AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 12:12 AM
LutaWicasa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 508

No cold boot :(

Could anybody point me towards a volt mod for a Soyo K7V Dragon(non-plus)? I've got my 1.4 Bird crankin at 1668, but if I need to shut down I have to clear cmos and work my way back up. I do beleive the cause is cold boot at default voltage. If there is some way to have it recognize 1.85-1.90v as default........then no prob.
Being as I've just started playing with this, I will be doing the cold boot thing quite a bit. That is until I find how far I can stretch'er
__________________
My heroes have always killed cowboys.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2001, 03:31 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I think the problem may be a PSU issue. It may not be able to handle the load from a cold boot...just food for thought.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2001, 05:13 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I have the same problem.. My XP 1800+ will go up to 149 FSB stable, but it won't boot there, because I am feeding it with a 235watt PSU. Get a 350watt or a 400watt, and you will have no problems...

Anyone wanna tell me how to unlock the multiplier on this baby?
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2001, 05:16 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

This thread should probably be in general hardware discussion, or amd motherboards and CPU's....

Might want to ask daniel to move it for you ... you will find more help that way.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2001, 04:17 AM
LutaWicasa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 508

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
I have the same problem.. My XP 1800+ will go up to 149 FSB stable, but it won't boot there, because I am feeding it with a 235watt PSU. Get a 350watt or a 400watt, and you will have no problems...

Anyone wanna tell me how to unlock the multiplier on this baby?
Using a 350 Watt
__________________
My heroes have always killed cowboys.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 06:24 AM
efiman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to efiman

Azriel u still want to know how to unlock ur XP?

i found a way to do it here
http://www.vr-zone.com/guides/AMD/AthlonXPUnlock/:)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 10:14 AM
LutaWicasa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 508

Found it uses the same VR chip as the AK31, thus the same volt mod
__________________
My heroes have always killed cowboys.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with COLD BOOT! JeffPh EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th May, 2003 12:38 PM
C26 cold boot issue VASkO EPoX MotherBoards 0 23rd February, 2003 12:07 PM
4PEA+ cold boot Ganondorf EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th February, 2003 09:29 AM
Cold Boot Errors Jasonx5213 EPoX MotherBoards 24 14th February, 2003 09:15 PM
Cold Boot and 8K3A+ Srper EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th December, 2002 02:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0