AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 01:54 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Nvidia 7950 Gt and Libery 500w PSU

One or both are lying to me!

Brand PSU, a very good one by my experience.
Brand new 7950GT. Love it but I can barely Overclock it!
Today I "discovered" The "Debut Settings" in the Nvidia control panel. It tells me what I've long suspected, the card is slowing down under pressure!

But it gives a reason for it that dropped my jaw!
"Silent running: HW clock slowdown due to missing Auxiliary Power."

My card has it's very own very special RED plug in from the power supply, My card is plugged into that very special plug. My card only has one plug receptacle as far as I can tell.

Can any one tell me what I've missed or why Nvidia is shuting down my OC when set above much above Optimum frequencies?

Max OC is 611X 1.60

Would like to know whatever anyone can tell me about this! TIA
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 7th January, 2007 at 01:56 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 02:59 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Stupid question, but have you tried making sure that the plug is actually fully seated into the receptacle on the card?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2007, 04:37 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

That WAS a stupid question, glad I have you on my wave length! LOL

Yes. DDouble tttriple checked both ends at GPU and PSU. Thanks for asking...ya just never know! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 05:25 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Got a meter to check the 12v power with?

If not, try using a different 12v cable (old type), using an adaptor - see what difference it makes.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 07:08 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Maybe try the other red plug as well. There should be two red PCI-e modular plugs on the psu, which are for the gpu cords. the black ones are for drives and such on the "eternity" connectors(dam crap too-close-together @#%$!@%^!$#%!#!!!).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2007, 05:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

This isn't a constant thing! There are only 4 entries in the from 12/31/06 to 1/6/07, truth is I expected them to keep coming! But they haven't. I did try the other red and the black as well as continuing to us the first one I tried. I can't reproduce it and all seems fine....

Except this one little naggly thing...

Some where If flip a switch or checked a box and now every once in a while I get a "Video mode not supported message during boot, it hangs there a few seconds then continues a normal boot....I just can not remember what I changed!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up my PCI-E 7950 on my Asus P5W DH? Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 3rd January, 2007 09:16 PM
NVidia 7950! skool h8r Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 29 23rd June, 2006 01:00 PM
9NPA+Ultra with Antec 500w smartpower 2.01 JayT78 EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th October, 2005 02:50 PM
500W PSU for £15.00 ~* InSoM *~ Online Deals, and Steals 5 19th March, 2005 03:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0