AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2004, 11:46 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

OverClocking my HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb

HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb DDR AGP Video Card
i havn't overclock a ati card b4 what software do i need and how high can i plus there little baby post please any info the card has a good heat sink and ram sink have a look
http://www.hightech.com.hk/html/iceq9800_pro.htm
or seach it in google
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2004, 11:56 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

http://www.hightech.com.hk/images/iceq98pro_s.jpg

wow, that is a huge heatsink. how loud is it?
my heatsink is slient

i use powerstrip to overclock my 9700 pro to 9800 pro speeds.

just google for powerstrip, you should find it.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 05:40 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

it makes no noise and if it did i couldn't hear it over all my case fans cpu fan and ps fans
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 10:43 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

ok i overclock it to a XT speeds witch r 415mhz core and 365 mhz ram i think thats a XT i got like 600 more in 2003 3d mark but i don't want to hurt my card to i only ran the test 1 time i think i can go higher then that card worked fine the heat sink was hell hot after it but i need to find out which way is high speed on the card cause there 2 fan speeds and i want it on high i still think 6326 is a bit poor 4 my system what u guys think i going to run it overclocked with 2001 se and see how much i smash 18000 by that powerstrip is hell good thank u i heared my card can go higher then XT cause of heat sink and ram sinks but i don't want to plus it to hard i don't want to have to buy a new 1 u think i should overclock CPU and CARD at same time then i wood get higher scores
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 10:44 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

hear a pic of the score
Attached Thumbnails
OverClocking my HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb-my-3d-mark-2003-overclocking-xt.jpg  
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2004, 10:38 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

updated score
Attached Thumbnails
OverClocking my HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb-don-t-want-over-clock-more  
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 08:15 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

card is dead after the lasted overclock please don't overclock that far
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 09:10 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i have a bigger heatsink on mine than you do & a case fan blowing directly on it. with ram sinks, i could get above 9800xt speeds. i have mine OC'd for almost a year now, runs fine.

will post a link to my heatsink later if you are interested. sleep time now...
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 09:56 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

i had a house fan and 2 case fans on it i don't even know if it was the overclocking that killed it but i had it at 438.75 and 769.5 ram 4 1 3d mark 2003 tested it run fine then it was worknig today when i got up then when i got home it was dead
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 05:15 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

yea, i think those speeds are a bit high. it is a good idea to run 3dmark 3-4 times through (set it to loop: 3 or 4) to test for stability.

i use a Zalman ZM80AHP heatsink to cool my video card.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2004, 07:19 AM
flashnc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 10

i have a 9800 pro BBATI..ive added heat sinks and the Arctic cooler VGA Silencer which is what HIS is using with there badge on it...yes you way o/c d that card...ive been working mine up from stock for almost a month now ..im at + xt speeds/stable/and cool..418/358..(716)...ive noticed that with the my "ATI 9800 pro"..( not saying all) but it needed to have its legs stretched before it would get stable and cool...runs at 36c idle 42c max gaming and benchmarking...down from 108F idle and 128+F...not many people are getting anywheres near what you tried to o/c too even with water cooling..im surprized it lasted as long as it did......when i started out i could barely get it past 398/347...so i worked it up lil by lil and let it run couple days just idleing and benching it....now it will do a little better even, im benching for about another 5+ mgz core and mem now and it looks good temps are good and no artifacts...running 1.7 v ( 423/368)..Flash ps ive had it to 428/368..but with dots in pixel ( the lil rhino )
__________________

Last edited by flashnc; 22nd March, 2004 at 07:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2004, 12:18 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashnc
ps ive had it to 428/368..but with dots in pixel ( the lil rhino )
My XT will run fine at 465/391 and every Radeon I've tested always get dots on the rhino...

Oh and Scottman, our systems are almost identical - and I agree with your verdict on the IC7 max3... One hell of a board.
Attached Thumbnails
OverClocking my HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb-xt.jpg  
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2004, 07:48 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

i didn't work it up over months i only overclocked it 4 like 60 mins' tops and work it up to that speed it worked fine lest time lest heat lest screwing of card
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2004, 09:11 AM
IVIoI3iuS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Garden Grove, CA, USA
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to IVIoI3iuS

That's probably the problem.

Increasing the speed in small increments over a while is a better way to slowly burn the cpu in versus small increments in a short time... processor can't adjust.

Anyways, those speeds are waaaaaay too high. Waaaaay too high. I am also surprised it lasted even the 3dmark test. Expensive lesson
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2004, 11:35 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

i had no dots or that **** it worked fine i think something esle hurt my card i have a new 1 4 nothing cause i sent it back and said it was broken which it was the heatsink is a good 1 it not a stock one
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2004, 11:57 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottman
i had no dots or that **** it worked fine i think something esle hurt my card i have a new 1 4 nothing cause i sent it back and said it was broken which it was the heatsink is a good 1 it not a stock one
I worked mine up over a two week period, but (if you're brave) you can boot the AGP voltage up a tad which helps reduce artifacts.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2004, 01:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Posts: 1

Hello all i am new to posting so bare with me .
I found your posts through google when researching my new card.
HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb DDR
This card is two days old and runs slick as....
432 core 380 mem
3dmark 2001 se 18396
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2004, 04:59 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

got it to 438.75 and 769.5 but it died 3 days later i cracked over 19000
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2004, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 1

Cool

I also just bought a Radeon 9800pro 2 days ago and the minute windows loaded up after installing it I started using PowerStrip to over clock it. First, not knowing it's limits, I put the memeory up to 765 and that right away screwed up and had to restart then I took it down to 360 and gradually went up to roughly 393 as I recall and when I found that stable I tried 390+ till 450 roughly on the core speed. after making sure the speeds were low enough to not see black or messed up pixels, I saved that setting for the cardand went off to do the 3DMark2001SE test, went through a few and it had REDICULOUS FPS compare to my old sh1t onboard video card (which I also had over clocked from 133/133 to 192/373 ) I had 60+ FPS on the dragon part in 1200x1000 resolution which I found impressive. it's been running well ever since, I didn't bothr to check on it's heat but it's in my basement so it's pretty cool. I have a question though, how do u increase the voltage for the AGP? Also in games, how do u increase the frame limiter or take i out? cause I'm running my favorite game at a limited 32FPS

let m know what you think.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th June, 2004, 08:50 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Make sure that Vsync is off. As for upping the V:Agp, I've had mine running at 1.7 comfortably. However, I didn't see any gain in performance or overclockability.

Welcome to AoA.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions: Best drivers for radeon 9800 128mb? dolanenwindrift Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 3rd July, 2005 11:47 AM
ati radeon 9700 pro 128mb 299.99 CAD cadaveca Online Deals, and Steals 1 10th June, 2004 07:16 PM
HIS ATI Radeon 9800Pro IceQ 128mb DDR AGP Video Card scottman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 16th March, 2004 06:44 AM
200w good enough for p4 2.4C & Radeon 9800pro? BigRed General Hardware Discussion 17 10th July, 2003 07:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0