AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2007, 02:08 PM
nerius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Lund, sweden
Posts: 117

Sas

Anyone use SAS Serial Attached SCSI ? Is it worth it as a upgrade from Ultra 320 SCSI?
__________________
Black Chieftec Bigtower, 9NPA+Ultra 1.1, AMD64 X2 4400+, 2 GB Corsair XMS 3400LLPRO,
Gainward 7800GTX, Adaptec U320 SCSI, 4x Seagate 15000rpm, Creative X-Fi, 4 Plextors.

_______________
De Oppresso Liber
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2007, 03:34 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Given the cost associated with SAS, unless you are running heavy-duty server loads, I'd have to argue that it isn't.

In fact, for my next build, I expect I will probably shell out for a dedicated SATA 2 RAID controller, and go with SATA for my storage. I need something with better performance than your typical desktop, but it's mighty hard for me to justify the cost of U320 SCSI or SAS when I can get equivalent performance for my needs at half the cost of U320.

The purists would argue that I'm NOT getting equivalent performance, and strictly speaking they would be correct. However, if I've got performance capabilities that I'm not taking advantage of, do I REALLY have superior performance, or have I just foolishly spent money?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2007, 04:01 PM
nerius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Lund, sweden
Posts: 117

Yes, it cost alot, but the SAS discs are cheaper then U320 discs..here in sweden anyway. thats a bit odd.

Well i guess the money have to judge later if its worth it.

thanks.
__________________
Black Chieftec Bigtower, 9NPA+Ultra 1.1, AMD64 X2 4400+, 2 GB Corsair XMS 3400LLPRO,
Gainward 7800GTX, Adaptec U320 SCSI, 4x Seagate 15000rpm, Creative X-Fi, 4 Plextors.

_______________
De Oppresso Liber
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0