AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 11:03 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Dx10

I'm presuming we might need new card to support this or any chance a 7800GTX will be able to? I'd rather not spend another $500
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2006, 11:55 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
I'm presuming we might need new card to support this or any chance a 7800GTX will be able to? I'd rather not spend another $500
Support? yes.

Keep in mind, my hardware T&L Geforce 2 GTS up on a shelf somewhere still "supports" DX9.0C.

It cant <do> DX9.0C. But it supports it.

DX10 should be SM4.0, so as far as fully supporting all of DX10's feature set, you Geforce 7 boys are just as equally rooted as us Geforce 6 boys.

So, yea. Will it run the whole feature set? no. Will it work? Well, yea. Of course it will.

The whole thing is rather up in the air still though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2006, 01:20 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

so I should transfer my my GTX (later in time) to my ALienware and pt an 8/9 series in my custome built?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2006, 03:38 AM
45 Auto's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: land of Gov. Terminator
Posts: 98

If M$ releases DX10 as a seperate download, you should move the card to the Alienware. My guess is that since it's a part of Vista, it may not work on the older OS's. Another way of Lord Gate$ getting everybody to switch to Vi$ta.
__________________
9nda3+/0520 3200 venice E3 @300x9/2x256 or 4x256 GSkill LE/X800XL/XP90/Enermax Liberty 500watt/dual Maxtor S-ata/3 optical drives

asrock939dualie/3000winnie@230x9/2x512 Patriot ddr400ELK/Enermax Coolergiant 480/9600pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2006, 03:44 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmk3
I'm presuming we might need new card to support this or any chance a 7800GTX will be able to? I'd rather not spend another $500
Seeing as your Alienware has DDR, not DDR2, I am guessing it is a 8XX chipset, which means it is probably AGP, right?
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2006, 04:02 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Seeing as your Alienware has DDR, not DDR2, I am guessing it is a 8XX chipset, which means it is probably AGP, right?
Never let physics stand in the way of a good idea. If it fits, it works. If it doesn't fit, make it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 12:53 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

It has DDR in it. it's an intel Why do you think it's DDR? Plus I'm upgrading all my PCs to vista.
EDIT: it's the 925xe something like that I'm sure it's 925 though.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 02:50 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Because before you changed your sig, the timings on your Alienware said 2.5-2-3-5
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will DX10.1 make DX10.0 obsolete? dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 10th August, 2007 01:04 AM
X360 might do DX10 too! saquib GAMES! OH YEAH! 26 24th February, 2007 04:06 AM
Will DX9 cards emulate DX10? Rondog Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 30th January, 2007 04:56 PM
Nvidia DX10 G86 cards from $69 danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 26th January, 2007 10:18 AM
why so much wid DirectX 9c, wen DX10 is almost here? saquib Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 16th February, 2006 05:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0