AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 07:49 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

2GB in a laptop! MEMORY GALORE!

Quote:
Infineon intros 2 GByte notebook memory, hints to 1 GByte graphic cards


Quote:
The 2 GByte DDR2 dual-die SO-DIMM target high-end notebooks and is manufactured with 18 dual-die 2 Gbit DDR2 components. The result is a 1.8 volt part with a density of 2 GByte and a thickness of 3.8 mm at the standard 30 mm height, Infineon said. The basic principle of dual-die memory is based on the concept of stacking two identical dies within one BGA package.


something tells me they have MBper IC issues...i wonder if they will use the CSP package?

also released...

Quote:
The company also launched new memory for performance graphics cards. The 512Mbit GDDR3 chips are built in a 16Mbit x 32 structure and are clocked 800MHz, enabling data bandwidths of up to 51.2 Gbit per second and memory. The devices allow graphics card manufacturer to build their products with frame buffer sizes of 512 MByte or even 1 GByte (256 MByte in notebooks), according to Infineon. Volume production of the memory is scheduled for the second half of this year.

Now, it seems that Samsung, Infineon (who now has Winbond's mem IC fabs), are about to do battle...and seeing how much "UTT" ram Infineon has dumped on the market, and the curent price of ram(less than $9 US per stick when bought in bulk), the predictions of earlier months of a major fall in prices seems really evident.

Some major memory relabellers are releasing some very fast memory as of late, based on the aforementioned "UTT" ram. What gets even more interesting is that as more of it hits the market, the more "value" sticks are hitting the market as well. This flood of parts that have failed "speed binning" at these relabellers is a major reason for the drops in price, but is there more to the story?

seems i bought some of these "UTT" sticks a while ago, not knowing what they were, of the value variety. when i first got them, they would do no more than 229mhz 2.5-4-3-8....any higher at any settings would not boot, no matter the voltage. Now, i can get 2-2-2-5 @ 250mhz...3.2v(with vtt not tracking..should be 1/2 vDIMM, but is only 1.42 @ 3.2v, until i can do a mod to the board). Anyway, it seems i have found out what these relabellers are doing to these sticks to get them fast...20mhz more than they would boot at... at way tighter timings...and error-free....IN LESS THAN 2 WEEKS.
At default voltages(2.6v), i am running 217mhz 2-3-2-5(as i have been for a while, but before @ 2.8v). Did I mention these were value sticks?

For those of you concerned over what seems to be a "high" amount of voltage...don't be. These relabeller's are warrantying these same sticks for 3.2v and 3.3v...lifetime warranties. I've done a ton of research, and NOW, finally know what the real story on these sticks are...

...they're dirt cheap. With DFI offering 4v for vDIMM, and a Sapphire board, soon to be released, offering the same, and a huge market out there screaming for higher FSB's for thier A64's...someone was bound to find a way to capture the money just waiting to be had.

Think about this though...$10 US, we will say, for simplicity, per 512mb stick of 5ns RAM IC's, on a BrainPower PCB. These sticks are being sold @ upwards of $260 US...warrantied for life to operate @ 3.3v 2-2-2-5 DDR400 to DDR500. That's a 1300% mark-up! But it's also alot of handtesting and man-hours. The "value" versions, however, can be found for $50 US, if you know how to look. I have directed a few people in this direction on other forums, and only 1 of 3 was able to get the same speeds as i have...but the other two pairs, in my hands, work just as well as my first pair. $50 US a stick!

But what does this mean? Alot, if you look at it the way I do. The demand for DDR600 and higher is out there...watching the stock at stores i've seen no less than 1000 pairs of DDR600 be sold, by various manufacturer's. This equates to $300,000 US, in less than a month. This also means that any "Average Joe", given enough computers, and time, and money, can be releasing a high-speed ram, labelled in thier own pattern. Or us overclockers have found the new focus of our overclocking...DDR ram. But is it here to stay?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 09:33 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Er, my current laptop has 1.5GB of RAM in it, and it's an old IBM T30. We couldn't get the bean counters to agree to 2GB back when the machines were upgraded from 512MB RAM.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 03:52 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yes, but that is probably in multiple modules...these 2gb sticks are one module, with stacked chips.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 05:09 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Only problem is, standard Windows XP can only handle 3GB of RAM (even then, you have to modify the boot ini to support more than 2GB of RAM), unless the motherboard supports the PAE. If you do end up using PAE, page switching kills performance. Would be good for 64bit laptops though.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 05:24 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yes, and with Win64 on the way shortly, this poses good for those who use laptops for video rendering, etc...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st April, 2005, 05:58 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

This laptop could be used as a server laptop which would be one-of-a-kind. IT would also be the ultimate gaming laptop. And to think, i've only got 256Mb in this one. As it is on one module using stacked chips, there will obviously be the space factor which they will have to account for in some way, it may not be much space but it only takes a bit less space and a 'undesired' connection and you've lost the lot. Of course, it is probably protected in some way.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop mic captaincurran Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 10th January, 2006 12:13 AM
Help me with a laptop Phat Pat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 14 12th November, 2004 09:58 PM
What laptop to buy..... graftonater General Hardware Discussion 4 13th August, 2004 12:13 AM
LAptop without OS stigweed General Hardware Discussion 9 13th September, 2003 03:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0