AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 12:05 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

ASUS V9980Ultra MOD

I have an ASUS V9980 Ultra graphiccard with Nvidia 5950 chipset. That is a great card with good oc...

default: 475MHz/475MHz (Chip/RAM)
overclocked: 575MHz/510MHz (Chip/RAM)

Chip is watercooled. Temps OK.

I think there are some more MHz with some vmods. So if anyone has experiences, links or somethings else to help me, please post. Once I saw a vmod for this card, but I couldn't find it.

Target-Clock: 650MHz/600MHz (Chip/RAM)

If my card can handle this, I don't need a new card next year.

--> So, lets come on! <--
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 12:16 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

600 Mem is really pushing it. I doubt you'd be able to reach it without a serious Vmodd and relaxing the timings. However, once the timings are relaxed, I imagine performance will drop. And AFAIK, you can only alter timings on ATi cards. I doubt even with with the extra Voltage that DDR will handle 1.2 GHz, unless you've got DDR3, in which case, it'll do that without a Vmodd.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 04:11 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

yeah you won't get that memory and even water cooled i doubt you would get that core speed
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 12:17 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I can't get higher clock yet. How can I get lower timings for RAM. I already have my Card-Bios on floppy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 02:00 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I find a link with a 5950U vmod.

1. site: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...5950ultra.html

2. Chip: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...50ultra_3.html
It's not easy to remove the resistor (red arrows). How can I remove it easy?

3. RAM: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...50ultra_4.html

4. VDDQ: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...50ultra_5.html
What is VDDQ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 10:23 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Vddq is the I/O supply voltage for an AGP card and used for the data transmission, or "signaling" on the card.

As for removing the transistors, try using a fine pointed Soldering iron, just be careful.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2004, 11:49 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

don't make your first attempt on your card. get hold of some old electronics and do some practising on those first because theres nothing more fustrating than soldering going wrong
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 03:32 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

OK, I did vcore mod last night. GPU now running at 615MHz with 10kOhm. Now it should be 1.7V in 3D mode. I think I will try 12.5 and than 15kOhm. But how far can I go without damage this chip.


@GrahamGarside
That was my second mod. My first was on my 8kda3+ (vdimm). I hope next mods are working too. Thanx for advice.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 06:15 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I get 627MHz with 15kOhm resistor. Looks fine, stable. That's a 32% oc. Tomorrow it's time for RAM. Any tips or tricks for cooling.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2004, 01:49 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

the best way to keep ram cool is to keep the core cool, a lot of heat on ram chips comes from heat transfered though the pcb from the core.
bt stick some nice big heatsinks on them using artic silver epoxy and have a fan blowing over them
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2004, 05:14 AM
woodeirl's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 316

good overclock there buddy

but id say ur gpu wont last very long if u keep it up in the 600`s
or the ram for that fact, even with a small voltage increase you still jepordise many of the components on the PCB
__________________
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Thermaltake VA8003BWS Armour Super Tower
Belinea 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
Abit IN9 32X-MAX WiFi nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 2.4ghz
CellShock 2GB DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz
2 x BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC 768MB GDDR3 SLi
Western Digital Raptor X 150GB
Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200KS
Tagan 1.1kw Turbojet Quad SLi
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Saitek X-52 Pro edition
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Last edited by woodeirl; 14th December, 2004 at 05:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2004, 08:04 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Agreed, overclocking can be an expensive hobby... or obession for the less sane here.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2004, 10:34 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Sorry for late reply

I had to check something. But now I know it. I damaged the card by trying vdimm mod. I don't know what's wrong. Maybe I killed the RAM.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2004, 11:08 PM
woodeirl's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 316

sorry to here that buddy but you were warned by many.....
__________________
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Thermaltake VA8003BWS Armour Super Tower
Belinea 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
Abit IN9 32X-MAX WiFi nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 DUO E6600 2.4ghz
CellShock 2GB DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz
2 x BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC 768MB GDDR3 SLi
Western Digital Raptor X 150GB
Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200KS
Tagan 1.1kw Turbojet Quad SLi
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Saitek X-52 Pro edition
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2004, 11:33 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Yeah, that's right, it's my own fault.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus DvD rom ajopz General Hardware Discussion 9 4th September, 2006 07:13 PM
asus asus A-8 SLI madcatmk3 General Hardware Discussion 2 25th December, 2005 02:47 AM
ASUS A8N SLi cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 27th December, 2004 03:03 AM
Anyone else have an Asus A7S-VM? cloasters AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 16th February, 2002 06:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0