AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2002, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 5

Windows 2000/Athlon XP/AGP Problem

I just finished building my computer, and i've run into one big problem. It doesn't seem to want to run any games, or anything using 3d graphics. I read up on it, and it seems there is a problem with windows 2000/AMD athlon with a AGP video card. Every time i try to start something, it tells me i don't have sufficient memory to run it. I've dloaded a patch from AMD for the cpu and SP2 from windows, neither of which helped. I also went into the memory settings and added a largepageminimum, which didn't help either. If anyone could give me some advice on what to do to get this running, it would be much appreciated.

Here are the components of my system, if it helps:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+
Epox 8k3a+
MSI GeForce4 Ti4200
Corsair 512 mb PC2700
Maxtor 60gig 7200 rpm hard drive
Lite-On 40x12x48 cd-rw
Toshiba 16x/48x dvd
__________________

Last edited by keistler; 13th July, 2002 at 03:03 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2002, 04:04 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I don't think it should be a problem running win2k along with the XP. Have you updated all your drivers? Downloaded the latest nvidia reference drivers etc?

How about directx?

Oh yeah, PS.: Please post in proper topic!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2002, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 5

For windows2k, i have service pack 2., and for the video card, i already d-loaded the newest reference drivers. I also already have directx 8.1, but still can't run any games. Any ideas?

(sry, didn't mean to post out of topic)

thx,

chris
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2002, 01:42 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Latest AGP chipset drivers?
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2002, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan


How about directx?

It myt be directx but im running on WinXP and an AMD TBIRD. I do get errors when playing the latest games like Neverwinter Nights.

Check this article out.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=4474

I was just thinking that since WinXP is built around win2000 this article may be related to the problem keistler is having.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2002, 08:47 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by JayJay
I was just thinking that since WinXP is built around win2000 this article may be related to the problem keistler is having.
By the same logic, as Win 2000 is built around the NT4 kernel, then...

I suspect not, as XP is different enough internally. Couple this with the fact that XP's DirectX doesn't have a full download, just a bunch of patches, suggests that XP's DirectX is different from Win2K's DirectX

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2002, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

OIC Thanks for shedding some light on that Aidan II
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2002, 09:19 PM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

A shot in the dark here guyz, but how about the latest 4in1's?
I believe they're version 4.41

I had simular problems and i d/l the new 4in1's. Cleared right up .

Just my 2
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2002, 10:43 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

AMD supplies a patch for the Athlon and Morgan-cored Duron. There is one for Win2K, I don't know about one for WinXP. It's possible that the Win 2K patch is good for XP. But I wouldn't bet on it. Unfortunately, the link on the AMD site isn't working for me.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2002, 02:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I had samuknow try some omega drivers and they seemed to work
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 98 Machine connecting to a Windows 2000 Domain.. Nate-X Mobile Devices and Networking 6 27th July, 2006 01:13 PM
Athlon XP 2000+ Quickbeam177 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 4th March, 2005 01:36 AM
Windows 2000 and Windows NT code posted to the Internet. Southern Man Random Nonsense! 25 19th February, 2004 08:10 PM
windows 2000 problem vdalian OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 27th September, 2002 06:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0