AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2002, 11:54 PM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

MX 400 Overclocking...problems and stuff

The card is MSI GeForce 2 MX400 Pro 64MB SDR.

I went to check my clock speeds and I saw something that I've never seen before. (see attached image).

The manual tells me that the core should be at 175 and mem at 166. NVMax is telling me that the core is at 202 and mem is at 335. Control Panel's Display app gives me the same numbers.

I thought maybe NVMax is reading the numbers bad, and reinstalled it a few times, and updates vid card drivers.

Any ideas on what could be wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
MX 400 Overclocking...problems and stuff-untitled.jpg  
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 12:12 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Try another proggie, like Powerstrip, and see if that still shows those settings... guess it's possible you have something more than you thought (but I doubt it).

I remember reading that nvmax (and one of the reasons it's not as popular as it once was) was having issues in the latter versions.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 12:16 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Is there anything you don't konw.....

hehe, thanks.... Now I got proper reading for the memory, but core is still 200. Oh well, I'm gonna overclock it anyway.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 12:44 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

MX 400s run the GPU @ 200 and the mem @ 166. Some MX 400s came with DDR but use 64 bit bus instead of 128 for SDR. Maybe NVmax saw it a DDR mem.

Hopefully this helps..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 02:59 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
MX 400s run the GPU @ 200 and the mem @ 166. Some MX 400s came with DDR but use 64 bit bus instead of 128 for SDR. Maybe NVmax saw it a DDR mem.

Hopefully this helps..
Yea, I was thinking the same thing, but didn't want to OC, thinking it would try to double the clock and cause some bad things.

But right now it looks fine! 235 core, 185 mem.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 04:25 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

How many FPS did you pick up with the core OC?

I get some BAD things happen. My GF 2 has been quite flaky lately. Lockups and sudden re-boots. Makes me quite perturbed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 04:52 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
How many FPS did you pick up with the core OC?

I get some BAD things happen. My GF 2 has been quite flaky lately. Lockups and sudden re-boots. Makes me quite perturbed.
hahahha 6 FPS!!!!

I think Format C: will fix that though.

I'll look at it tomorrow, but now I shall study for the history exam!
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 05:30 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

On my geforce 2mx400 I don't remember how far I overclocked it but my 3Dmark2001 score went from like 2200 something to 2700 something. Worth the overclock.

But when I upgraded to a Radeon 8500 retail it only went from 7700 something to 7900 something. Not very good. So I dropped it back down to retail speeds.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 01:57 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz
On my geforce 2mx400 I don't remember how far I overclocked it but my 3Dmark2001 score went from like 2200 something to 2700 something. Worth the overclock.

But when I upgraded to a Radeon 8500 retail it only went from 7700 something to 7900 something. Not very good. So I dropped it back down to retail speeds.
Yea I can pull about a 2690 with mine. I just realized why my machine is tripping. I backed down the VCORE yesterday to see if I could get the temp lower. At a 200 Mhz overclock it must need to extra core.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 02:45 PM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

With 3DMark2001 SE I got 3168, which I'm happy with. (everything overclocked). However, MadOnion shows that my cpu is at 133 FSB, when its really at 145, so I dunno. 3DMark2001SE comparison.

And for the FPS testing I used Q3 Team Arena Demo. Maybe thats not the best thing to use, but its what I currently have installed.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 08:01 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally posted by Super
With 3DMark2001 SE I got 3168, which I'm happy with. (everything overclocked). However, MadOnion shows that my cpu is at 133 FSB, when its really at 145, so I dunno. 3DMark2001SE comparison.

And for the FPS testing I used Q3 Team Arena Demo. Maybe that's not the best thing to use, but its what I currently have installed.
Most of the reviews for new vid card still use Q3 time demo for a comparison.

Check out some reviews for your card and see how it measures up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 17th June, 2002 at 08:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 03:45 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

best thing to do now....UPGRADE MAN!!! damn that card is older then me
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 03:53 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Phiber
best thing to do now....UPGRADE MAN!!! damn that card is older then me
hahaha, I know, but I don't really want to... btw Happy B-Day!
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 04:08 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Bah man you still get 1 hour to go! thanks anyway man....but you should really upgrade...lol get me a bday gift and upgrade for yourself
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 08:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Super

hahaha, I know, but I don't really want to... btw Happy B-Day!
Maybe this will change your mind .

Even I was surprised the differences in 2+ years of video technology.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 01:57 PM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Maybe this will change your mind .

Even I was surprised the differences in 2+ years of video technology.
Oh my God, my card blows comparing to yours!

hehe

but really, I kinda don't have the extra money for the card right now... Gotta pay off for some stuff.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking problems JShaw99 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 14th August, 2005 07:04 AM
EP-5EPAJ Overclocking Problems delas52 EPoX MotherBoards 4 24th February, 2005 12:28 AM
Problems while overclocking EPOX 8 RGA doru rotariu EPoX MotherBoards 8 28th November, 2003 03:06 PM
4g4a overclocking problems kaka EPoX MotherBoards 19 3rd October, 2002 06:47 PM
having problems posting stuff here jay Random Nonsense! 8 8th November, 2001 11:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0