AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 10:09 PM
AvACore's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to AvACore Send a message via MSN to AvACore Send a message via Yahoo to AvACore Send a message via Skype™ to AvACore

Question USB I/O Chip

I think this is the right place for this question, anyway. I was wondering if anybody here know where to find a USB I/O Chip, preferably 8-bits or more I/O, and a USB 2.0 HUB Chip????????
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by AvACore; 18th June, 2002 at 01:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2002, 11:24 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Just the chip? I don't think you can. You'll probably have to buy a controler card for that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 03:44 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Yea you would need a PCI card with USB ports on it or something...
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 10:14 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

When you say USB I/O controller, I'm not sure if you mean a USB host controller (the bus controller) or a USB device controller (a device). Did you want a USB or USB 2 device? Don't forget that if you're planning a device, you'll also need a vendor ID that can be used to ID your device to the controller

Most USB host controllers implement a PCI interface.

USB devices are byte orientated, which is why you'll find most devices have 8bit I/O. Given that even a simple microcontroller can keep up with USB's throughput, there's not much reason to move to a wider bus. Heck, even 8bit ISA is faster than USB!

USB 2 devices
NEC have devices like uPD720122. The uPD720122 supports both 8bit and 16bit wide busses, as well as some form of local bus.
Philips have their ISP1581, which supports 8 and 16bit CPU busses. It also supports DMA simultaniously using a split multiplexed bus.

Cyprus have the CY7C68013, which is an enhanced 8051. It's still an 8bit controller, but supports DMA rates of up to 96MB/sec.

As for USB 2 hub controllers, there are few out there.
NEC have their uPD720110A, which comes with default descriptors.

Good luck with whatever you're trying to do!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 01:05 PM
AvACore's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to AvACore Send a message via MSN to AvACore Send a message via Yahoo to AvACore Send a message via Skype™ to AvACore

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
When you say USB I/O controller, I'm not sure if you mean a USB host controller (the bus controller) or a USB device controller (a device). Did you want a USB or USB 2 device?
I mean a device and preferably a USB 1.1 device (I don't need the extra bandwidth in USB 2.0). I'm kinda looking to control an LCD Display with it...

Happy Birthday Phiber
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by AvACore; 18th June, 2002 at 01:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 10:57 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by AvACore
I mean a device and preferably a USB 1.1 device (I don't need the extra bandwidth in USB 2.0). I'm kinda looking to control an LCD Display with it...
Ok, this makes a lot more sense now! There's a number of microcontrollers with USB hardware onboard. This would allow the microcontroller to take care of all the pain in the backside stuff (data/address bus to LCD) whilst still communicating with the PC.

Gigatechnology do some stuff that might be of use (http://www.gigatechnology.com), as do FTDI (http://www.ftdichip.com)

If you're really looking for a USB to MCU, then there's practically hundreds out there. Most MCU manufacturers have added USB functionality to their product lines. (e.g. a number of USB hubs are just a 8051 in disguise.)

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 08:42 PM
AvACore's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to AvACore Send a message via MSN to AvACore Send a message via Yahoo to AvACore Send a message via Skype™ to AvACore

Thanks for the answer AidanII. I'll take a look at the 2 sites you mentioned and report back later. Thanks again
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by AvACore; 19th June, 2002 at 09:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 09:10 PM
AvACore's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to AvACore Send a message via MSN to AvACore Send a message via Yahoo to AvACore Send a message via Skype™ to AvACore

OK, I think I'm gonna go for the giga technology usbio24, Only problems now are 1. the price and 2. The availability in Denmark.

P.S. Guess who made the chip? http://www.gigatechnology.com/images/USBIO24.jpg That's right FTDI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 11:19 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Try http://www.lawicel.com/ftdi/ for an FTDI distributor who deals with Denmark. Yes, they're actually in Sweden, but...

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I OC this Chip -OGzSuicidalTen AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 18th May, 2005 07:08 PM
Name the chip (opposite the 8RDA+ Vdd chip) MasterAtArms EPoX MotherBoards 12 9th August, 2003 10:07 PM
8K3A bios chip flashable to 8RDA+ chip? Garrett EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th June, 2003 09:42 PM
chip next to vdd-modded chip (fried!!!!)? doctoromeo EPoX MotherBoards 19 12th February, 2003 04:40 PM
ICS chip help Spode Hardware Hacking 5 5th September, 2002 10:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0