AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2008, 07:03 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

PS3 BlueRay sound playback question, problem...

Greetings one and all!

When I play any of my games or even game demos, my sound receiver lites up like a Christmas tree, channel indicator lights proclaiming all 6.1 channels are active.

When I play music, two channels light as one would expect from a Stereo source.

Just before Christmas I rent Spider man 3 to test the new system. No, not one indicator light! But as on puts one ear to each speaker, one DID her the proper sound. As I had this trouble with Direct TV, no indicator lights, I assumed it was to do with how the signal was being sent or some such...

Last night I rent the 300 in Blue Ray. Front and front side speakers ONLY, no indicter lights and no sound to side or back speakers. Same with another disk I rented!

I know all connections to be good by way of games played through the same Blue ray slot and over exactly the same connections. Game disks play 5.1!

Blue Ray Movies don't! Doesn't it HAVE to be the Disks in this situation?

As always, any help will be appreciated. Has anyone else had or heard of this problem?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2008, 07:53 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Not sure, but it sounds like a firmware/decoding issue. If you are running digital coax, optical, or HDMI into that receiver, it's very possible that the receiver is set to only run Dolby (or only DTS, or only PCM). If the games are running OK, then that must be the format that works. Look in the manual about digital input settings, and see if you can get it to auto-detect, or manually switch decoders.

This happened on my system, when I was using DirecTV and an Upconverting DVD player. On some movies that only had DTS sound it wouldn't work.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2008, 09:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Hold on! it sounds like your my man! But I think I need you to stretch it out a bit for me.
I'm using HDMI for video and optical for sound (Receiver has no HDMI inputs).

Found it! The input select must have got bumped. Sounds good again, but still won't light up the lights. although the sound is quite good in all speakers. Thanks Redroar, your post led me to it.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2008, 12:26 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

No problem.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 05:49 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Watched Casino Royale again this time with my better speaker setup on Blu-Ray. With a HD TV, damn its good.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 08:03 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You haven't learned from M$, when you have problems.... REBOOT!!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 09:30 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Dude, that doesn't even work with MS! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD drive playback problem walrus67 CRASHED! 5 21st July, 2005 04:13 PM
CD ROM SOUND DHU???!!! Question patrizio EPoX MotherBoards 7 27th July, 2003 09:47 PM
Quick Sound Question (8rda+) pre1twa EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th January, 2003 06:32 AM
Problem with latest sound driver on 8KHA+. Possibly on all VIA's onboard sound. edmoncu EPoX MotherBoards 8 14th October, 2002 02:53 PM
quadro and dvd playback? fireball_87 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 9th July, 2002 11:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0