AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 07:01 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

XFX G-Force 7800 GT Fatal1ty

I have an Asus mobo, (P5B de luxe), and 2 XFX G-Force 7800 GT Fatal1ty vidcards. I have heard somewhere that if you use em both, your system will be faster, but recently i read somewhere, that it will only give you dual monitor support.. I have tried it, of course with both cards in.. but I didn't see any difference in performance.. I have read the manual, but haven't found an answer.. Anyone know the answer to that mystery ?...

Btw.. anyone know how much over clocking that card can stand ?...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Graphics Cards won't affect general system performance. They will only affect your games.
So, having both in SLI will be advantageous when running high performance games, as you'll be able to play at higher resolutions and with higher detail.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 07:14 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Graphics Cards won't affect general system performance. They will only affect your games.
So, having both in SLI will be advantageous when running high performance games, as you'll be able to play at higher resolutions and with higher detail.

Thanks aghastpumpkin.. /me putting second card in again...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 07:17 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

One other question though... do i connect the monitor to the first, or the second card ?...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I beleive you connect it to the first. However, having never used SLI, I would refer to your Graphics Card Manual.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:12 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
I beleive you connect it to the first. However, having never used SLI, I would refer to your Graphics Card Manual.

Thanks.. me dives in the pile of manuals again...
__________________
I am always amazed at the intelligence of the universe, and the stupidity of mankind..


And i am not sure about the universe...


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:21 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

ASUS P5B Deluxe does not support SLI using official drivers, however, find some modded ones, and you'll be good to go, although there is a slight performance loss from running the first card @ 16x and the second card @ 4x. No official nVidia driver currently available supports this feature.

There is no pci-e-to-pci-e connection available on that board, however there is a SPI link that can be used, assumung the driver knows it's there. Crossfire works on this board in just that fashion.


nVidia drivers look for 3 ASIC id's in order to enable SLi...and your board is not one of the listed supported ASICs. Feel free to yell @ the boys over @ nV for that one....thier noses couldn't be farther in the air.


Oh, and BTW, yes monitor goes into the videocard closest to the chipset.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 4th January, 2007 at 09:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:30 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
ASUS P5B Deluxe does not support SLI using official drivers, however, find some modded ones, and you'll be good to go, although there is a slight performance loss from running the first card @ 16x and the second card @ 4x. No official nVidia driver currently available supports this feature.

There is no pci-e-to-pci-e connection available on that board, however there is a SPI link that can be used, assumung the driver knows it's there. Crossfire works on this board in just that fashion.


nVidia drivers look for 3 ASIC id's in order to enable SLi...and your board is not one of the listed supported ASICs. Feel free to yell @ the boys over @ nV for that one....thier noses couldn't be farther in the air.


Oh, and BTW, yes monitor goes into the videocard closest to the chipset.
Thanks.. /me goes yelling at Nvidia.. me is good at yelling...
__________________
I am always amazed at the intelligence of the universe, and the stupidity of mankind..


And i am not sure about the universe...


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:36 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

I use a tweaksRus driver now... good enough ?...
__________________
I am always amazed at the intelligence of the universe, and the stupidity of mankind..


And i am not sure about the universe...


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 09:41 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

meh..i tend to stay away from modded drivers. Jsut make sure to give them a virus scan first, and after you have installed them. And no, never had an issue with Tweaks R us, but ya never know. Some of the others....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2007, 10:20 PM
The_DuDe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2007
Posts: 194

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
meh..i tend to stay away from modded drivers. Jsut make sure to give them a virus scan first, and after you have installed them. And no, never had an issue with Tweaks R us, but ya never know. Some of the others....

My computer gets scanned automatically with 2 spyware scanners, and NOD32 virus scanner on a daily basis.. so i think its ok, now i had the driver in for almost 2 days. but thanks for the heads-up.. you cant be careful enough..

__________________
I am always amazed at the intelligence of the universe, and the stupidity of mankind..


And i am not sure about the universe...


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7800 gs 512 AGP??!! z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 4th April, 2006 04:08 AM
7800 agp?? z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 6th February, 2006 05:40 PM
7800 Agp QSDT General Hardware Discussion 22 3rd February, 2006 03:21 PM
512 mb 7800 GTX madcatmk3 General Hardware Discussion 5 16th November, 2005 10:20 PM
Abit Fatal1ty AN8 SLI boards on UK shelves Monday danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 4th May, 2005 04:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0