AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2006, 03:56 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Post Another Nvidia ghost feature emerges

Read it on the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1486/2/

Comments?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2006, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Shame on you nVidia....it's this kind of rubbish that really gets up my snozzle.

Sort it out! All they need to do is issue an apology, deal with the customers who have been given a short hand and remove that bloody graphic....honestly!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2006, 10:19 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

1080i doesn't work, but 1080p does work? Interesting combination.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 03:18 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
1080i doesn't work, but 1080p does work? Interesting combination.
well with all the intagrated de-interlaceing it doesnt surpise me. THey should say that it supports P only on the graphic and issue an apology.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 06:04 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

inquirer blows it again?

Once again I will point out how unreliable that so-called enws site is. I read the article there, and while they provide TWO links to prove their claim that 1080i doesn't work, one of the links didn't work and the otehr specifically refers to 7900 crds, not the newer 8800 cards, leading me to believe that while the drivers do in fact support this resolution, the older hardware doesn't. Duh. I don't claim to have all the inside information here, but once again the Inquirer has posted an article worthy of teh Enquirer (or The Globe I believe for your Brits). I have had enough sensationalist crap, and enough fanboi nonsense over nVidia, ATI, AMD and Intel. If they want to post an article saying this feature doesn't work, then THEY NEED TO TEST IT THEMSELVES AND PROVE IT. Otherwise, STFU is the operative phrase.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 01:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Mentions the other cards here:

Quote:
New Flexibility:
Mix and Match Graphics Cards from Different Manufacturers
Example: You can use a GeForce 7800 GTX from manufacturer ABC with a GeForce 7800 GTX from manufacturer XYZ.
Note: You must still use two graphics cards that have the same GPU. For example, a GeForce 7800 GT must be matched with another GeForce 7800 GT (not with a GeForce 7800 GTX or a GeForce 6800 Ultra). Mix and Match Graphics Cards with Different Input/Output Ports
Example: You can use a GeForce 6800 GT with Dual DVI & TV-out with a GeForce 6800 GT with Dual DVI & VIVO.

Mix and Match Graphics Cards with Different Clock Speeds
Example: You can use a higher clocked GeForce 6600 GT 550/525 with a standard clock GeForce 6600 GT 500/500.

Mix and Match Graphics Cards with Different Memory Sizes
Example: Using Coolbits, you can use a 128MB GeForce 6800 GT with a 256MB GeForce 6800 GT.

Note: NVIDIA recommends that SLI customers, whenever possible, purchase graphics cards with matching memory sizes. When dissimilar memory sizes are enabled to work together using Coolbits (value set to 18), the effective memory size for each card becomes the smaller of the two memory sizes.

Download ForceWare Release 80 Driver Today!
http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone2_rel80.html

I don't think the release 80 drivers are specifically for 8800's, it is just stating that they are now supported as well.

On the FAQ:

Quote:
Can I output to my TV or HDTV in SLI mode?
Yes. New with Release 80 graphics drivers, high definition televisions up to 1080i resolutions as well as standard definition televisions are supported in SLI mode.
No mention of it being for 8800's only. We don't actually know that it works with 8800's, unless someone has found somebody who has it working?

Looks like a marketing screw up. As Aedan points out, 1080i + SLI would be an interesting combination! Technically difficult to do, I'd imagine.

Surely, they should be saying 1080p, and not 1080i?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah

Last edited by danrok; 18th December, 2006 at 01:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2006, 05:07 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

lolz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IE7 feature goes buggy Gizmo Data Security 1 1st November, 2006 09:31 PM
New Feature - Skype Status Gizmo Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 3 26th March, 2006 06:08 PM
Question about feature of MS-8802 nVidia Riva TNT2. Chesso Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 27 2nd February, 2005 02:37 PM
nForce3-250 feature set. mookydooky 64 Bit computing 20 17th April, 2004 05:45 PM
Can someone help with the hibernation feature Chanse EPoX MotherBoards 3 25th September, 2003 01:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0