AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2012, 11:11 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Broken Remote or Amplifier

Remember a few years back I won the Case Mod Contest with my beautiful Armor Case?
The prize was a very nice 5.1 powerstixx Ultra SL-8251 by f.a. porsche speaker system.
I still have it and besides the hissing sound when it gets warm, it has worked really well!
But (of course) I finally had a problem.
One day I go to turn it on with the remote and NOTHING!
I figure either its finally gave up the ghost or the remote needs new batteries.
So I go to the store and spend $10 stinking dollars to replace the batteries and it works one time! Only one time! The next time I try to turn it on NOTHING again!
They have been off for about a month and I'm missing the surround immersion in my games.
Did I buy dead or dying batteries?
Is the remote dead?
Did something internally finally die?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial

Last edited by booman; 21st August, 2012 at 11:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 02:37 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Are the connections to the battery a little corroded? (sp?) I'd check to be sure. Also maybe unplug it for a bit and try again.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 05:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Nope, no corrosion.
I may have mixed up the + & - when putting the new batteries in...
I contacted customer support at speedlink and here is their response:
Quote:
We very much regret to hear that the Powerstixx Ultra soundsystem is not working to your full satisfaction anymore. Naturally, quality and reliability are of the utmost priority to us, and we?re continually working on further optimising our products.
Unfortunately we have to tell you that the soundsystem can?t be powered without the remote control. According to your description, we unfortunately have to assume the result of wear and tear. Please note that the system isn?t produced since at least eight years.
If you should have any further questions, please contact us again.
I kinda figured that is what they would say...
Is there a way to test with another remote? I know infared is a specific frequency or something, but I would like to try with a generic/universal remote to make sure the remote isn't broken
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 06:06 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I'd at lest return the batteries and end that doubt.

Chech this I have a 60inch Dightal light 1080 P tv sitting against the wall unplugged in a back room...it needs a part. I can buy it...for $1500 dollars!!

What a compete waste!

The law says they have to stock parts for 5 years, so they do, then they price them so that no one will buy them!!

I sure hope your speakers are are more co-operative.

Is there a chance that a Univesal remote might have the number codes for your remote?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 22nd August, 2012 at 06:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 06:10 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'm sure I could buy a remote from ebay, but these speakers have been faulty from the beginning. They work, but after 2 hours there is a white-noise hissing sound coming from the speakers.
I've done research and its probably the bad capacitors. But I don't normally play for more than 2 hours anyways. So they have worked just fine for the last 4 years. I'm happy with them.
If I can't turn them on, what is the point? Maybe I'll have to trash the subwoofer and buy another one that has all the 1/8in outputs for my speakers.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 06:17 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

A few years ago I bought a Logitech 5.1 set of Computer speakers, they only ran me 100 bucks and have worked great from day one.... something else you might look into on ebey, seems risky putting your money into something that's known to be shaky...unless you know you will get the result you want?

and yeah, I still remember your Armor case! You still got pictures?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 22nd August, 2012 at 06:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 06:23 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

yup, pics in my signature!
I may do some research and see if I could convert the subwoofer and speakers. I just need an amp that can push the amount of power they require. It needs to support 5.1 surround and hopefully the 1/8in plugs so I don't have to splice the cables.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2012, 06:33 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I've seen your signature so often I no longer see it...Thank Boo! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 09:35 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
Is there a way to test with another remote? I know infared is a specific frequency or something, but I would like to try with a generic/universal remote to make sure the remote isn't broken
I wish it were that easy. IR transmits by modulating the IR at a specific frequency - that's pretty easy to do, and there are a few standard frequencies. There's also another protocol on top of that, and again, there are a few standard protocols (like RC5 or SIRCS and so on)

One thing you could probably do would be to point a cellphone camera at the business end of the remote control. Most cellphone cameras have a bit of sensitivity in the IR spectrum, so you may be able to see the LED flashing away. You can check by testing the camera with a known good IR remote first. At least that would give you some confidence that there's something coming out of the remote.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 02:06 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd hit ebay for another remote.

**edit** oops, looks like you did.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 23rd August, 2012 at 02:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 04:10 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Interesting Aedan. I'll try the camera trick. You mean watch the remote infared flashing through the camera LCD right? Not take a picture....
I bet I could use my digital camera to do it.

I may purchase some new batteries again just to be sure its not them. I'm sure the remote will be more than $10.

Its a cool system. All aluminum except the subwoofer. thats why I was thinking trashing the amp and keeping the sub speaker & satellites, then building a new system from a different amp.
The sub speaker is at least 8in and very powerful.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 04:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yup, that's exactly what I meant!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 04:32 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

cool, I'll try it tonight. I'm hoping that I purchased "bad" brand new batteries. Sucks because that would have been a total waste of $10
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 05:27 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Make sure you say a prayer before you do the trick, only if you want to believe!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 05:30 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

you are a goof!
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 06:27 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Goofy Goodpecker!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 06:49 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

So like... I guess I'm the only one Aidan scares the crap out of when he does stuff like this!?

How did he know that! How did you know that! You blow me away! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 07:00 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Its probably something to do with flicker rates. Just like CRT Televisions or fluorescent light bulbs. They all flicker and usually a small device that records video will have a conflicting refresh rate so you can see the flickering.
Am I right Aedan?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 07:01 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Don't make excuses for him! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2012, 07:05 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

you guys are nuts, I can't spend my whole day responding AOA posts! I'll never get anything done
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplifier , powered sub , powerstixx , remote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Desktop jacksonwalters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 12 30th July, 2009 11:31 AM
New iPod amplifier uses valves. MONKEYMAN Random Nonsense! 2 7th March, 2007 01:08 PM
how do i test an amplifier ?? mashakos Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 17th November, 2004 11:35 PM
Zalman headphone amplifier with hi fi speakers experience mashakos Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 17th November, 2004 10:51 PM
Do you always carry your TV remote? mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 22nd September, 2002 05:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0