AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 01:29 PM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

The high FSB Club - is your hardware still going strong?

OK, grabbed a cheap second hand locked 1500 XP and it’s been a bargain! J

Slapped it in and running on a 150 FSB at default (1.75) voltage, with Crucial 2100 RAM set at 2.6V. That’s 1.33@1.50 hassle free. This chip will probably do 1600+ before it max’s out. Kind if reminds me of those Duron 600’s that would do 900+.

It’s been the easiest oc every! Temps are all fine.

How many of you have been running high FSB without issues for long periods of time? Just need reassuring it’s safe(ish)

Share you experiences - good and bad.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.33Ghz 1.6V - 133FSB - 2000rpm Silent Coolers
Epox 8KHA+ KT266A - Crucial 256Mb 2100 DDR 2.5V
Radein 8500 64MB DDR - SBlive
4x Front 2x Rear USB 2.0 Card
Deskstar 180GXP 120GB 8MB cache - SpinPoint SP0411N 40GB Low Profile
Optorite CDRW 52x32x52 - Pioneer DVD 115 16x
SkyHawk 400W PSU - 220W combined

Last edited by spirits247; 12th October, 2002 at 01:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2002, 09:05 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Ive been running 166fsb on my P4- and 198fsb on my XP 1600~ they are still running.... after a few months...
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2002, 02:53 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

been running 179mhz FSB (180) for 6months, no probs yet.

(every setting shows up as 1mhz more in benchie progs)
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2002, 01:03 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Mine runs fine @ 172 MHz FSB if I use the default 10.5 multiplier.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 10:58 PM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

180 fsb with corsair 2100 c2.5
got more and higher rated ram coming in a few weeks.this has been running for over a month now at this speed.

no stability problems,as of yet. i do get some hdd corruption with my old maxtor after i try 181fsb,but thats coming out this week for wd 7200's w/raid 0 ,should clear that up.
my goal is 200 fsb @c2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 11:55 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Er does 150 count? (limit of my mobo and enough to prevent my memory running CAS2 reliably! though i think thats the boards fault)
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18
Send a message via ICQ to NoStra

My hardware is going very strong....

XP1800(tbred)+@2800+ with 8k5a2+
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 09:05 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

170FSB. Had problems with HD damage around 155-160 but at 16 the 1/5 divider kicks in and brings the pci abck to spec. Solid as a rock now.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2002, 08:16 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

166ish with no 1/5 divider. No problems that i am aware of :P
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 09:42 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

i dont got an xp but my athlon 1333 is running nicely at 1405 i'm thinking about unlocking the multiplier, which makes me wonder why you havnt unlocked you XP's yet
they got a video of how to do it at tomshardware.com somewhere
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2002, 09:39 PM
causticVapor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 18

I've got an AXP AUIGA T-bred 1800+ @ 1.92GHz 1.85v w/vmodding on the 8-KHA+. 160*12. Using CL2.5 PC2100 DDR @ 2.8v (corsair C2 400MHz will come in soon)... very happy! 2 months with all PCI slots filled no prob.


8-KHA+
T-bred XP 1800+ @ 1.92 :-D
PNY 64MB Ti 4200 @ 300/621
Maxtor Diamondmax plus ATA133 80gb 2mb cache
Koolance watercooling on everything :-D
LG Flatron 563LE :-D
Audigy & 5.1speakers
Wireless peripherals
Sidewinder2 FF joystick
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2002, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 1

Cool

Have been running 200MHz FSB on my KX7(40MHz PCI) for ~5months, and before I was running 200MHz FSB on my KR7A(50MHz PCI) for 4 months, and NEVER had a problem on either, It's so stable
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2002, 12:03 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive had my system/s above 170fsb on various boards (8kha+, 8k3a+ 8RDA+) for over a year now.

I killed some Crucial 2100 by using 3.2v

Ive had some HDD corruption from time to time, but I allways keep a ghost.

I dont think ive killed anything from running high FSB alone.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can too strong an exhuast fan can be bad? ral Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 13 8th January, 2004 07:50 PM
PS w strong 5v line serlv General Hardware Discussion 6 30th June, 2003 10:12 PM
High FSB club Holst EPoX MotherBoards 71 17th January, 2003 09:32 PM
A Strong Strong Man. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 30th July, 2002 02:52 AM
It would take a strong strong man... mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 5th June, 2002 03:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0