AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 6th January, 2008, 02:16 AM
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion

7900 GT card dying?

Hey, good to be back. Just been really, really busy. Still on the national rocketry team and en route to the international championships in Spain next year. I'm also in another national rocketry competition. Since the last time I posted I've soloed in a sailplane. Now I'm a licensed student pilot.

Anyway, back to the thing at hand. I'm almost positive my video card is dying, it's still under warranty, so it shouldn't be a big deal to replace it if necessary. I just want to hear your opinions.

The symptoms:

In all games that stress my card I get funny textures, artifacts, and infinite polygons. Also there's this thing that happens that makes it look like I'm in hyperspace, with all objects sending out polygons towards the screen. Sometimes when the polygons or textures get really bad, it hangs and requires a hard reset.

The things I've tried:

The card is not overheating, overclocked, or anything. I have fully removed the drivers using drivercleaner, and reinstalled the most recent drivers. I have run Memtest without issue. I've run processor stress tests without issue. I have reinstalled DX9. I don't know if it occurs in DX8 games as I don't currently have any installed. I have not reformatted, so, in theory it could still be software. I don't have any other PCIe cards so I can't try another card, unfortunately. And I don't have any DX9 compatible PCI cards.

All of my experience points to a bad video card, but I want to hear some opinions before I send it back.