AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 04:48 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Watching 16:9 movies in 16:10 widescreen

I have a small issue I am slightly peeved about. I've had my new 2407WFP for a couple of weeks now, and yes its absolutely brilliant and I love it. Gaming and desktop use is amazing, and the ability to have code right across 1920 pixels instead of being moved to the next line makes python far more beautiful to look at but...

16:9 movies are a bitch. I get the tiny, half inch bars at the top and bottom of my screen, because its a 16:10 computer monitor, not a 16:9 TV.

Now, as far as I can see, this is an easy fix. I need to zoom the image in until the picture takes up the whole vertical space, and a slight bit is cut off from either end. The difficulty is I don't know how to apply this.

All my DVDs, my HDTV tuner, my Foxtel PVR, and the vast collection of movies on my hard disks (which I own) are 16:9 for the most part, and the only option I have in winamp is to stretch the image vertically, which ruins the movie for me, as I just can't stand tall heads.

I can get this to work under linux with Kaffeine by manually zooming the image, but my media PC is running Windows to allow others to use it, so I need a windows app that gives this functionality.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Try iMedian.
It's much, much better than MCE 2005. Not sure if you can do this but it might let you - and is worth a try.

Edit: Dude, Winamp is ancient and ghastly. Move on!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 25th December, 2006 at 07:23 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 07:39 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yea, I know it seams to have turned to crap since AOL picked it up. Fact is MPlayer, Kaffeine and Banshee are so far ahead of anything I've seen on windows that I just havn't looked much.

So iMedian does the pan&scan for me?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2006, 07:44 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Winamp seems to be a big CPU hog now a days, seems so bloated...i still used it though.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 05:10 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I just tried iMedian out. On a Northwood 2.4C @ 3.2Ghz, with a 7300GS card, I get a max of 5fps watching DivX movies, DVDs don't play at all, and 1080i movies don't play at all.

I think there's something really up with that.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 05:26 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

After buying Syncmaster 205BW which is also 16:10 I had some issues while playing movies (some kind of lag) and I solve it by moving forward to the 93.17 Nvidia drivers. I think you may have a fair chance by using MV2 Player ! However now it's my turn to search help. I am using my old 19" CRT as a secondary monitor in dualview. I want to be able to play games while the TV runs on it. As soon as the game starts the image on the CRT splits in 3, the upper half splits in two of the same chanel TV and below I can see the game :\ Pls hlp, I have no ideea what is wrong !!! TX
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I just tried iMedian out. On a Northwood 2.4C @ 3.2Ghz, with a 7300GS card, I get a max of 5fps watching DivX movies, DVDs don't play at all, and 1080i movies don't play at all.

I think there's something really up with that.
Odd. All of that works perfectly for me.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 06:52 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

VLC media player. Works a treat. Offers software/hardware encoding/decoding, and supports just about everything you could imagine, including streaming content over the web.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 26th December, 2006 at 06:53 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 07:19 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

VLC is brilliant from a technical standpoint but the GUI completely blows. What I need is a Kaffeine like gui, with a decent back end.

Kaffeine gives a brilliant amount of fingertip control, allowing you to essentially choose your movie, move forwards and back, up and down volume, change TV channels and anything else, just by hovering over the control while in full screen mode, and moving the mouse wheel. If I forget to have the mouse with me, and I'm too lazy to stand up, I can ssh into the media box, and set whatever I want from a command line. Hell, I can even start recording off DVB-T using it by sending an SMS message to my computer, in case I left the house before setting it to record days of our lives.

VLC makes me get up, exit full screen, walk over and do whatever I need to do, then go back to full screen. Reading the text on a 1920x1200 screen is impossible.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 26th December, 2006 at 07:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Don't you have a remote?
Something like the iMon system would just make all this so much easier for you...
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 07:45 PM
fearless joe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: london
Posts: 589

maybe this is a stupid thing to say, (it does happen), but if you have bars at the top you loose a bit of size, but if you have it full hight, you loose some of the picture, id rather have it letterboxed, especially if its only a bit??

ps iv never found anything that the VLC cant play
__________________
errm a signature, i duno, hello
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 05:15 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I have a logitech Harmony remote which uses both the tuner's IR receiver and the Audigy 2 drive's IR receiver, but I tend to use the mouse more, as it also lets me browse websites in Opera, and do other things.

See, thing is if its letterboxed, the black strips are not that bad, but on an LCD, the light leakage and the mild shimmering effect generated by those static black strips is distracting.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 08:17 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Try BS player.

BS player allowed me to view all of my japanese anime perfectly. What used to happen was that the subtitles used to get cut off on the bottom of the screen, and since I know minimal japanese, it was kinda hard to watch anime.

But by using zoom, I managed to sort it out perfectly.

BS Player should solve your problems. =O
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 08:19 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I have a logitech Harmony remote which uses both the tuner's IR receiver and the Audigy 2 drive's IR receiver, but I tend to use the mouse more, as it also lets me browse websites in Opera, and do other things.

See, thing is if its letterboxed, the black strips are not that bad, but on an LCD, the light leakage and the mild shimmering effect generated by those static black strips is distracting.
Um, why not just add macros to that handy controller oyu got there, and call VLC the solution? I use the "G-Keys" on the keyboard for this.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2007, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to jordancheto

16:9 aspect ratio from Dell 2407FPW?

Hello,
I have the following question about Dell 2407FPW:
In 1:1 pixel mapping mode, when I get signal from my external DVD player (not PC DVD), trough the component input, witch is 576p (aspect ratio 16:9), what will I see? A small rectangular picture with height 576 pixels (aspect ratio 16:9) centered at the screen, or full screen picture with aspect ratio 16:9 (and horizontal thin black bands)?

Or how can I get 16:9 AR picture from my external DVD in full screen, without stretch to 16:10 (witch is AR of the monitor).

Please, anyone, who have this monitor to help me!
Thank You
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2007, 03:20 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I just gave it a go, and it displayed in 16:9, with black bars top and bottom, height 1080 pixels, width 1920 pixels. That's from a Sony DVD player on component.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuff I Learned From Watching Movies and TV. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 28th June, 2007 01:31 AM
Anybody been watching? robbie ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 14 5th July, 2002 07:17 AM
I am watching you 4,hehe. Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 24 30th May, 2002 05:14 AM
Be watching:............... The Spyder Case Modifications 0 16th January, 2002 06:05 AM
Spode is watching over us! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 15 11th October, 2001 04:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0