AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 20th April, 2004, 04:56 PM

Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Question Overclocking my ATI 8500 LE 128 MB DDR...

Is it possible to run my card at 8x if the card only supports 4x? My mobo supports the 8x AGP, but Im not exactly sure how to overclock a Video Card. Im new to this. Is it possible to change the AGP to 8x if my mobo supports it but my card only supports 4x? Is this one way to overclock? If not how woul I overclcok this specific Video card?
Old 20th April, 2004, 05:04 PM

Im pretty sure this ISNT the way to overclock and if it isnt, how do I over clock it and what would you clock it at with 512 MB DDR RAm running at 400mhz with an AMD 1700 Athlon proc?
Old 20th April, 2004, 10:13 PM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If the card is AGP 4x, you won't be able to run it at 8x speeds. The signaling is different.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 20th April, 2004, 10:39 PM

How would you overclock it and what are some safe speeds with Video Card?
Old 20th April, 2004, 10:51 PM
Chief BBS Administrator