AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 02:57 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Random mouse lockups in XP

After installing Windows XP, the mouse sometimes locks up for about 20 seconds or so. It will suddenly stop working, I can still see the cursor, but not move it around.

After waiting 10-20 seconds it goes back to normal for a couple of minutes, then hangs again.

Whats up? Could it be a driver problem? An OC problem? hmm..
The mouse is a rather old Logitech Mouseman, PS/2.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2002, 03:48 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I've actually had small instances of the same thing occurring. I'm still looking into why, it doesn't happen very often, but often enough I noticed...

Think it might have something to do with the pagefile, Norton Virusscan, Outlook express, or zonealarm.

Actually, since I stopped leaving Outlook express on 24/7, it seems to have gone away .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 05:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Seems to have stopped once I stopped leaving Outlook Express open all the time. Think it has something to do with a combination of things running while Outlook Express is, but runs fine so long as I don't keep it on 24/7, so I check my email and close it, no biggie.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 08:26 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The thing is, I don't use outlook! Because of viruses and such things, I have decided to stick to webmail for now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 09:03 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

It still may be a process running in the background. I have had some of the same happening here. Not sure what it is but it seems like it is something to do with something hogging up resources to me.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 11:03 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

That might be it SM. I'll have to look it over in the weekend. Its just weird.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 10:47 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Uh oh... I think I actually traces this to something with the new folding at home core...

I came home today to a windows XP general protection fault citing folding at home as the cause (specifically "core.exe") as the cause...

I hit okay and the core seemed to re-download automatically and restarted on a fresh WU. Now I'm on core 2.43
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2002, 10:15 AM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I experienced a similiar thing when I had windows XP on. Except mine would completely hang the system whenever I opened a webpage, even a reinstall didnt cure.

It started when I installed my geforce 3. I had been running windows xp on my sis 735 on board agp for a week and it was very stable. When I installed my geforce 3 with latest detonators it just wouldnt load web pages.
Very starnge.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 03:12 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by loop
I experienced a similiar thing when I had windows XP on. Except mine would completely hang the system whenever I opened a webpage, even a reinstall didnt cure.

It started when I installed my geforce 3. I had been running windows xp on my sis 735 on board agp for a week and it was very stable. When I installed my geforce 3 with latest detonators it just wouldnt load web pages.
Very starnge.
Hmm, perhaps I should change detonator drivers? Weirdest part is, it doesn't happend every time I use the computer...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 05:54 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Sounds like it could have been an IRQ conflict.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 07:39 AM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

I fixed my little mousey problem by turning off more than 2/3 of those pricesses that XP like to run in the background. Most of them can be safely shut off and your system will run much smoother.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 04:26 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by TranceBear
I fixed my little mousey problem by turning off more than 2/3 of those pricesses that XP like to run in the background. Most of them can be safely shut off and your system will run much smoother.
Think I cleared all mine, but I get this 15 second hesitation whenever I send emails (after the norton scan stops and I try to go back into outlook express). I think my problems have been different from Alan's though, and trance's advice is good as XP has some truly worthless processes running by default...

BTW, it was not folding that was causing my issues
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 07:36 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I'm no help with this problem, in XP. All I know is that my mouse pointer loves to freeze after "critical updates" from microshaft. Froze so well a few weeks ago that a wipe of C:/ and reinstallation of everything was the only path to follow. This is in SE, btw. And it happened again with the latest "criticality" from Redmond. Thank goodness that the mouse unfroze after three reboots! I reinstalled the Logitech driver. Fingers remain crossed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2002, 09:55 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
the mouse sometimes locks up for about 20 seconds or so. It will suddenly stop working, I can still see the cursor, but not move it around.
Try this:

Using Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USERControl PanelMouse]
"SmoothMouseXCurve"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00 ,a0,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,40,
01,00,00,00,00,00,00,80,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,05 ,00,00,00,00,00
"SmoothMouseYCurve"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,66 ,a6,02,00,00,00,00,00,cd,4c,
05,00,00,00,00,00,a0,99,0a,00,00,00,00,00,38,33,15 ,00,00,00,00,

Look here for more related XP solutions. I find it very helpful!

HTH
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2002, 03:23 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Don't know what slots you have used, but here's the layout of shared IRQ's...
You *Might* try swapping cards around a bit, just to see. Also, the Creative SB 5.1 has some real issues with Via boards, have you tried swapping sound cards?
And in the BIOS, do you have an option to disable USB Mouse Support and Keyboard support? Just a couple more things to try.


PCI Slot Use Notes
1 Not used for a board. shared with the AGP graphics board. USB cable/bracket assembly.
2 Not used. Shared with PCI-3.
3 Soundboard. The CD-ROM audio cable length is a factor.
4 MODEM. Can live with the USB controller.
5 Network Adapter. Has it's own IRQ.
6 Not used. Shared with PCI-4 and the USB controller. Physically shared with the ISA slot.



The AGP slot and PCI-1 share an IRQ
PCI-2 and PCI-3 share an IRQ
PCI-4, PCI-6, and USB controllers share an IRQ
PCI-5 has its own IRQ
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2002, 08:36 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Thanks for the replies guys.

I have disabled some of the useless (for me, anyway) processes that winXP is running. Mouse hasn't locked up for a while now, so I'll keep my fingers crossed.

If the problem returns I'll try Uncle Bobs suggestion, but I'll leave it as is for now.

To Orbit: Thanks for your reply as well, but this ain't no VIA board. LONG LIVE THE BX!
Anyway, I only have a Live! card and a network adapter for now that uses PCI. Shouldn't be much of a problem, but you'll never know.

Thanks again all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Lockups Necorum CRASHED! 26 3rd July, 2007 10:28 PM
8rda+ random lockups raza EPoX MotherBoards 6 23rd September, 2004 10:25 AM
Random lockups and Bittorrent greenground OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 28th August, 2004 07:48 AM
Random Lockups Fragsey EPoX MotherBoards 7 30th October, 2003 01:43 AM
Random Resets and Sytem Lockups The Spyder CRASHED! 22 6th July, 2002 07:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0