AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2009, 12:26 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Audio Skipping/Stuttering

Hey all,
I've currently got a rather strange issue regarding Audio Stuttering. Basically, my setup is as follows;
C2D E8400 at 3.6Ghz
2x2GB OCZ Gold Edition DDR2 at 1066Mhz
Gainward GTX260 Factory-overclocked
Asus P5K-E WiFi/AP with latest BIOS

My drive setup is as follows;
2x 1TB Samsung HD1 7200RPM SATA-II drives in RAID0
1x 1TB Samsung HD1 7200RPM SATA-II drive NOT part of a RAID

On the RAID0, there's 2TB of total space, and it holds Windows (7 Ultimate x64) as well as the majority of my programs. On the non-RAID 1TB drive, well it's the drive i use to record fraps. The RAID main partition has a 256-512Mb pagefile. On the same physical RAID, there's a seperate partition of around 12GB, which is completely dedicated to a Pagefile (6GB - 12GB). There's also a 6-12GB pagefile on the single drive.

All drives in question are regularly cleaned up and defragged to the point i never see fragmentation above 10%, and never see extensive amounts of "unused" or temporary files. The registry is regularly cleaned and defragged.

The RAID drives are connected to the JMicron controller, with the single drive connected to the Intel controller (although i have changed which drive is on which controller in every possible combination).

The problem i have is that when i'm playing a game such as WoW or Modern Warfare 2 (or doing anything that uses the HDD to an extensive but non-constant amount), i get some really awful stuttering in audio, be it in Winamp, in-game sounds, or Ventrilo. Just earlier, i was mid game, and the stuttering was so bad, i was unable to hear what people were saying to me. The system didn't freeze up and the FPS was still constant, but the audio was almost non-existant.

Recently, i installed the audio drivers from Asus' site to no avail. I then went about uninstalling the JMicron Drivers from system and then downloaded the latest ones directly from the JMicron website. I've only just done this, so i can't confirm whether anything has changed or not just yet.

I'm just wondering if there's anything i might have missed. I've searched until my mind is numb and there doesn't seem to be any definate answer or solution, more anecdotes that don't really seem to work.

Could this be the Intel chipset drivers? The ones i installed were current at the time, but incidentally, it's only recently that this issue has really become noticable (i've always had the ocassional stutter when tabbing back into fullscreen games and such, but never to this point). The first thing i did when i noticed it was remove the Overclock, but this didn't change anything.

I was previously running W7 Ultimate on a non-raid setup with everything else the same, and had no issues, which leads me to believe it's actually an issue with RAID. The performance increase i get from using RAID (in gaming as well as video rendering) has been rather noticable and it's not something i'm prepared to drop. Indexing, themes and all other system-intensive services are disabled. Driver and core paging is set to "always stay in memory" and memory usage is set to prefer programs over system cache.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2009, 07:29 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I take it it's onboard audio.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2009, 04:44 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I take it it's onboard audio.
It is.
I had considered buying a seperate soundcard, but never had the time or money to get around to it and since people who bought soundcards because of this issue still experienced it, i'd rather stick with onboard for now. Speaking of which, i'm not even sure what's the decent ones these days (I'm prepared to try x-fi again though).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 24th December, 2009 at 04:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2009, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Some good info here. Seems to suggest jmicron as the offender, or how windows uses the jmicron

Asus P5K-E Wifi/App Edition OnBoard Audio Stuttering - Asus - Motherboards-Memory
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2010, 07:49 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Sorry it took me a while to get back to this, but this problem is still occuring. After further testing, it appears it only happens when World of Warcraft is running, and no other game or application.

I did read what ccperf721p, and it was something i'd read before it was posted here. I've gone around 51 pages into google looking for an anser, only to find nothing directly related to this issue.

However, this also only happens if WoW is on my RAID 0 drives, and not when it's on the single drive. As you can imagine, running it from the single drive increases load times for the game (rather significantly). However, even under very heavy load (Dalaran, a main city in WoW, and generally holds at least 150+ people in a small space throughout the day), it doesn't stutter when running from the single drive.

I've tried vice-versa; that is, running WoW from the RAID and Audio from the single drive, but that has the same issues.

Am i stuck with putting up with slower load times but good quality audio, or is there anyway of me to have both?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)

Last edited by skool h8r; 17th January, 2010 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2010, 08:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If you are getting stuttering when running off the RAID, I've got to suspect a problem with either the firmware or the drivers for the RAID controller. There's no reason, if things are functioning properly, that you should be seeing stuttering on the RAID when you aren't seeing stuttering on the single drive.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning to ride a bike (skipping steps 1 to 10) danrok Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 2nd July, 2008 06:47 PM
Cox to Introduce Anti Commercial-Skipping Technology Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 12 16th May, 2007 07:29 PM
Audio Streams and skipping danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 4 1st June, 2005 07:54 PM
Sound Skipping Probls. Also Dolby Digitial Problems Spode Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 22nd January, 2002 08:34 AM
Sound Card SKipping Spode Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 10th October, 2001 03:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0