AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2007, 02:49 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exclamation 8800 and 8800 SLI AOA CLUB

Hello dear reader. We want to share the info and help each other the best way we can. If you are reading this and you own another card feel free to create another thread and get togheter with other AOA members which are using the same card. If you own one or two 8800 babies pls tell us how you configured the card, how much you OC and let's see how can we improve our results !

Thanks,

Chris
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 01:50 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Hey Chris

I happen to have one of those 8800 series cards!!

Right now I am running with the 158.27-32bit-XP-WHQL-Drivers.
I think the 158.19's were maybe just a fraction faster on the benches.
Maybe I haven't really broke them down yet. Both drivers are Xtremely
fast and smooth.

Now I use rivatuner and ATItool both!!
I only use rivatuner to set my fan to run at 100% at startup.
I run the fan n my 8800GTS 320 full speed all the time!! Hey it is a big lumbering quiet fan. It does not whine!!!

I use ATItoll for setting my clocks. I also like the fact when you minimize ATItool it displays your temperature on the task bar. Don't waste your time allowing ATItoll to find your max clocks. It takes forever and it won't find them!! Here is a shot of rivatuner and ATItool together
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...Zilla/riva.jpg
with rivatuner just hit the customize arrow. the tic the "fixed" then slide to the % you want and hit apply. then put a check into the box to apply the setting at windows start up!!

Now if you are running an older system you are going to be severely CPU limited but, this will still be your fastest smoothest card to date.
By a Mile or for some of you by 1.6 kilometers
Well anyway it is a fast card!!

Now for those of you with a Conroe or quad core.
To get real power from this card you really need only OC your processor to begin to really push this card!!

Running my 6600 conroe on my P5NE-sli clipping along at 400fsb for a speed of 3600mhz my card at stock scores 33,000 on 3D03 and 182,000
on Aquamark at stock speeds on the card!!!

One thing to remember with ATItoll it shows the cpu speed right exactly where it is but, on the memory when you run the slider to 500 that is really a mem speed of 1000and a DDR speed of 2000!!
I bench at 660/504 which is 660/1008 which is 660/2016DDR and that is hauling ass!!! you may need a pencil mod to achieve that mem speed. Remember though with a pencil mod whether you need the extra voltage or not it is always there!!! I game great at Stock!! but 600/450 for 1800 on the mem will do magic when you turn up the eye candy!!!

OK that's a start chris I'll add more later!!!

WZ aka. Tom
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 12:01 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thanks for the info Tom! Great things you're doing with your hardware man. I'll try this evening and see how high I can go with what I have now. I am thinking of getting AC Freezer 7 PRO because the box cooler is ****. What is the safe temp for E4300? Speed fan is giving me 44-50 C readings and TAT 65-74 C when stressing with TAT. I don't want to render my CPU unusable ! I increased the vcore with 0,05. Idle TAT reports a 56 C temp. Yesterday it was late when I finished reinstalling windows and I only benched in 06 with CPU@ 2,7 Ghz and 575 Mhz GPU. core. Tonight I will go at 3 Ghz and maybe 600 GPU. I saw your GPU at 513 and thats a Leadtek thing as far as I know, so.. do you have a Leadtek card Tom? If thats the case you reached 2 Ghz with your memory right?

Thanks, Chris
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 5th June, 2007 at 12:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 03:18 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs up Alan Wake

Well it seems that Crysis is not the only game I look forward to play! Remedy and Microsoft are working together...

"Set in the deceptively idyllic town of Bright Falls, Washington, "Alan Wake" places gamers in the role of the best-selling suspense author, Alan Wake. He escapes to this small town to recover from the mysterious disappearance of his fiancée. In Bright Falls Wake comes face to face with his darkest nightmares.

"Alan Wake" immerses players in an intense and expansive cinematic world that enables players to roam freely in hyper-realistic, dynamic and interactive environments. "Alan Wake" is mission-based with a deeply engaging and suspenseful storyline unveiling new twists and profound character revelations at every turn. Players will unravel the riveting plot through character interactions, unique problem-solving and intense combat against terrifying enemies. In this nightmarish world, Alan Wake must use a variety of weapons to survive, including his most powerful ally against the creatures of darkness -- light itself."

Upsss, did I mention is Xbox - DX10 exclusive?
Attached Thumbnails
8800 and 8800 SLI AOA CLUB-alan_wake_2006_002.jpg   8800 and 8800 SLI AOA CLUB-alan_wake_2006_003.jpg  
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 04:43 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Is this another game that's designed for the 1.5% of users who have Vista and a DX10 capable system?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 04:50 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Hmmm, Bill said Microsoft must make one hell of a game that will not run on DX9! I will not argue this time
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 05:03 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I have to say that looks good, but if you look at the tips of the trees they all seem to have the same shape?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 10:49 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Those graphics are just amazing.

Makes me want to buy an 8800 RIGHT NOW! =(
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2007, 11:20 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The clouds in the second image, blue skies, look pants. In a static screenshot at least.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2007, 01:01 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Temps

Hey chris how is your case set up in the air flow-department? I was running the high 50's to lower mid 60's with my P5N-E SLI and my Allenale. then I said to he*l with the looks I want cooling So I put in my side fans. Now I have 3 fans in the side window 1 x 120 and 2x90 My temps fell like a rock!! My idle temps fell from the high 40's to the mid 30's that is at a daily clock of 425fsb X 8 multi for 3400mhz. My cooler is just a little Thermalright Ultra 90 which works fine with enough air!!!!
Here is a shot of the extra air I pump into the case. The 120 fan had to be mounted outside the case cuz with the Thermalright it just won't go inside. I have a 120 blue lighted one coming. So it won't look as ghetto.
So give consideration to how much air you are giving your "Much better cooler than mine" to work with! Nice shots Chris things are just going to keep getting better in the gaming dept.

WZ
Attached Thumbnails
8800 and 8800 SLI AOA CLUB-img_3440.jpg  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2007, 04:16 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Two words.....water cooling
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2007, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
Upsss, did I mention is Xbox - DX10 exclusive?
Alan Wake PS3
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2007, 10:23 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Ups no PS3! Anyway, did anyone managed to run Lost Planet in DX10? You can dld( ~300MB) from steam 4 free. Come on guys I know there are more members/staff having one of these babies, post your results pls ! http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/imag...lies/nana2.gif

PS Under Vista of course
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 8th June, 2007 at 09:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2007, 10:06 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Misprint. It's Microsoft made, Vista and 360 only.

http://www.alanwake.com/
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2007, 08:04 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Well those of you that have a PS4 capable card and Vista installed you can see the amazing difference between world of gaming in DX9 vs DX10. I downloaded this evening "Call of Juarez DX10 Benchmark" and droll allover my keyboard until it was finished. Even then I could not believe my own eyes. I would post pics or even a movie but Chrome Engine is not working with FRAPS. Now I know how Crysis will look on DX10 and I can tell you that if it'll look like COJ I will be thrilled. I have played COJ in DX9 and I tell you guys this is unbelievable. It's like an entirely different game !
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 11th June, 2007 at 08:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2007, 03:23 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Yummy

I am lloking forward to just around the corner. It is going to be great!!!

Hey Sam with the latest strategy I am trying, my Air cooler is keeping my 6400 at 47C at 3400mhz while folding!! thats both cores bouncing around from 45 to 49C spending most of the time at 47. I must tell you that I am quite impressed with me on this one!!
My idle temps are 34C again at 3400mhz. Not bad for a 1230mhz OC.
Even at 3800mhz on my little 6400 I was idling at 39C.
As you well know my main system is LC'd but it is fun to play with air-cooling as most still use it. Just to see how cool I can make it go! I still plan an AC unit this summer. the only thing I want hot in my room is new DX10 Games!!

Tom
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2007, 09:49 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Can a DirectX 10 card run on 2000 pro? Will it run DX10 in a DX 10 Game?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2007, 10:01 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

DirectX 10 is Windows Vista only I do believe.

Leaving us 2k and XP heathens out in the cold of dX9
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2007, 10:34 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Yeah Daniel I think you should not buy a new graphic card unless you're ready to have Vista installed. Otherwise there is no DX10 and no DX10 game on your computer. This is the cruel reality !

PS Few of the games that will appear this year will still support DX9 along with DX10 and they will run on 2000,XP+DX9. For these games running on DX9 your card is OK.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 12th June, 2007 at 10:38 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2007, 11:18 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by weldzilla
I am lloking forward to just around the corner. It is going to be great!!!

Hey Sam with the latest strategy I am trying, my Air cooler is keeping my 6400 at 47C at 3400mhz while folding!! thats both cores bouncing around from 45 to 49C spending most of the time at 47. I must tell you that I am quite impressed with me on this one!!
My idle temps are 34C again at 3400mhz. Not bad for a 1230mhz OC.
Even at 3800mhz on my little 6400 I was idling at 39C.
As you well know my main system is LC'd but it is fun to play with air-cooling as most still use it. Just to see how cool I can make it go! I still plan an AC unit this summer. the only thing I want hot in my room is new DX10 Games!!

Tom
Good stuff there WZ.
Just to pick at you a little. My load temps running FAH are lower than your idle temps. Again I am on water. Actually my card load temps are lower that you CPU load temps also...[/brag]
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 8800 cooler Samuknow Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 7th June, 2007 07:06 PM
8800 gtx + vista rhath127 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 5th May, 2007 03:37 AM
Sub $300 8800 GTS 320MB on its way danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 18th January, 2007 02:41 PM
Xfx 8800 Gts Xander_Hal Online Deals, and Steals 3 30th November, 2006 10:41 PM
8800 blueprints bonesaw Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 26th October, 2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0