AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 04:47 AM
Mccallbros's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7

Help with bios please?

Well, I dont have a clue how to configure BIOS, and my motherboard information guide doesnt explain the advantage or disadvantage to changing settings.
Does anyone know any of the specific settings I should definetely turn off or on for increased performance? Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 05:43 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Yes, you want to raise the FSB - Front Side Bus.

What BIOS are you running? If you tell me, I might be able to help more For sure, someone here could
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 19

http://www.adriansrojakpot.com/Speed...uide_Index.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 07:17 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

AGP fastwrite enabled gave me a 500point increase in 3dmark2001, lower multi, up fsb to get more meory bandwidth, too high fsbs could corrupt hdds or cause sb rrelated rpobs such as no sound, usb probs, keyobard, mouse, pci expansion cards could fail etc so ideally need board with pci lock such as an NF2

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 11:58 PM
Mccallbros's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7

well

would it be better to up the fsb and lower the multiplier or lower the fsb and raise the multiplier?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 11:58 PM
Mccallbros's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7

Im not sure what bios im running, the computer is in the shop to get fixed (lol) but i know it starts with an "A"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 08:05 AM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

you dont wana lower the fsb ever, especially not at stock because you are lowering the memory bandwidth, only time youd lower the fsb is if you oced to high, more than your board could handle and you were getting problems, should be 133MHz (266MHz on your board). You'd be lowering meemory bandwidth and in an overclock id say that the extra memory bandwidth is gonna make the bigger difference, especially in benching and not the few extar MHz.

If your not gonna raise FSB, just raise multi. Wouldnt like to hazard a guess at the fsb your board could do.

Hope this helps,
Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX 8RDA+, BIOS ROM checksum error, Award BootBlock BIOS v1.0 FeX CRASHED! 7 24th July, 2006 01:02 PM
anyone have or can modify 8k9a2+ bios for latest highpoint bios ? arosene EPoX MotherBoards 0 26th April, 2003 04:56 AM
8K3A 2912 BIOS, Highpoint 2.34 BIOS Imbedded Harryc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 1st November, 2002 05:33 PM
Newest BIOS caused shutdown to stop working. Old bios fixed it again. Pahakurki EPoX MotherBoards 28 10th May, 2002 05:00 PM
8K3A+ with 2312 bios faster than 2326 bios??? How Come? Haze EPoX MotherBoards 7 4th April, 2002 06:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0