AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2008, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Coolermaster 600W psu

hey guys.

Can a stressed PSU cause bad overclocking and bsod`s?
My Coolermaster 600Watt Igreen psu seems to be undervolting,but its only about 5-6 months old.
The 12v rail is always at 11.89 v at idle and drops to 11.84 under load.
The 5v is also at 4.89 and under load down to 4.82,and the 5v+ the same.
Is this cause for concern.
My overclock that was rock solid a few months ago has suddenly become increasing unstable.
I have even tried manually setting the voltages in bios,but no joy.
I had my cpu at 3.2 gigs before with a 355FSB,now I cant do much more than 300FSB.
Is something else failing perhaps that Im not aware of.
Specs as follows:
Asus P5N32E-sli
C2D E6600 at 3gigs
2x Kingston ddr800 Hyper X(2gigs)
Asus GTS 8800 320M
2x Seagate 250gigs Sata2
Zalman 9700led cpu cooler
2x120mm Zalman System fans
1x240mm Sidefan
Creative Audigy 4 s/card
Logitech Momo wheel
MS kb and mouse
Logitech Z5300 speakers
Liteon sata dvd writer


Im using Everest 4.20 to test the loads on psu rails.
Any suggestions welcome.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2008, 02:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That is a big 10-4...

Voltage droop will kill an OC pretty quick.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2008, 02:26 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Can an overstressed PSU cause problems? ABSOLUTELY!

Is that YOUR problem? Dunno.

Never Ever EVER take the measurments from the on board sensors as gospel; they are OK for day-to-day comparisons (It's dropped 2% over the last 3 days, when running under these conditions), but are absolutely USELESS for anything else. Even the difference between load and idle could be a lie.

If you are concerned about the actual voltage you are running, there is no substitute for a decent volt-meter and you can get them for $30 or so. It very well may be that your PSU is actually running well within specs, but you can't say that with any reasonable degree of certainty until you actually measure the voltages with a meter.

Components age, and go through a 'break in' period. It's not uncommon for parts to lose some capability within the first few months of operation before settling down to a stable point where they quite happily operate for years. It may be that your overclock was pushing things hard enough that the 'break in' period has caused you to lose some performance.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2008, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Thanks guys.

What is Voltage droop Samuknow?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2008, 11:05 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I am probably using the term incorrectly but, when the voltages are dropping below what they are set to or "supposed" to be. Most of the time the term is used in ref to a mobo's ability to maintain the set voltage in the bios. Simple version.

In your case, the PSU is being asked to handle more than it really can. The voltages can not be maintained. Using a volt meter will tell you this for sure. If at no load your 12V rail is say 12.4 volts, but once you load it with all your components and your OC then the 12v rail only reads 11.8v, there is a problem. +/- 5% is what is required by standard, that does not mean that your components will like even a 3% drop.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2008, 02:02 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Voltage droop isn't good either.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

Thanks guys.

No use anyways,the mb died on Friday,that must be why it was getting all these irregular voltages.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2008, 10:50 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I would guess so. I assume it is still under warranty.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2008, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 159

yeah,luckily Asus provides a 3 year warranty now.
Thanks guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master iGreen 600W Gman15 General Hardware Discussion 3 19th September, 2007 12:08 AM
SeaSonic S12-600 600W PSU for $124.99 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 28th June, 2007 07:50 PM
Zalman 600W Heatpipe Power Supply Samuknow General Hardware Discussion 0 26th June, 2007 11:14 PM
Need suggestions on a GOOD affordable ~600W supply! TrevorS General Hardware Discussion 9 2nd December, 2006 12:30 AM
Coolermaster XDream III or Coolermaster Aeroflow 7 lite Scuzzy Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 29th December, 2004 03:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0