AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2003, 01:25 PM
Lorddrakul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: The Seventh Ring...
Posts: 51

9800PRO with dipswitches

OK, I have a weird 9800 Pro.

I got it from a Dell PIV system. It runs at weird clock speeds. The core seems to be 325 with the mem at 290. I can clock it to 330, 300 but any further than that it cacks.

Today I took it out to look at it closely and found that the Arctic Silver like thernal paste had hardened quite badly under the heatsink. I have redone it with good AS II so cooling should be good. But the core definately does say R350.

However, I noticed two things when giving it a clean. The ram chips are indeed the Samsung 350Mhz rated chips, as denoted by the -GC2A designation.

But even stranger was the pair of dip switches. Looking at the card from the front, almost directly underneatht the onboard fan header. These both appear to be in the 2 position, which is indicated as Off.

Anybody any idea what these are?

cheers,

LD
__________________
8RGA, AIRGA XP2000+ @ 2200, 10.x 220, 1.9 Vcore, 2.8 Vmem, 2.0 VDD, Taisol 760, 2x 256Mb Corsair TWINX PC3200, Radeon 9800Pro, 905tx, Vivitron 20

Last edited by Lorddrakul; 12th October, 2003 at 02:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2003, 09:18 AM
Lorddrakul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: The Seventh Ring...
Posts: 51

I have established with information from another board that the dip switches are for the NTSC/PAL setting of the TV out.

Anyway, I have to take it all back about this being a bad clocker. After reseating the heatsink on the core and verifying that the mem chips are indeed rated at 350, I managed to clock this at 380 core and 360mem.

What a difference cooling makes! 3dMark scores have gone to 5764. So overall I am happy.

LD
__________________
8RGA, AIRGA XP2000+ @ 2200, 10.x 220, 1.9 Vcore, 2.8 Vmem, 2.0 VDD, Taisol 760, 2x 256Mb Corsair TWINX PC3200, Radeon 9800Pro, 905tx, Vivitron 20
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2003, 09:59 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Excellent stuff! Shame they couldn't do a decent job with the cooling to begin with.

If the thermal compound is that bad, they might have done a better job with one of those thermal pads!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 01:45 AM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Out the box it should be running at least 378.00core 337.50mem. If I went out and bought a Radeon 9800pro I wouldn’t want anything less. I would bring the issue up with the shop that you bought it from. Now that you have put the paste on you should be able to push the core to around 430 without any artefacts. I would advise in getting some Ramsinks too so that you can push your Samsung Ram even more.
__________________

Last edited by mixx666; 16th October, 2003 at 02:22 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 09:12 AM
Lorddrakul's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: The Seventh Ring...
Posts: 51

I didn't get it from a shop, it was an OEM from a pre-built machine.

I have encountered this numerous times before, particularly with nVidia cards. Many big OEMs will order cards with top of the line graphics cores but clocked to ultra-safe speeds. The card is now happily running at stock 9800 pro speeds. Haven't clocked much higher yet, but I do intend to.

To be honest I am surprised that fewer people have heard of this, Dell, Compaq/HP and others have been doing it for years.

LD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixx666
Out the box it should be running at least 378.00core 337.50mem. If I went out and bought a Radeon 9800pro I wouldn’t want anything less. I would bring the issue up with the shop that you bought it from. Now that you have put the paste on you should be able to push the core to around 430 without any artefacts. I would advise in getting some Ramsinks too so that you can push your Samsung Ram even more.
__________________
8RGA, AIRGA XP2000+ @ 2200, 10.x 220, 1.9 Vcore, 2.8 Vmem, 2.0 VDD, Taisol 760, 2x 256Mb Corsair TWINX PC3200, Radeon 9800Pro, 905tx, Vivitron 20
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rip 9800pro leekirlew Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 26th March, 2005 11:50 PM
30" LCD TV & 9800pro? karbon86 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 9th March, 2005 06:15 PM
8kda3j and 9800pro->XT mod GeneralLee EPoX MotherBoards 9 6th October, 2004 05:15 PM
New 9800pro Razorfish Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 22nd July, 2004 06:21 PM
ATI 9800pro Vs. ATI AIW 9800pro. ? tracy Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 12th November, 2003 05:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0