AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 6

Unhappy Joystick problems - can anyone help please?

I have the following set up:
Epox 8KHA+, AMD 1700+, 512 Mb DDR RAM, GeForce2, SBLive5.1, IBM Deskstar 40Gb. Its running WinXP pro. FSB is set at 133, though I've tried it at 100 just in case.

Its not clocked or anything and runs fine, except - I have a Saitek X36 flight stick with USB connection, but when I plug in the joystick, it does not show up in the list of USB devices or game controllers. The computer makes the 'bing' sound for a device being plugged in, but thats it.

What's worse is it used to work - Originally I installed XP, and there it was, working fine. Then I had to rebuild my PC, all the same hardware, software etc, and now it dont work. All subsequent installs of XP so far have been the same - no joystick.
(BTW - I installed Win98SE, and its fine under that, so the X36 is not faulty)

Its a minor thing, but I'm into me flight sims, and without the x36, those games are no fun. If anyone at all has any suggestions, please please post 'em.

Yours gratefully (and hopefully)
Ham
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 02:54 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Welcome to the forums, Ham_Tyler. There's a wealth of information and learning here. We hope you enjoy your stay.

Look in your control panel, under "Game Controlers" or some such. See if it's listed there. You might also wanna run through the "Add New Hardware" wizard, also in your control panel. Did the joystick come with an install CD? You might want to run through the install again, just to be sure. Also visit www.saitek.com and make sure you have the latest driver for it, for your OS.
__________________

Last edited by Wa11y; 22nd March, 2002 at 02:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 6

a little more info....

Well the drivers supplied on the saitek CD are for anything that isnt Win2K or XP. They have a beta driver for XP that I have installed, to no avail.

It was working before under the standard XP drivers - I plugged it in, and it showed the X36 under game controllers in Control Panel and everything worked, so I used it.

Now it does not show up under game controllers in Control Panel. I run the add new hardware wizard and that does not find it either. I try to add a 6 button joystick under game controllers, but that doesnt work either. <whimper> I'm so disheartened - everything else works a treat, my PC screams along at high speed, but I cant use my £100 flightsick, and it pees me right off.

Just to add some confusion, I also have an AsusKT7 RAID, with a 1Gig Duron in. That used to be fine with me X36, until I reinstalled XP, and then I lost it on that system too. If I put Win98 back on, it finds it fine.......<sigh>

But it *used* to work under XP...waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 04:00 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Nuke it! Have you tried a format? If you're just toploading XP and 98, there might be some stuck drivers or some such. You may also boot into safe mode (XP does have a safe mode, doesn't it?) and check your device manager for any "ghost drivers." That was a problem under 98 I've run into a few times. Drivers that were supposed to be removed, but didn't quite. They didn't show up in regular mode, but did show up under Safe mode.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 6

Ta, I'll give that a go and see what shows up.

I've picked the brains of our resident Windows expert (he's been at the sharp end since before windows), and he's adamant that installing 98 and then upgrading to XP will work, as it will retain the drivers from Win98 that are not part of the WDM in XP (or something like that - he had a similar problem with a NIC that worked under 98 but disappeared under XP, so I'm gonna try that too..)

Thank y'all for your help so far, if anyone else has any suggestions, post away

Ta,
Ham
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 06:43 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

I think when you do an upgade it doesn't keep anything. When I upgraded from 98 to XP, I still had to reinstall all my drivers and programs so they had the proper registry entries. So I don't think the drivers are carried over. But you can give that a try anyway.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 06:53 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Saitek has a great bunch of controllers.. .BUT they have been unforgivably SLOOOOOW in coming up with 2000 Pro drivers, they also orphaned a lot of their stuff rather than create drives for them.

I had to wait 6 months for 2000 Pro drivers they repeatedly promised me by E-mail that they were developing, only to have to by a USB stick and run BETA drivers for it. If I werent left handed Ive dumped them long ago.... sigh
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2002, 10:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Ouch. I'd never use an upgrade option. Fresh installations only for me...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 11:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 6

I've tried the upgrade from Win98SE to XP - without success on either machine I own.

Pinky - you are right - no drivers are carried over, but hey - we're in the land of last resort here and I had to try, just to assure myself that I *had* tried it. sigh

I've deleted the partition, reformatted with NTFS or FAT32 (whatever it wasn't already, if you see what I mean), and done a fresh install. Still no good.

Sod it. I'm back to theory again. Feeling like a very poor computer engineer here. I know all my hardware is good - its definitely an XP problem, but one I didnt have the first time I installed XP. I know the device is drawing 26mA of current, and the PC knows this, but XP remains ignorant of the devices thats drawing the current. I think Im gonna reluctantly give up and install 98SE for know - at least that works with everything.

Thanks for your help again - if anyone has any other suggestions, I'm all ears...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2002, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 6

Talking HA HA!!!!

If you are having trouble with your Saitek X36 or X45 under XP, go here:

http://saitekhelp.simhq.com/Dhauz_Start.htm

A lovely bloke called Dhauzimmer has writeen his own drivers, which work a treat. I thought the saitekhelp site had shut down, but evidently its back up.

Thanks again for all your help - I'm going to lock myself away and play all my flight sims for hours

cheers,

Ham
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2002, 08:02 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

SWEET!! I have been seeing more and more people writing XP drivers for orphaned hardware, now if some o0ne would just write some for my pinnacle DC-10 vid cap card, I coulsd run 2k too
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick recomendations? Sideburns General Hardware Discussion 7 16th November, 2003 03:20 PM
Wheel Or Joystick? Microgers87 General Hardware Discussion 1 8th August, 2003 07:42 AM
8rda+ and joystick waylman EPoX MotherBoards 2 25th June, 2003 03:13 AM
Joystick doesnt work CRO EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th March, 2003 05:31 AM
Good joystick for around $100? Apom Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 31st December, 2002 02:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0