AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2007, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

Help!

It started off when i put in a sound card. On start up i got this error(i would show you the link but apparently i cant), every single option i selected, my computer would just shutdown. So i took out the sound card and i got the same error but this time i selected "last known good configuration" and it worked. Then i tried to play cs:s and got a window saying my drivers are out of date. So i go to the ATI site and download the new drivers and restart my computer and i got the same stupid error on start up. I ask around on how to fix that error and people said to just reformat. I reformat and install all the new drivers. I start up CS:S and i got the same window saying that my drivers are out of date. I ignore the message and join a server, but its unplayable. I had 1-20fps on high and low settings. I tried a different game (BF2) and i got the same results as CS:S.

Does any know whats wrong? Ive install different drivers like warcat 7.4, it did add a little fps but still didnt work.

SystemSpecs-
Windows Vista Ultimate
Intel Pentium D CPU 2.80GHz, 2792Mhz, 2 Cores, 2 logical Processors
2GB DDR2 of RAM
ATI x1950Pro 256mb DDR3
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2007, 11:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

i just found out that the "drivers out of date thing" that steam has, is just an error. But that still doesnt explain that im getting low fps. Ive tried my 6200TC and i got the same problem.
__________________

Last edited by SeanDJ; 8th July, 2007 at 11:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 04:54 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Blame MS :P


J/P thats weird never had that happen again try reinstalling steam etc?
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 04:56 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Also try updating DirectX :P
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 04:56 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Also try uninstalling the drivers for the sound card you put in
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

i dont have the sound card installed any more. ive reformated vista again and i still get bad fps. i have a feeling now that its my motherboard that is causing the problem. But im not sure how to fix it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 12:12 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Have you tried the drivers that you were using before you started having this issue?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Have you tried the drivers that you were using before you started having this issue?
no.Im not sure where to find the older version.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 09:33 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

we should have them here in our files section.

If not we will ban dsio....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2007, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

well i downloaded the older version and it didnt seem to work.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 12:37 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Have you tried other versions of windows?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 03:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu
Have you tried other versions of windows?
Nope. I dont know how to downgrade from vista.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 03:26 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Did you get the new driver completely uninstalled?

Use driver cleaner.

Make sure I understand. This happened when you installed the sound card or the new driver?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Did you get the new driver completely uninstalled?

Use driver cleaner.

Make sure I understand. This happened when you installed the sound card or the new driver?
Yeah i used driver cleaner pro. This happend when i installed the sound card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

This is the error i DID get when i installed the sound card. I dont get it now.
Attached Thumbnails
Help!-img_0018.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 12:30 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That is normal when windows does not start all the way.

Did you ever have a problem playing CSS before the sound card install?

Sorry for all the questions. I am just trying to gather some history.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
That is normal when windows does not start all the way.

Did you ever have a problem playing CSS before the sound card install?

Sorry for all the questions. I am just trying to gather some history.
every thing happend after i installed the sound card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 08:16 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Now you have everything back to the way it was?

All updates and such.

You never got the drivers out of date before installing the sound card?

Are you using onboard sound now?

Are you using the same sound drivers you were before installing the add on sound card?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 12

yes i have everything back to normal. i reformated two times. Yes im using onboard sound like i was before same drivers same everything.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2007, 10:44 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Last question. Maybe

DOes any other game do this?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0