AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2007, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 11

I have used and am still using driver cleaner each time I try a new Driver. The RAM is a strange config. It is 1gig and 3x 256. This was done when I updated to Vista which I have now gone back to XP. Yes I am using the standard HP config in the bios. Everything seems to run fine except for the stutters. I can't tell you which game at the present as it has not been released yet
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2007, 04:11 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

What power supply are you using?

Is it the PSU that the HP computer came with?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2007, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 11

YEs sir
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2007, 05:15 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Well there's your problem.

Nvidia GPUs will throttle back, and in some cases jitter and/or stall when they have an insufficient power supply.

I will tell you that the OEM standard PSU will never be able to handle that high end GPU. You need a new PSU.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2007, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2007
Posts: 11

hmm I posted yesterday but it didn't take I guess......Yes I am running the stock power supply. So what do you suggest. My first thought was to buuy a whole new comp and let my daughter have this one. However if the issue can be solved cheaper I might go that way. I hate to keep throwing money at this comp though when I can get something that will realy smoke for about 2k. I have already put about $750 in this comp over the last year with the gpu, ram, upgrade and down grade in OS.
__________________

Last edited by dukepga; 16th August, 2007 at 03:40 PM. Reason: spelling
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2007, 04:25 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

HP tend to use power supplies that are weak as piss. So you need a new PSU. Now, downside here, is that you can't just swap out the PSU (its possible, but in most cases it cant be done) because in many HP computers, they use odd pin configurations on the motherboards, which are not compatible with other PSUs.

Here is what I would suggest.

1: New power supply (and case I would recommend, as the HP ones are rubbish)
2: New motherboard (as the HP one probably won't be reusable, and even if it is, its probably naff, and won't OC.)

BUT, before doing this, I would make sure you get that card tested in another computer, with a decent PSU, just to see that its working correctly.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2007, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2007
Location: Bangalore,India
Posts: 1

Downloaded Xtreme for the first time and installed it after using DCPro
I have a 6200 AGP and only the 84ver Forceware allowed me to play video files[xcept wmv]
Dropped from 473 marks to 303 after the install in 3dMarkPro,with just SM2 and cpu test
I downloaded this just for running Oblivion at playable fps and this definitely worked!
20fps in v.low quality to 35 fps!!WOOOT!
All other games run fine except Half life 2,i get this error[attched pic]
Video playback fine,WMV playback still freezes system,can this be fixed??
Attached Thumbnails
162.18 TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified drivers for WinXP/32bit-hl2-error.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
xtreme-g



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xtreme-G 158.45 modified NVIDIA drivers for Vista danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 11th June, 2007 05:54 PM
TweaksRus 97.92 Xtreme-G modified Nvidia drivers danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 15 7th February, 2007 05:48 PM
TweaksRus Xtreme-G WarCat 7.1 x64 modified drivers danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 25th January, 2007 07:55 PM
XG 80.40 TweaksRUs Drivers dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 90 5th October, 2005 08:58 PM
XG 77.13 Modified Drivers Out Now! dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 12th June, 2005 04:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0