AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 04:32 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Dell uses Ageia physics chip for gaming machine

Quote:
HARDWARE giant Dell said it is taking orders on what it describes as an ultra-high performance games machine which will use the Agea PhysX processor.

It previewed the XPS 600 Renegade desktop at CES in January and said the machine is available now in limited quantities and including a 30-inch monitor at a price only $70 short of $10,000.

It is also cranking up the Pentium 965 Extreme Edition to 4.26GHz, with dedicated support for the overclocking community.

However, Dell will also offer these machines with quad SLI options. µ
Source:
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=30474
Attached Thumbnails
Dell uses Ageia physics chip for gaming machine-dellquad3.jpg  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 04:34 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Dell... Ultra-high performance games machine... Dedicated Overclocking support....

Did I miss something?!
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 04:40 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Yes, it costs $10,000. But, don't worry the boss and some guy called Mike will sign it for you.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 05:12 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Look, its on fire. I wonder if this is a sign of whats to come?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 05:14 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Your credit card would be on fire after buying that.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 05:16 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

I've read these day somewhere that Dell is about to acquire AllienWare? ..myabe here on AOA..don't remember really. maybe this is the side effect.
though...10k $? I don't know what to say....(It's painfull... )
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 05:18 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

10K isn't bad when you consider you won't need to pay for a seperate central heating system
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 06:14 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
10K isn't bad when you consider you won't need to pay for a seperate central heating system
Yeah, but think about the air-conditioning bill. Unless you live north of the arctic circle, it's gonna cost a bundle to cool in the summer.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 07:31 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Alienware has added Ageia to the bill as well....seems now that the boards are out that allow proper lane-configuration for additional pci-e16x slots, the card has some followers. About bloodly time, I say, although i DID know that this was going to happen since November last year.


Gigabyte's 4x16 pci-e slotted board makes sense now to some, as the SLI can be run on one set, while the Ageia can be run on the second...wasn't meant for 4 videocards...EVER!!! nVidia released dual-pcb versions of the top card to go with Ageia...now those dual-card-on-one-pci-e connector 7800/7900's make some sense, as do the dual-chip-on-one-pcb vidcards, EH?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 10:16 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

agh this is getting overwhelming. and 10K s way to much for a PC, I don't care how much you have.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 10:22 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Yeah, but think about the air-conditioning bill. Unless you live north of the arctic circle, it's gonna cost a bundle to cool in the summer.
No no! In summer, you move it into a little log cabin, and install an open-bath watercooling solution - Hey presto! SAUNA!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 10:33 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Alienware has added Ageia to the bill as well.
Would competition from this be the reason that nVidia has suddenly gotten interested in offloading physics processing to the GPU?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 10:35 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
No no! In summer, you move it into a little log cabin, and install an open-bath watercooling solution - Hey presto! SAUNA!
D'oh! That is such an obvious solution that it completely passed me by! LOL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 11:05 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2006, 11:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Would competition from this be the reason that nVidia has suddenly gotten interested in offloading physics processing to the GPU?

That's a farce built upon by the addition of Aegia support to the nVidia SLi driver framework. nVidia is not porting off physics to the gpu...thier gpu is only capable of processing physics for lighting conditions, and not collision physics, and thier current memory-control scheme does not allow for the sort of caching nessecary to make ANY sort of physics calculations feasable.

Next-gen cards, however...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2006, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 61

Wow, very impressive computer, too bad it's a Dell...
Even with a physics processor, 4.26 gig CPU, 30 inch monitor, and all that extra stuff, there's just no way it's worth 10 k. That's insane :P
It will be interesting to see what happens once these physics processors become more common. I can imagine games finally being able to do away with disappearing ragdolls.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2006, 10:37 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
nVidia is not porting off physics to the gpu...thier gpu is only capable of processing physics for lighting conditions, and not collision physics, and thier current memory-control scheme does not allow for the sort of caching nessecary to make ANY sort of physics calculations feasable.
Tell that to those who are using their GPUs to crack triple DES then. I seem to remember that distributed.net found that the Geforce 2 cards were pretty good for breaking 3DES.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2006, 03:37 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Tell that to those who are using their GPUs to crack triple DES then. I seem to remember that distributed.net found that the Geforce 2 cards were pretty good for breaking 3DES.
I'm no expert on this, but it would seem to me that cracking 3DES and handling full-blown physics calculations are in completely different realms memory-wise?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2006, 04:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Tell that to those who are using their GPUs to crack triple DES then. I seem to remember that distributed.net found that the Geforce 2 cards were pretty good for breaking 3DES.
I understand, however the "techdemo" was centered around the geforce7 series only, and no other.


They also said that the card doing the physics would hand of the info to the DX9 driver...with NO cpu intervention. Uh, what?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2006, 04:18 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
They also said that the card doing the physics would hand of the info to the DX9 driver...with NO cpu intervention. Uh, what?
You caught that too? I was practically rolling on the ground when I read that....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell XPS 710 H2C gaming rig danrok General Hardware Discussion 9 15th January, 2007 03:54 AM
New physics chip Southern Man Random Nonsense! 9 30th April, 2006 10:43 AM
ATI Says It Can Do Physics Better Than AGEIA and NVIDIA chrisbard General Hardware Discussion 5 31st March, 2006 06:09 PM
New PhysX Chip for Gaming danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 17th March, 2005 03:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0