AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I need a TV Card

It must be digital. Preferably dual tuners.
It must be able to pick up Freeview signals. It must cost less than £60. It does not need to come with a remote. It must be MCE 2005 compatible. It must utilise the PCI slot.

Now go and find me one, cos I have no idea what makes a good TV card!
Thank you in advance.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 11:25 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The Nvidia one is quite good, and has two digital tuners.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 11:59 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Which nVidia one? nVidia don't make their own cards as far as I'm aware. The only dual tuner NVTV based card I've been able to find is two analog tuners with hardware MPEG2 encoders.

I know that Pinnacle do their PCTV Dual DVB-T Pro PCI.
Otherwise, it's pretty difficult finding twin tuner DVB-T PCI cards.

In terms of DVB-T tuners, there is no concept of "picture quality" as the cards generally don't do the decoding for you. Instead, the sensitivity of the receivers is more important - it gives you an idea of how little signal they need to be able to receive the information.

On the downside, dual tuner models tend to be less sensitive than single tuner models, as the card has to split the small amount of RF power coming down the antenna into two tuners instead of just one.

Oh, and good luck with finding one under £60!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 18th July, 2006 at 12:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 12:05 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

There's also the DVico FusionHDTV DVB-T Dual Digital - at about £130. The Pinnacle one is about £90 or so.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 12:26 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Which nVidia one? nVidia don't make their own cards as far as I'm aware. The only dual tuner NVTV based card I've been able to find is two analog tuners with hardware MPEG2 encoders.

I know that Pinnacle do their PCTV Dual DVB-T Pro PCI.
Otherwise, it's pretty difficult finding twin tuner DVB-T PCI cards.

In terms of DVB-T tuners, there is no concept of "picture quality" as the cards generally don't do the decoding for you. Instead, the sensitivity of the receivers is more important - it gives you an idea of how little signal they need to be able to receive the information.

On the downside, dual tuner models tend to be less sensitive than single tuner models, as the card has to split the small amount of RF power coming down the antenna into two tuners instead of just one.

Oh, and good luck with finding one under £60!
Its not a digital one, you're right. Was reading an incorrect specsheet from a local computer store. Just looked it up on anandtech.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Single tuners come in at £20-40. So why would I pay £130 for a dual? That makes no sense whatsoever..
It would be cheaper to just get two singles....lol
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Ok, lets go for a single.
Are Hauppage any good? I either read very poor reviews or very good reviews - mighty confusing!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 01:38 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Single tuners come in at £20-40. So why would I pay £130 for a dual? That makes no sense whatsoever..
A machine with a single PCI slot would be a reason to get a dual tuner card. The number of people buying dual tuner models will be lower than single tuner models, so the price will be more expensive. Dual tuner models also require additional circuitry over single tuner models.

I hadn't seen any DVB-T PCI cards at the £20 end of the market? Most seem to be between £30 and £60.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 01:39 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Ok, lets go for a single.
Are Hauppage any good?
Which Hauppage model? They do several. The old style Nova-T was one of the better adapters, but that's been replaced with a reworked Nova-T, which is significantly different.

Incidently, do you have access to an external antenna? Internal antennas do not work very well for DVB-T.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 18th July, 2006 at 01:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I do not, but we have an external one which my Father says, (often what he says is not neccessarily what will happen) he will put it up for me.
I may be moving into another bedroom soon, this bedroom has a far easier way of using an external antenna.
So, for now, an internal one with a signal booster should have to do. Of course, I will look for a long term solution when which room I'll be in is sorted!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 03:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

One of the multiplexes is transmitted using a slightly different modulation technique. The ITV mux uses a modulation technique called QAM64, whereas the other muxes uses QAM16. This means that the signal coming down the wire needs to be twice as strong to be received!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 221

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Ok, lets go for a single.
Are Hauppage any good? I either read very poor reviews or very good reviews - mighty confusing!
I have a Hauppage card that I am very happy with.
__________________


E8400 @ 3.92 / ASUS P5Q SE/R / MSI 8800GT / OCZ DDR2 1066 / VelociRaptor 150G

P4 3.2 Prescott running at 3.45 / 2G ram / 8800GT / 3dmark03 31345

Alienware 7700 Laptop P4 HT 2.4ghz 1G ram 17"screen

HTPC Silverstone Case / A64 3200 / 2G ram / 7900GTX / Hauppauge PVR250 / Thermaltake Big TyphoonHSF


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 09:13 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Its not a digital one, you're right. Was reading an incorrect specsheet from a local computer store. Just looked it up on anandtech.
You could have posted, then looked it up here! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 09:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
I do not, but we have an external one which my Father says, (often what he says is not necessarily what will happen) he will put it up for me.
I may be moving into another bedroom soon, this bedroom has a far easier way of using an external antenna.
So, for now, an internal one with a signal booster should have to do. Of course, I will look for a long term solution when which room I'll be in is sorted!
I's suggest re-thinking the remote. Times change as you are seeing now! ":O}

A remote can be a very handy thing when dodging commercials! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2006, 10:46 PM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

I'm using the Twinhan 3020 with my MCE 2005 works great and came with a remote but it only works with XP not MCE.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2006, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Daniel, I already have my iMon remote, which is a far sleeker unit than any remote I've seen bundled with TV Cards.
It also comes with iMedian.

Quote:
Originally Posted by QSDT
I'm using the Twinhan 3020 with my MCE 2005 works great and came with a remote but it only works with XP not MCE.
Huh? You bought it for MCE but it only works with XP not MCE?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2006, 06:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Good Man! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2006, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Hehe, I believe I reviewed the iMon beauty a while back. Perhaps it's time for another....?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2006, 10:23 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

The Twinhan 3020 does work fine with MCE & XP check here it has BDA Drivers? http://www.twinhan.com/download_driver&software.asp
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2006, 01:16 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I've got the first generation nova-t from hauppage, as they say they dont make them like they used to!
Well in actual fact first gen nova-t's were re-badged technotrend.de boards with the name and logo's changed in the software but thats it.

The original software was shocking, but its drivers are open and many other applications can use the tuner, such as progdvb, showshifter, mce, mytheater etc. This also allowed you to use a CAM for topuptv

However times have changed and due to the poor original software hauppauge started making there own boards with there own drivers locking you into wintv2000 only. Some boards have mce drivers now i think.

To cut the story short, new nova-t boards arent as good as old ones.

NebulaTV cards used to be highly rated a few years ago due to excellent software. I haven't looked them up in a while tho
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserting memory card causes USB card reader to get removed videobruce General Hardware Discussion 2 6th November, 2006 03:26 PM
new card for me i think skool h8r Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 76 28th May, 2006 12:45 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Which PCI DVB-T card? tottyspotter Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 18th May, 2005 06:07 PM
No VGA Card RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 3 5th September, 2004 08:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0