AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 06:53 AM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

Sound "squelch" when I scroll?

I am using a Via Epia Mini-ITX form factor motherboard with the onbaord AC97 sound.

When I scroll in IE or use the scroll wheel in IE it makes a horrile noise. I have tried all matter of drivers.

When I first boot up it's strangley fine - it seems to build up over time.

I'm considering a new install. Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 06:54 AM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

oh, apprantly it'snot integrated into teh north bridge, but has its own chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 11:20 AM
Hamzter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: England
Posts: 178

What type of mouse is it? Have you tried a different one?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 06:52 PM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

It's a Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer I think. The mouse works fine on oher computers.

I'm wondering if it's the fact there is only 128mb of memeory and the reason it starts LATER is the fact the memory slowly gets used up?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2002, 11:20 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Get more ram!!!!!
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2002, 02:00 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The nerve! Stuff like this happens to your brand new miniature(yet it's the real deal) PC?!

I hope more RAM is the answer. Does that puppy give you more than one slot for memory?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2002, 02:03 AM
unclemojo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: mojoland
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to unclemojo

I'm not at all familiar with that board, so this could be entirely useless, but if it has a VIA chipset, the 4in1 drivers from 4.29 and up should fix that. I had the same issues under Win2K. It'll likely make that squelch with any mouse you plug into it.
__________________
~mojo~
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2002, 01:18 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Please pardon the pedantic blah blah. "Squelch" refers to an adjustment that's available for communication radio's, such as CB.

It sets a threshold that must be exceeded by incoming signals. If the signal isn't strong enough to "break squelch" you won't hear it. While you might miss one in twenty transmissions, you'll be spared the tedium of listening to the hash and garbage that always make listening for a transmission a tiring and annoying experience.

I don't think that you set the squelch level with a knob anymore. It's automatic, AFAIK.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th August, 2002, 06:03 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Please pardon the pedantic blah blah. "Squelch" refers to an adjustment that's available for communication radio's, such as CB.

It sets a threshold that must be exceeded by incoming signals. If the signal isn't strong enough to "break squelch" you won't hear it. While you might miss one in twenty transmissions, you'll be spared the tedium of listening to the hash and garbage that always make listening for a transmission a tiring and annoying experience.

I don't think that you set the squelch level with a knob anymore. It's automatic, AFAIK.
Some equipment has auto squelch but in my experence it dosen't work that well unless it is in a motorola handheld. But some of the makers are including a true rf type squelch that is just plain awesome. Does'nt cause that common clipping sound associated with traditional squelch.
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh from it's "sucess?" with Vista, MS introduces "Milan!" Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 30th May, 2007 03:48 PM
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
After XP-M "wire trick" only "AUTO" multiplier works -- why? TrevorS EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th December, 2004 01:23 PM
"Fail-safe" or "Optimized-defaults" for flashing? Frazas EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th March, 2003 06:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0