AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 03:17 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse buggered?

Over the past week or so my mouse has suddenly started jerking, clicking on occasion after jerking when it shouldn't and completely powering itself off as if it wasn't plugged in.

This particular mouse is USB native, it however has a PS/2 adapter and this problem persists either in the PS/2 port or in any USB port.

Just a few minutes ago I decided to have a look in the Device Manager in XP and see if it had any problems and there were none, but the mouse at that point again decided to power itself off and the Device Manager said no driver was installed for the device.

This was while it was plugged in a USB port.

Anyone have any ideas as to what's wrong?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 04:08 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

How old is it? You might wanna try to reroute the cable as some of the wires in it might have become frayed.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 04:16 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Not very, 3 months or so at the most.

Don't know much about the wiring of it, but if it keeps going like this and i can't find a solution that doesn't require playing around too much with the mouse itself I might just try it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 05:06 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

typical M$ mouse behavior. I used to go and buy another at a favorite retial, swap guts into my favorite chassis, and be done with it.

But i recently bought a Logitech G5....and i'll never go back.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 05:23 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

I don't think there is anywhere locally I can get anything but a basic generic or Microsoft mouse and keyboard.

I bought this keyboard and mouse in a package, the keyboard is going just fine but the mouse has completely lost the plot, Not much difference to it's creators I suppose.

If i'm going to buy a new mouse i'm not going to spend $80(AUD) or something on it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 07:48 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

I am sorry to hear that. Romanian mouses don't behave like that (of course they come much cheaper) but on occasions you can return home and find your case partially eaten
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 09:34 AM
ferret40's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Location: Hobart TAS. AUSTRALIA
Posts: 70

Chris this is Australia not Romania, The kangaroos eat everything here.
Chesso has obviously got a Roo problem with them Munching Mice......
Chesso go to your local $2 shop and buy a cheap optical mouse.
I use one and have been for 3 years, my wifes pc has one and it's been fine for 2 years.
Optical quality may come into it but for us they have been fine.
CHEERS
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 09:54 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

We don't have any local stores like that around here, I can't use public transport as I have been banned because I won't pay a $200 fine that I shouldn't have to. ( I was on a train home one day and guards ask to see my TAFE student card and said it was 1 month out of date and slapped a $200 fine on me which is $150 over what people normally get, and on the report they said fair evasion, that I didn't have a ticket which I did).

Anyway does anyone know how to open up these bastards? it is really beggining to give me the craps. When I push the cord into the mouse pretty hard it starts working until I let go, so I might be able to do something about that if I can open it up.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 10:56 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Well I have managed to fix it some what....

I cleaned the lens and eye with metho on a tissue and seems to likeit, i also had to strip the casing off the wires where it is bent just inside the mouse casing, it's what seemed to be the problem.

Iv'e electric taped it real tight and it works ok now as long as I use it right next to me on a surface where the cord can hang off the edge. The left and right mouse buttons howeva are a little bit of a pain.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 11:09 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I suspect that you might find that the internals of the cable around the entry point to the mouse has become damaged. Typically this is where it flexes a lot when you move the mouse.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 12:39 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

My mouse jerks occasionally, sometimes it just tracks left till you give it a whack. The button's don't work to well either, sometime's thinking I've clicked twice for every one push of the button... apart from all that it's fine

If you can, chesso, take it apart and give it a clean, and get it replaced asap.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2006, 02:08 PM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Well my only option is a cheap mouse with a ball *why does god hate me so much?*, but I will keep this mouse to experiment on

I am willing to bet the cabeling in that particular area is broken to some degree either from me cutting the plastic surrounding it or it was already like that, I know for sure that particular spot was causing the trouble though.

It however does not power off anymore unless put and used somewhere I wouldn't normally(So it's not a big problem), but the left and right click buttons for some reason the front of the mouse keeps moving up eventually so I can't click properly or at all and it's very frustrating.

If I could fix that problem it would be perfectly functional for me atleast until I can replace it with a decent one or until it dies and I have to use a cheap one.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Xbox 360 wireless steering wheel danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 5th January, 2007 04:28 PM
9NDA3J - MS optical mouse L.E.D. ????? bonzer EPoX MotherBoards 10 16th May, 2005 10:38 AM
Errrrr, Why??? (8RDA+ and MS optical mouse) DaveP3@ EPoX MotherBoards 7 23rd January, 2003 08:56 PM
Dual Optical Mouse loop Hardware Hacking 1 16th June, 2002 06:42 AM
Optical mouse stays on too dang much? cloasters Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 2nd May, 2002 11:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0