AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 12:23 AM
gordon996's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 55

help! crossfire but no more fps score lower in 3d mark wtf

well bit the bullet and bought master card for my rig never heard of them but what the hey ati listed as ok for use so bought it a palit 1900 crossfire edition to go with my x1900xtx that will run as slave
now everthing seemed fine used cat cleaner uninstalled all old drivers then the new cat 6.11 was installed and crossfire switched on in the cat centre but in 3d mark lower score and less fps wtf checked the cards both ok took them out reinstalled everthing nowt still crap out on the fpswhat am i missing power supply crossfire certified googled like mad cant see anyone haveing probs with it pls has anyone had this problem pls help !
__________________
thermaltake shark case
thermaltake 680w psu
athlon x2 4400
Asus a8r32-mvp motherboard
4 x 512 pc3200 DDR ram
gecube x1900xtx
palit 1900 crossfire edition
250 gig sata
140 gig ide on windows xp
creative xfi platinuim
creative inspire t7900 speakers (7.1)
oc to 2.5 on each core 5g
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 12:26 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Which 3dmark and check your driver settings, make sure VSYNC is not enabled.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 12:33 AM
gordon996's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 55

3dmark 05 and sorry but vsync ?
__________________
thermaltake shark case
thermaltake 680w psu
athlon x2 4400
Asus a8r32-mvp motherboard
4 x 512 pc3200 DDR ram
gecube x1900xtx
palit 1900 crossfire edition
250 gig sata
140 gig ide on windows xp
creative xfi platinuim
creative inspire t7900 speakers (7.1)
oc to 2.5 on each core 5g
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 12:39 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Vsync (Vertical Sync) locks your FPS from going above your current refresh rate.

If your monitor refresh rate is 60Hz, your FPS will not go above 60, similerly, if your refresh rate is 100Hz, you will be limited to 100 FPS.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 05:23 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Mastercard in teh bottom slot?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 06:10 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Gordon please use some form of punctuation, you make my eyes hurt
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 06:40 PM
gordon996's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 55

Mastercard in is in the top slot, (blue slot) as per mobo manual is this wrong cadeveca ?

Also i have tried to remove the crads again and swopted the 6 pin connector (in case one was duff) nothing working.

also i cannot get above 6x aa
anybody any ideas ?
__________________
thermaltake shark case
thermaltake 680w psu
athlon x2 4400
Asus a8r32-mvp motherboard
4 x 512 pc3200 DDR ram
gecube x1900xtx
palit 1900 crossfire edition
250 gig sata
140 gig ide on windows xp
creative xfi platinuim
creative inspire t7900 speakers (7.1)
oc to 2.5 on each core 5g
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2006, 10:27 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The master card is clocked at xt speeds which are slightly slower than the xtx so if its only using the one gpu then this would cause lower scores. Also your motherboard has probably set each card to run at 8x pci-e speeds instead of the single card 16x.

I would try and older set of cat's as 6.11 is supposed to enable mastercardless xfire which could be causing an issue.

I'd suggest testing both cards work individually then check the wiring from the slave to master card is correct.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2006, 08:13 PM
gordon996's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 55

Firstly thanks for ur help keithwalton

My bios is set to 16x, i also tried cat 6.9 same results almost identical fps to the single xtx
Removed both cards and reinstalled still no better.

this is a but annoying all that cash for another card with no performance gain i must be doing something wrong.
Any ideas please post any help greatly appreciated.
__________________
thermaltake shark case
thermaltake 680w psu
athlon x2 4400
Asus a8r32-mvp motherboard
4 x 512 pc3200 DDR ram
gecube x1900xtx
palit 1900 crossfire edition
250 gig sata
140 gig ide on windows xp
creative xfi platinuim
creative inspire t7900 speakers (7.1)
oc to 2.5 on each core 5g
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2006, 07:18 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Out of curiousity, what is your 05 score?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2006, 09:59 PM
gordon996's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 55

These are all my bench mark results i have to hand hope this helps

Score: 11434
Date: 2006-04-15
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 2530 MHz
GPU: ATI RADEON X1900
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1024x768@32 bit

Score: 11405
Date: 2006-04-14
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 2530 MHz
GPU: ATI RADEON X1900
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1024x768@32 bit

Score: 11260
Date: 2006-11-22
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 2475 MHz
GPU: ATI RADEON X1900 CrossFire Edition
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1024x768@32 bit



Score: 11051
Date: 2006-11-22
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 2420 MHz
GPU: ATI RADEON X1900 CrossFire Edition
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1024x768@32 bit



Score: 10941
Date: 2006-04-14
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 2422 MHz
GPU: ATI RADEON X1900
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1024x768@32 bit
__________________
thermaltake shark case
thermaltake 680w psu
athlon x2 4400
Asus a8r32-mvp motherboard
4 x 512 pc3200 DDR ram
gecube x1900xtx
palit 1900 crossfire edition
250 gig sata
140 gig ide on windows xp
creative xfi platinuim
creative inspire t7900 speakers (7.1)
oc to 2.5 on each core 5g
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2006, 10:14 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

cpu-limited. try higher resolutions for the benchmarks, and see what happens. Force 4xAA and 16xAF for extra workload.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2006, 10:38 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

If thats a CPU limit then damn. My X1800XT nabs 9200 in 05 stock; he's only got me by 2k if that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2006, 10:42 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

took 3.1ghz on Opty 170 for me ot break 10k in '06.


EDIT: Sry 3.0ghz :
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=376335

16,7k in '05 w/ 3.06ghz:

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=2106004
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 26th November, 2006 at 10:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire board Necorum Intel Motherboards & CPUs 9 16th January, 2007 07:27 PM
crossfire cadaveca Random Nonsense! 89 1st June, 2005 07:49 PM
Higher speed..lower score...wha.? Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 30th March, 2005 03:17 AM
Latest 3D Mark high score... Lazgoat Benchmarking 2 27th September, 2004 10:22 PM
Crappy 3D Mark score on a GF4 TI Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 14th July, 2002 09:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0