AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2002, 03:08 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

GF4 MX 440 or ATI 7500

I am looking for a new Card to replace my dated GF2 MX 400. I want to stay sub $100.00. This is a must. So the Ti is out of the question. I am a big nVidia fan. But I have heard that the ATI cards have a better quality display. Both of these cards can be had for about the same cash. So, I know the 440 blazes for a low end card. The 7500 beats the GF2 Ultra in benchies. Now comes the part where I ask all of my fellow PC nuts what do you think. Post some scores please and also your opinion on visual quality.


Thanks as always. And let's not be shy here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2002, 02:44 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It seems that there is not much to say here. I did finally find a review that compared these two cards. Seems the GF4 MX440 tromps the 7500. I am still not sure about visual quality.

I am still open to input here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2002, 07:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
It seems that there is not much to say here. I did finally find a review that compared these two cards. Seems the GF4 MX440 tromps the 7500. I am still not sure about visual quality.

I am still open to input here.
Kinda hard to say, they're both without the latest shading features (standard on the 8500 and GF3/GF4 Ti cards)... but, for pure horsepower, there would be nothing wrong with either I'd imagine, but in 3-6 months you'll probably have to upgrade... I'm guessing my GF4 Ti will last through year's end before I need to get another card....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2002, 09:44 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Thanks Pinky. Unfortunatly I have also come to that conclusion. The MX or 7500 just is not gonna do it.

I have been eyeing a good ole GF3. But again how long will this get me? Much better than my GF2 MX.

The GF4s are just a little out of my price range.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 07:38 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Look around for a LeadTek GeForce3Ti200 with 128MB of RAM. It's hella nice! Look here, but that is WAY overpriced. Check on Pricewatch and Newegg, as they both have good priced cards.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 02:36 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have seen this card for a wide range of prices. This is basically an underclocked GF3 right? I can imagine it will overclock past the original GF3 spec.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2002, 09:53 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
I have seen this card for a wide range of prices. This is basically an underclocked GF3 right? I can imagine it will overclock past the original GF3 spec.
Yes, it's under clocked, with a under priced price tag. It can be easily OC’d to past the level of a regular GeForce3, and even faster then a GeForce3Ti500. But what makes it so cool is that it has 128MB of DDR, instead of the regular 64MB. That is what really makes the card fly. And at $125 a pop I think it's far better then a GeForce3Ti500 or a GeForce3 Original because it has 128MB of RAM!

BTW - What budget are you looking at? What is the max you want to spend?

Check out this image of the standard cooler from the MSI GeForce3Ti200 128MB - http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....127-036-03.JPG
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2002, 02:21 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Thanks. I found a 64 megger for 93 shipped. Is it really worth the extra coin for the extra ram. This was a Visiontek by the way.

Groovin, comes with ram sinks too. I like it, I like it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 2nd June, 2002 at 02:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 04:10 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Its worth the bragin' rights to have the extra RAM. And probably gives a higher 3DMark score...
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 04:24 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I saw a couple of 128 meggers for about 135 shipped. Do you really think it would be worth the extra coin?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 04:24 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
Thanks. I found a 64 megger for 93 shipped. Is it really worth the extra coin for the extra ram. This was a Visiontek by the way.

Groovin, comes with ram sinks too. I like it, I like it.
VisionTek's are VERY nice. If you get lucky, you'll get one like mine which will got to 225/535 no extra cooling.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th June, 2002, 05:25 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

The extra RAM is only worth it if you're going to keep the card for a while. But I don't recommend that. if you can afford to, wait for the Ti4200 128MB GF4 to drop in price and get that in 1-2 months .

If you must have now, then get a 64MB if the price range is really that steep.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2002, 02:51 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

What is the diff in a GF3 and a GF3 PRO? besides 120 bucks...

As I said I found a Visiontek GF# TI200 for 93 shipped. I think this is a great deal. Then iI see a GF3 Pro for 235. What the hey?

Pinky,

Do you really think the GF4 Ti cards are gonna drop that much in the next couple of months?

If so I might be able to wait. This GF2 MX is killing me though. At least with the GF3 I will get the cool shaders and DDR mem bandwith.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th June, 2002, 04:28 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
Do you really think the GF4 Ti cards are gonna drop that much in the next couple of months?

If so I might be able to wait. This GF2 MX is killing me though. At least with the GF3 I will get the cool shaders and DDR mem bandwith.
Yes, they will... Nvidia is already set to release the next generation of graphics cards, and can do it anytime after August!

At the time of release of the new cards, you'll see the GF4 prices drop to where the GF3 prices are today (and maybe even more since fewer people will be willing to upgrade that soon).

Maybe I was wrong to say 1-2 when it's closer to 2-3, but it's sooner than the last major release from nvidia.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2002, 05:05 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

The diffrence of those cards is that the Ti200 is a little bit slower, but for the price, get it!

What will the new GeForce4's have that's so special?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2002, 08:33 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

the GF4 MX440 i have here is visually superb to the GF3 Ti200's i have.

if you can't afford a Ti-4200 for $150

get a GF4 MX440 or 460

i bought one to try it out, and it blows away anything i've seen 2D-wise.. and it got damn near 6000 3Dmarks pretty stock.

i have the Chaintech, would not hesitate to buy another, for any purpose.

ATI = teh suck
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2002, 01:11 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

are you telling me that a GF4 MX is better than a GF3?

The GF3 has the shaders and such. The MX does not.

Is it visually that much better?

What is the MO score difference?

Your getting 6000 on a GF 4 MX,

What's a score on a GF 3 TI 200?

What I know;
GF4 MX440 $75.00, No shaders, 6000 score

GF3 TI 200 $93.00 shipped, all the toys, ??????? score
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2002, 02:26 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

The ramdac in the GF4 looks good... the 2D quality of my visiontek GF3 was poor. The 2D of the PNY GF4 rivals the replaced Radeon, and the only reason I was willing to make the leap was because I had read nvidia fixed their poor 2D issues.

As for 3D performance, especially in the newer games and games to come, I'd never buy a GF4 MX.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12th June, 2002, 03:18 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Ok Ok,

It looks LIke I will save up for GF4 TI 4200. I should be able to get the clock speeds up there.

Thanks Pinky.

I will have to live with the GF2 MX for a while longer.

I found a cool link that shows the exact differences between the GF3 cards and the GF4 MX card. Hey they even through in my old GF2 mx.

Here
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 12th June, 2002 at 04:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yoyo takes 7500 dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 7th May, 2003 03:35 PM
ATI Radeon 7500 ilke Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 12th February, 2003 12:59 PM
Radeon 7500 OC burekar Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 19th June, 2002 07:47 PM
7500 & DirectX 8.1 Kris Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 5th February, 2002 10:13 PM
Radeon 7500 or 8500?? CNUCompGuy Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 2nd February, 2002 02:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0