AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 11:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Angry #%$&ing Geforce 4!

I treated myself to a gainward GF4 Ti4200 card. Thought it'd be an improvement over the old GF2MX card I have. Boy was I wrong!

The problem:

The card seems to pass DX7 tests fine. Try to run a DX8 test using DXDiag, and the result is...
"Direct3D test results: Failure at step 5 (GetDeviceCaps): HRESULT =0x8876086a (3D not available)"

Last time I checked, the 3D card did indeed have 3D. What the heck is going on?

Stats: Machine is a KT7 mobo, 1.3G Athlon, 512Mb RAM, Tekram SCSI controller and a bunch of drives. FSB is at stock speed. Windows 2000 Pro, DirectX8.1 installed.

Tried the driver that came with the card, the latest beta driver, and the current release driver (29.42). No joy with ANY of them.

Tried updating DirectX again to ensure no problems there. Same problem still!

Why is this occuring, and what's the fix?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 02:13 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I am looking at this card also. Hopefully you just got a dud....

Have you tried any games or 3d apps?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 03:30 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Perform the standard reinstalls (again) in this order:

4-in-1 drivers (I think that Abit board uses them )
Directx 8.1
Video (29.42 or 28.90 work fine for me)
Sound

Then try and run 3dmark2001se, if it runs you're okay. If it doesn't report back what happens. Don't worry about dxdiag right now, I rarely look at that for answers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 04:18 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

hey ill trade it for my Geforce3 ti200 !!? (o/cs pretty nice too- 256/562 and 124mhz FSB all w/ stock cooling )
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 10:35 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
Then try and run 3dmark2001se, if it runs you're okay. If it doesn't report back what happens. Don't worry about dxdiag right now, I rarely look at that for answers.
3dmark2001se comes back and says "Texture mapping not supported".

Comment from MadOnion on this... "This is a nasty little bugger that affects all your D3D content when run trough DX8.1."

Downloading the DirectX control panel applet, and then disabling and re-enabling Hardware Acceleration seems to have fixed this.

Ta for the pointers.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 20th June, 2002 at 10:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 11:01 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I had this problem when I first installed WinXP. I had a GeForce2Ti for 2 days until I got my GeForce4Ti4400 (They ran out!) What I had to do to make DirectX 8.x work was re-install WinXP. I hope you don't have to do that, but that's the only thing that worked for me. Including sitting on Tech Support with PNY for a hour
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 01:22 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It would appear that somewhere DirectX gets confused and writes out an incorrect registry setting. The results of this are that DirectX 8 applications have hardware acceleration disabled.

DirectX 7/5 applications seem to be unaffected by this incorrect registry setting.

Disabling hardware acceleration and then re-enabling hardware acceleration appears to re-write the DirectX 5/7/8 entries to bring them back into sync.

Having said all that, 3dMark2001SE locked up on me doing "game 1", but run "game 4" with no problem. Go figure! I'll see how Morrowind/EQ go when I get home agian.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 03:45 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I saw something on this b4. Did you have to DL a dll file and set it up. Just curious if you could explain what you did.


Thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 04:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Had the same issue with 3dMark recently on a friend's machine, reinstalled 4-in-1 drivers and all was well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 04:37 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
I saw something on this b4. Did you have to DL a dll file and set it up. Just curious if you could explain what you did.
Ok. There is a DirectX control panel applet that allows you to disable and enable hardware acceleration. You place the .CPL file in your windows\system directory (or winnt\system32), then disable hardware acceleration, then enable hardware acceleration. I've uploaded it to AOAFiles, so it should show up soon.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get your GeForce FX..... Staz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 19th January, 2003 08:12 AM
Geforce 4 KTV_Striker Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 20th February, 2002 06:06 AM
GeForce 2 GTS just that little further wild_andy_c Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 19th January, 2002 11:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0