thier 6800GS though. wait for a deal and see if you can pick one up, I've heard of them going for as low as $70 (R434)
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 20th March, 2006 at 11:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2006, 11:44 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
asus, evga, BFG, gigabyte, and a few others all in stock here.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...TTR18=&ATTR19=

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...TTR18=&ATTR19=

All out of stock here...

I'm actually considering a 7900GT over the X1800XL simply becuase of the price
now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 12:05 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

for an lcd, the x1800xl is best...CRT the 7900gt, as most CRT allow high enough res that AA is not really needed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 12:10 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

what res is that?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 12:23 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

2048*1536
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 12:31 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

A CRT can support that!!!???
I'm going to try it now.
EDIT: COD2 only went upto 17--. I didn't notice much of a differance at a high res. My GT had a bit of trouble at 20fps.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."

Last edited by madcatmk3; 21st March, 2006 at 12:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 12:51 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I often play Quake 3 on this monitor at 2048x1536 @ 85hz.

Many games that dont seam to support it can be made run at high resolution. I am still one of those people that thinks LCDs belong on laptops, and CRTs belong on gaming machines.

And before someone starts quoting pointless response times at me, its not that. Its the poor colour and contrast, and the low resolution to size ratio. Not to mention the fact that 1280x1024 isn't even a proper resolution ratio.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 01:03 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Many games that dont seam to support it can be made run at high resolution. I am still one of those people that thinks LCDs belong on laptops, and CRTs belong on gaming machines.
Amen to that.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 01:16 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

I do agree. However, my current CRT is very sloooooowly dying.
Therefore the picture is losing its clarity and colour, which means my
LCD provides a little more light and vividness (if thats even a word) for my games now.

I do plan I looking for a nice 19in Viewsonic though
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 01:18 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yeap, its a word, as is the more commonly used vividity.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2006, 01:19 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Well, my IQ just went up a point, and that one will now enter the vocab library
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7900gtx Vs 1900xtx madcatmk3 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 43 22nd March, 2006 08:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0