AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2008, 05:03 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Help OC Vid card problem

I'm OC'ing the 9600GT and things aren't going as planed. I need some help.
177.89 drivers 3DMark06 10,518

Stock numbers: GPU Clk@675 shader clk@1625 mem clk@1000.
I have not changed the mem clk.

1st OC: GPU@685 Shader@1680 3DMark06 10,684 Temp 49c

2nd OC: GPU@695 Shader@1710 3DMark06 10,610 Temp 44c

I'm going backwards! Something tells me what I've read about OC'ing Nvidia cards isn't quite right or I'm doing it wrong. Need someone to give me a run through.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 01:03 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

If you're pushing one of the clocks to high or to a speed it doesn't like it will hurt the score rather than improve upon it.

The first thing you need to do is find the Max clock speed for each clock domain one at a time.

First is GPU, then Memory, then Shader.
If you leave the GPU/Shader linked then it won't matter.

First do the GPU linked.
Every card will be slightly different on what they can do so don't expect to get the same results as "Joe Public" did on a forum.

But for reference, check out what others have been able to clock this card to & their results at these speeds to give you an idea...
Always increase the fan's speed when using higher clocks to keep the GPU & memory cooler. Just like you would your CPU.

I've been doing this for years so it's just kinda second nature for me to "just do it" when setting it up.
I'll go more into detail on the steps but I really want to play some Crysis as I've spent the last 2 hrs doing computer maint & catching up on my emails...
The very basics are this: You know when the clock is to high if it...
Freezes, shows artifacts on the screen (line, squares, triangles, dots, etc) or the graphics card crashes.

I'll be back.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 7th September, 2008 at 01:03 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 01:13 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I had done that but the difficulty was there were two different scools in how to OC the card. One said to leave the mem alone and bump CPU x 10
and Shaders by 30 untill problems started. The other did not mention shaders at all, just the increase in GPU & Mem. I decided to go to the Pros from Dover before I did any thing else.

Edit;
Enjoy yourself. It's getting time for me to wind it down. We can tackle this mañana. I'm using OC utility that came with the card. Would it be easier for you if I installed RivaTuner instead?
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 7th September, 2008 at 01:56 AM. Reason: Game plan
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 08:47 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
I had done that but the difficulty was there were two different scools in how to OC the card. One said to leave the mem alone and bump GPU x 10
and Shaders by 30 untill problems started. The other did not mention shaders at all, just the increase in GPU & Mem. I decided to go to the Pros from Dover before I did any thing else.

Edit;
Enjoy yourself. It's getting time for me to wind it down. We can tackle this mañana. I'm using OC utility that came with the card. Would it be easier for you if I installed RivaTuner instead?
No, I don't use RivaTuner.
I used to before EVGA came out with Precision, now that's all I use.
(Stock-Left / OC Max Stable-Right)
And Yes, I do use all 8 of those OC profiles for different games.

I've always OCed cards the same way regardless of the make, model or whether it's ATi or Nvidia.

When you OC your card start with ALL the clocks at stock speeds.

1. OC GPU to Max, then downclock by -10MHz

2. Set ALL clocks back to default.

3. OC Memory to Max then downclock by -10MHz

4. Raise both GPU & Memory to Max minus 10MHz each & test.

If you have stability problems down clock them by another -5MHz, test again & so on & so forth.

You'll also find that some games don't like certain clock speeds while others it will work fine.
But you don't really play vid games so that shouldn't matter much.
Attached Thumbnails
Help OC Vid card problem-stock.jpg   Help OC Vid card problem-oc-max-stable.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 7th September, 2008 at 09:05 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 02:12 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I've been doing a little playing this morning. I found a guede directed specificly for the 9600GT at Toms Hardware. I think I've got it about as far as it's going to
go. At 695 1710 1000 my 3dmark06 drops. Right now
you can see that I'm at 690 1720 1120
Temps are good 54c load ---10,799 3Dmark. No fractures or anything I saw except my curser has started to flicker. I'll back off a little, starting with shaders.
Samuknow was right, my E4300 is a bottleneck.
Attached Thumbnails
Help OC Vid card problem-vid_oc.bmp  
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 04:45 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

You have to decide of you are going to overclock the card for gaming or folding. Or make 2 profiles.

Folding will almost certainly push the card harder than any game. It its a substantially tougher stress test than Prime95 and most others, as well. (I have seen computers that passed P95 for 24 hours crash immediately and in most spectacular fashion when the SMP client was run.) That means that if you set it up for your favorite game and then you fold with the same settings it will most likely EUE and/or have a heat problem.

What I said before still stands: shaders will have the greatest effect on folding speed, and GPU clock will have a somewhat more subtle effect. Raising the GPU clock created more heat than I liked on my rig with Maximus Extreme-Q6600-PX9600GT. It was even more pronounced when I added the 2nd 9600. For this reason I only raised the GPU 10% but the shaders nearly 25%. The shader clock did not raise the temps much.

The memory clock immediately crashed the box when starting the folding client; but I can raise it 20% easily if I am gaming. Keeping the box stable for folding is my first priority, so I left it at stock. For my benchmark score in 3DMark I raised all three...to somewhat dangerous levels. But it's a benchmark, so it's only temporary to see how far it'll go. It's certainly not for everyday useage at those speeds.

I then created profiles in Rivatuner for gaming. This I am still ironing out but it will get better as I play with it.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 7th September, 2008 at 04:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 05:17 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

This is the reason I have so many different OC profiles.
I only clock the 8800GTS as high as the game requires to make it play nice and smooth at higher graphics settings with good framerates.
Crysis of course it the hardest on it & also likes to crash when the memory is set to high!
But I get away with these high clock settings though on Crysis.

GPU: 648
Shader: 1512
Memory: 1008


Also, the higher your CPU is clocked the higher you can clock your graphics card & it stay stable.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 7th September, 2008 at 05:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 05:21 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I don't have to set up two profiles, I don't game. This is strictly for folding.
My temps have started to rise but still comfortable at 55c. I haven't pushed to hard. I know I could squeese a little more but I don't think a lot would be gaind by that.
If you dissagree, sound off and I'll work at it some more.
I didn't get to much but this card was OC'd out of the factory, so maybe that is about all I'm going to get.
2% On the GPU clock is pitiful and 6% [I just raised it to 1745 I'll test in a min] and 10% on mem. doesn't sound like much.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 05:33 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

FWIW, my settings for folding; unloaded in lieu of other settings for gaming:

GPU: 714
Shaders: 1970
Memory: 900

For my benchmark score I was at:

GPU: 741
Shaders: 2034
Memory: 995

See here: http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/attac...ion-3d06_3.jpg
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 7th September, 2008 at 05:42 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2008, 05:43 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
FWIW, my settings for folding; unloaded in lieu of other settings for gaming:

GPU: 714
Shaders: 1970
Memory: 900
Ok, Then I think I'm done.

GPU:690
Shaders:1745
Mem:1120

3DMark06: 10,909
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with VGA card ducdevil1210 EPoX MotherBoards 19 10th May, 2006 01:55 PM
Graphics card problem Daston General Hardware Discussion 4 27th April, 2006 09:53 PM
new graphics card problem Daston Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 22nd May, 2005 03:47 AM
8rda+ NO NETWORK CARD problem - HELP! wrx1 EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th April, 2003 07:27 AM
8RDA+ problem can't use PCI card... HELP Rudzer EPoX MotherBoards 5 13th January, 2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0