AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 08:28 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

AMD overclocking and temps

How much of a temp increase should I expect when I overclock my XP1700 T-Bred "B".

I first overclocked my XP1700 from 1467MHz to 1500MHz by adjusting the FSB to 166. I did not notice any chnage in tempreatures. Note though I am using my motherboards (Epox 8K9A) readings...so these are from the socket and not the diode.

Anyway, I than when up the 1584MHz (9.5x166) and registered what was recorded as a 1 degee celcius increase in tempretures. Since I don't get decimal redains this could be anywhere from 0.51 to 1.49 degrees celcius.

After that I went to 1667MHz (10x166). I did not notice any increase from the 1584MHz reading. This seems to indicate that I am getting 0.51 to 0.75 degree celicus increases in temp everytime I increase the speedgrade.

By the way, would system temp readings also increase?

First time overclocker and am fairly excited.

Syntetic tests show significant increases in my CPU perfromance. Giving me a rating slightly over the reference XP2000 (SiSoftware Sandra 2003).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 08:33 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

By the way, vcore voltage is still at the default 1.6.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 10:21 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Cool,

sounds like your doing pretty good for default voltage.

I wouldnt worry too much about temperatures, as long as your CPU is stable you are ok.
You wont overheat at default voltage, you will just become unstable.

You only have to worry about temperatures once you start increasing voltages.

What memory are you using?
With a B type 1700 you should get a very nice OC even without much voltage increase.

Let us know how you get one with it.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 02:56 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

"You wont overheat at default voltage"... thats a relief. New to all this and still worried about seeing my CPU suffer a meltdown and turn into a burnt piece of metal

I do live in the tropics though (Ambient temps trange from 23 to 35 degrees celcius right now) and it is summer. But this information does give me a level of confidence.

Memory... nothing special. Kingtson Value RAM with a TG label. The price I paid for this was only 5% more than generic (PQI or PCRAM). While it carries the Kingston name I understand that these are not the reas Kingston's. By the way its a single stick 256MB of DDR333 set to run a 2.5-3-3-6.

Was able to get to 1750MHz (default voltage) with about a 2 degree increase in temps after which I brought ut at 1843 and registered a 3 degree increase in temps. These temps are basically idle temps. Load temps go up 1-3 degrees.

My CPU appears stable at all speeds I have tried. I "test" stability using Raven Shield... not too scientitific but I am a newbie.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 03:01 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

By the way, I have no plans of increasing my FSB to over 333MHz since I don't have a 1/6 divider and want to mainting system stability.

But I am overclocking on a budget.

My CPU specs are as follows:

AXDA1700DUT3C
9231796250192
JIUHB0308RPKW
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 03:52 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by ral
By the way, I have no plans of increasing my FSB to over 333MHz since I don't have a 1/6 divider and want to mainting system stability.

But I am overclocking on a budget.

My CPU specs are as follows:

AXDA1700DUT3C
9231796250192
JIUHB0308RPKW
Welcome to AOA.
DOH!!!... go for it.. that 0308 is begging to be let loose!!

Regarding FSB.. if you are running under 166mhz, you are actually overclocking your AGP and PCI bus more than you realize. (except for nforce boards). If you re at 160, your PCI is actually running 160/4 = 40mhz... At 166 and above you are most likely kicking in 1/5... so even at 190mhz, your pci is 190/5 = 38, which is lower than the PCI at 160mhz FSB... get it?

ok... regarding your valueram... I have a nice stick of Kingston valueram 512 PC2700... it can do 200mhz cas2 -4w-5-2-2-2 @ 2.75v... You might get lucky there, you don't know until you try.

On a serious note, what mobo are you using? and what HSF?

Btw, don't just start pushing because I said to... Ask questions, learn a bit, when you are comfortable... take a few steps.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 10:42 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

First, I was ramping up the clock speeds and making my posts between 2-4 in the morning (local time).so I apologize for all the typos (well actually I have a lot of typos all the time).

I am using a Epox 8K9A (KT400) board with a Volcano 7+ fan (altough I am only running it at mdium = 4800 rpm... tried full speed for awhile but it was drivng me batty).

As for the board, I believe that it can run at clock/ADG/PCI 166/66/33. So being a newbie... I chose to play it safe (by jumping from 133 to 166 ). I do see your point regarding the divisors and overclocking to 190MHz would not really take my AGP and PCI to far out of spec. 190MHz FSB...hhhhmmm

"Welcome to AOA.
DOH!!!... go for it.. that 0308 is begging to be let loose!!"

Okay let me get the fire extinguisher ready and I'll try the 1916MHz and 2000MHz settings tonight.

Will play with the mulitpliers for now. When that reaches its limit, I'll go and see what the FSB can do for me.

"Its better to burn out than fade away"... :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 11:27 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

With an 0308 you will get a great clock even with a high ambient temp.

You should be able to go upto 12.5 on the ultiplyer so that gives yo ua max clock of 2075mhz whyle keeping the mobo in spec.

Im pretty sure your ram and board will go to 175-180 without too much trouble.. giving you room to go to 2250mhz... your chip "should" max out before then.

Before you start on the FSB id drop bck to a low multiplyer and just test your FSB overclock... that way you will know if your CPU or memory has maxed out.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 02:00 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Oh oh... I don't have a 12.5 multiplier. It goes from 12x to 13x. But I would be more than happy with 2000MHz. Than I could go play with the memory.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 08:15 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Okay... so invested with new found courage from support from these boards and after having read stories of success... I push on.

First I boot to 1834MHz and watch the temps for about 10 minutes (light load= idle + monitoring tools). Move to 1916MHz (11.5x166) and all seems well. Temps seem to be between 2 degrees over default to 3 degrees over default. Really cant tell for sure. So basically it about the same or a degree higher than the temps I am getting at 1834MHz.

To test stability, I run Raven shield. After three sessions (15-20 minutes... the AI seems to be getting better) temps are only another degree over idle. Everything is nice and stable.

I push on to 2000MHz (XP2400 WOOHOOO) and the systems posts and goes into Windows. CHeck temps and in appears that temps are 3 to 4 above default now. Run Sandra 2003 and Dhrystone ALU is now at 5624 while Whetstone FPU is now at 2991. This is up from ALU 4138/FPU 2221 at the default 1467MHz.

Okay... now on to stability. Run Raven Shield and.... game loads... loading mission...

game CTD's and I see this error message

"OS: Windows 98 4.10 (Build: 67766446)

CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 2000 MHz with 255MB RAM

Video: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 (4345)



General protection fault!



History: FPoly::Split <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- TraverseBsp <- RenderLevel <- FLevelSceneNode::Render <- FCameraSceneNode::Render <- UGameEngine:raw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop"

Go back to 1916 and run Raven Shield again for another three sessions ...damn overclocking is bad for my ego...

Somehow though, reaching 2000MHz is a nice round number benchmark so I reboot and try again at 12x166. This time though I am more careful and check my limited tools (CPU-z) only thing I notice different is that vcore is reported as 1.584. From 1467MHz to 1916MHz vcore has been at a steady 1.60v.

Maybe thats the reason for the problem... lack of voltage.

Anyway launch Raven Shield again.... game loads... mission loads.... I am in the game....
move... kill...kill...kill...move...kill... SYSTEM HANGS :nervous:

Okay thats enough for one night so back down to 1834MHz...

What do you think guys... ramp up vcore to 1.625?
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 08:58 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

I just realized I posted this thread in the wrong board. Sorry about that newbie error.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 01:41 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by ral
...What do you think guys... ramp up vcore to 1.625?
No problem. Seem like your temps are very low.... Your V7+ should have no problems handling the extra heat. I think up to at least 1.80 should be ok... but just take it one notch at a time.

If it is booting up and running fine for a while before BSOD or other error... it sounds like a little more juice is all you need.

Damn.. I want your chip... I'd take it straight to 2.0v and see if it could jump to 2.5ghz... ... I just gotta get me one of them good cores.

Edit: just ignore that last comment... It's CPU envy, but I think I'm ok now.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 02:38 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

"I'd take it straight to 2.0v and see if it could jump to 2.5ghz..."

Err.... 2.0v :nervous:

I think I'll take up a notch and if necesary one more (max 1.65v) and see how far I can get from there.'

The Volcano 7+ is a nice unit. I can still raise it one notch and unleased the 6000 RPM fan... alotugh it sounds like a vacuum cleaner at that speed
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 03:16 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by ral
&quot;I'd take it straight to 2.0v and see if it could jump to 2.5ghz...&quot;

Err.... 2.0v :nervous:

I think I'll take up a notch and if necesary one more (max 1.65v) and see how far I can get from there.'

The Volcano 7+ is a nice unit. I can still raise it one notch and unleased the 6000 RPM fan... alotugh it sounds like a vacuum cleaner at that speed
I meant that jokingly... What I really meant was, with what I expect your cpu to be capable of, I'd be tempted to run it at high voltage to test the limits, using a SK7 and 75cfm fan.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 04:01 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

"I meant that jokingly..."

Yeah... kind of figured that out. :

2000MHz (12x166@1.625) (XP2400... my perosnal holy grail... the cpu I wanted but can't afford and mine has a 333FSB to boot )...

with 1.625 volts... everyting was okay... temps jumoed up a bit 1-2 degress from 1916MHz but with the higher vcore I am not surprised, altough on my second day but I gues nothing to be overly converened about.

IT ROCKS!!! Thanks SteveI (without your encouragement I would have chickened out by now) :beer:

Run Raven Shield and it works... I cant beleive it so I play game after game after game (and still keep getting killed)...

Earlier i posted I did not have a 12.5 mulitplier. I was mistaken... I do. So I try in.

2083MHz (12.5x166@1.625)... its posts... Windows (98SE) fails to load... it does not seem to hang as the keybaord lights work when I press num lock and caps lock,,, but no go. Okay, so reboot and try again. No go.

I decide to ramp up the voltage a bit more...

2083MHz (12.5x166@1.65)... its posts... its loading... ... windows write protection error (oh crap).

Alright. I am really tempted to raise vcore just a little more... But I don't know how to interpret these results... so I think I will await more advice from the qurus of this board.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 06:44 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

I tried another approach. Went to 2004MHz (15*133). Windows load, but games are unstable (I get an error message from Raven Shield) and go back to desktop... but no BSOD's or anything like that.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 07:25 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Gathered up some guts... cranked up the Volcano 7+ to 6200rpm and managed to get a stable 2083MHz at 1.7v.

2-3 degee temp increase though from 2000MHz.

Maybe I have gone far enough.
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2003, 10:16 PM
perc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

no dude your doing fine you can run 1.75v all day long and not have to worry about it.. just a little encourgement from the penut gallery!! i have the xp1700 DLT3C JIUHB 0308 XPMW kinda just like yours and i run it at 12.5x166 1.5v 2088 all day long as my stock settings and i can also IF i wanted too run it at 200x11.5 2300 mhz 1.75v when i first got the chip i ran it at this speed for a week and it never crashed once i even ran toast for 32 hrs straight to make sure it was stable so.. oh and incase your wondering my temps at those speeds where avg 31,36/29,32c so you can see that those are real good temps for the oc.. i think you get alot farther with the 1.7v/1.75v just look at my max stable oc im using 1.75v and it runs great for me.. i wont use over 1.8v but thats just me i know people are using 2.0v and beyound but im too chicken.. oh well keep going man your not to the top yet i think you can SAFELY go higher on your voltage.. anyone else am i wrong? good luck dude your doing great so far..

peace perc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th May, 2003, 08:02 AM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

Re: AMD overclocking and temps

Quote:
Originally posted by ral
How much of a temp increase should I expect when I overclock my XP1700 T-Bred &quot;B&quot;.
Heres a precise formual for working out the amount of heat in watts that your CPU will output:

Overclocked Watts = Default Watts * (Overclocked Mhz \ Default Mhz) * (Overclocked Vcore \ Default Vcore

I done some research into how much difference a few MHz makes a lil while back

heres an easier way to do it that using the formula:
http://www.benchtest.com/calc.html

Just out of interest, heres the difference between Thorougbred and Pallie cores so oyu can see what a difference there is:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postid=127397

i plan to write up all my research sometime soon

Hope that helps,

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2003, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16

interesting how the delta between the cores changes at 2000+ and up.

hmmm...
__________________
over 28 ghz in combined axp, xeon and p4 power in my bedroom alone.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 10:09 PM
Overclocking noob..questions regarding core temps Anurevolution Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th July, 2005 11:18 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
Overclocking temps?+its effect on the CPU. fvr Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 21st October, 2002 07:22 AM
MBM - HDD Temps Squall EPoX MotherBoards 9 20th May, 2002 03:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0