AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2006, 07:59 AM
glObalist's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 118

Help! BSOD during overclock stress test

So I just tried to overclock my 7600GST, using the manual overclocking option of Coolbits 2.0 ---> Detect optimal frequencies. Well the progress bar of the stress test passes several times but every time towards the end of the test I get a BSOD of nv4_disp.sys?

WTH is this? Never happened to me before - the test either finished or did not finish, but not this FYI, I've tried this with the 84.43 as well as with the 91.33 drivers. Anyone know what gives?
__________________
AMD A64 Venice 3200+ @2.5Ghz ---> EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra <--- 2GB CORSAIR Value DDR400
MSI Radeon X1950Pro 512M <---> neovo F-419 19" LCD
E-MU 0404 <---> M-AUDIO Studiophile BX5a
-------------
dxdiags are boring
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2006, 01:42 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Have you tried backing off the OC just a little bit? Coolbits may have found the magic point at which the card is just starting to become unstable.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2006, 01:45 PM
glObalist's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 118

Well there's no OC just yet - I'm only pushing the "Detect optimal frequencies button" LOL.
__________________
AMD A64 Venice 3200+ @2.5Ghz ---> EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra <--- 2GB CORSAIR Value DDR400
MSI Radeon X1950Pro 512M <---> neovo F-419 19" LCD
E-MU 0404 <---> M-AUDIO Studiophile BX5a
-------------
dxdiags are boring
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2006, 02:34 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Ah, but the whole process of detecting optimal frequencies must, by definition, overclock the card, right? I mean, it has to try changing the clock and seeing how the card reacts, doesn't it?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2006, 03:32 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Thats right, usually though the detection will come up with a number that is just below the point when minor errors are detected, im thinking that your card might just have an absolute cut-off which it wont go above but doesnt generate errors before this point.

Coolbits although it's in the Nvidia software isn't actually that good or accurate, best way to do it is to increase core frequency 10mhz at a time untill problems occur and then back off 10-15mhz, when you have your absolute maximum core speed then repeat the process with the memory, you should always do the core speed first as this has the most effect on performance and you will not necessarily reach your peak core speed if your memory is maxed out.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2006, 01:55 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

i've had that problem before and it was either overclocking too much or crappy drivers, or a little of both
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2006, 04:42 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
Thats right, usually though the detection will come up with a number that is just below the point when minor errors are detected, im thinking that your card might just have an absolute cut-off which it wont go above but doesnt generate errors before this point.

Coolbits although it's in the Nvidia software isn't actually that good or accurate, best way to do it is to increase core frequency 10mhz at a time untill problems occur and then back off 10-15mhz, when you have your absolute maximum core speed then repeat the process with the memory, you should always do the core speed first as this has the most effect on performance and you will not necessarily reach your peak core speed if your memory is maxed out.

You're dead right about coolbits overclock detecting. It told me my card tops out at 380Mhz. In reality my card is more than happy to do over 450Mhz.

I would do just as the Monk suggested, and increase by 10-15 until you hit your limit. Keep in mind, this means you overclock, then play a heavy game (HL2 / BF2 / Halo / GRAW) for an hour to test the stability. You can probably just do a 10 minute test for the first 5-6 tests, but as you get closer to your limit test more and more to find the sweet spot.

A thermal regoop and reseat with arctic silver 5 should help you as well. Also give the Tweaksrus Xtreme-G drivers we host a go as well. (on AOAFiles)
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2006, 10:04 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

I had the same problem til I replaced my power supply on my geforce 6800U just a long shot but after i replaced it this stopped completely :/
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question: FEAR Stress test skool h8r GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 30th October, 2006 10:16 AM
Tom's Hardware Stress Test Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 6 27th June, 2005 11:47 AM
CS:S/HL2 Stress Test stigweed GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 18th December, 2004 04:42 AM
Prime95 stress test question JEB General Hardware Discussion 1 14th February, 2003 04:41 PM
CPU stress test. Lionfish AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 26th March, 2002 04:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0