AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2006, 09:54 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

What! No HDR?!

Hi all,
i got it, the 7600GT i've been waiting for. Wow! I knew it was gonna be fast but OMFG, 300/400+ FPS in 3dmark01SE! Yes, That's at 1024x768 with non-maskable AA and AF! With DXT1!

But, there's something nibbling away at the back of my mind. Just now, when i went on FarCry, i wanted HDR. So, i switched off AA, and edited the Systemcfgoverride.cfg file so it would have HDR level 7. Now, when i saved, and loaded the game back up, what do ya know, no HDR! Now, i don't think i'm missing anything, but why can't i get HDR in FC? This is with everything at high, no AA, at 1024x768. Anyone help me out here?

Apart from that, pure ownage, i actually jumped out of my seat when i went into FEARCombat, and that's just the shadow on the wall (thought someone was behind me and scared crap out of me). Now i know what the reviews meant. And FPS, wow, even in FEARCombat, most suff at high, and 2xaa, it's as smooth as a babies back*ide

Thanks,
Scott
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2006, 11:38 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Update: Well, appears i needed to put AA on, then turn it off for HDR to work. Now i can enjoy decent UV Rays while playing FarCry
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2006, 05:58 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

AA and HDR 'work' with NV GPU's....

Its just OpenEXR that presents the issue.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2006, 12:03 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

So if it was using OpenEXR, it may work.

Just set everything to max in FearCombat, with 4xaa and 2xaf AND Softshadows and it's still smooth. I can't believe what i've been missing.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2006, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I hope you enjoy your new card SkoolH8er! Many happy days of gaming ahead!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2006, 06:55 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Yep, shame BF2 doesn't have any HDR, or emulation of it (like the paradise option in FarCry), that would be ace as it works on all cards (even my 6200TC handled it without any slowdown). But, 4xaa is worth it, and required AFAIAC because all of the antennas and towers. Shame i get a slowdown every few seconds if it's all on high, but difference between medium and high isn't THAT noticable, certainly a lot better now i can have textures, view distance and texture filtering at max (lighting is the one that causes probs now but medium will do).

Are we going on PoE/BF2 clan games tomorrow?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0