AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 02:13 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Replace the capacitors in your 8RDA+

I've posted an article in the 'Motherboards' section of the Front Page that tells how to replace the capacitors in your 8RDA+, and where to purchase them. You can also find it here. Enjoy! If it helps anyone out, please let me know.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2005, 09:59 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Nice work there Gizmo!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2005, 05:49 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

So, I see the article has nearly 400 hits. Has it been of any use to anyone? C'mon, talk to me! I'm dyin' here!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2005, 05:51 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Not got an epox borad - or cap problems (atm) but was an interesting read for possible future reference.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2005, 05:52 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Is there a link from the guide to this thread?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2005, 07:13 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Eh, err..........wait just a sec.

Edit: There is now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2005, 11:24 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

As the happy recipient of Gizmo's work, I can tell you that it works flawlessly. In every respect the same board that it was before the caps took a holiday.

No, don't thank me, I was only to happy to lend Gizmo my borked board to use as an example...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2005, 09:22 PM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

:thumbsup
Excellant walkthrough and instructions. The geek in me loved the education on capacitors and what they are. Keep up the good work.
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 10

You might just have saved me with that article! I have a dead epox 8rda3i (it posts FF all the time, no matter what) that died in my arms when i tried feeding the CPU with 2+ voltage without any cooling on the caps . I think it SHOULD be one of the capacitors, the CPU doesn't even get hot, but the memory banks and the N and S bridge get the necessary voltage (they get worm)....

I think the board doesn't deserve this kind of death, especially after she helped me get (for 2 months at least) the national record at 9550 video card series (15.020 in 3d mark 2001, 4568 in 3d mark 2003, 1773 in 3d mark 2005).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 04:12 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Cool. Let us know how it goes, if you decide to do it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2005, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 10

I will do it when i will have some time available

What were the symptoms of your mobo's demise, anyway?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 03:32 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It was actually Daniel's mobo. I believe it gradually became more and more unstable until it wouldn't even post (FF on the display?)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 07:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 10

Yup, that's the problem !!

Is there any way i can measure the capacitors one at a time, so i can change the dead one, or do i have to change ALL the capacitors?

two more questions :

1. Do the capacitors have to be leaked or swollen to be defective?
2. Could it be something else burnt? The system froze a couple of times before dying in my arms, but i kept resetting to try and enter the BIOS and change back the settings.... big mistake, i know
__________________

Last edited by tavy; 26th June, 2005 at 02:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 06:32 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Gizmo has it right. started getting flaky all of sudden, screen would go blank, freeze...I'd reboot and be OK for a little while, but any stress would blank and lock it up.,, finally wouldn't start, all this over about three days, then it was off to see Uncle Gizmo for the spa treatments... ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 07:39 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

One important point to stress (I haven't read the article, so you may have pointed it out) stop using the board the moment you know you have bad capacitor(s). I replaced the caps in my KT7A, but it would still fail Memtest sometimes, and was permanently unstable. I believe that some other component(s) on the board were damaged by the voltage spikes while still using it with the bad caps. I loved that board too.

Same story with my uncle's BE6-II. I kept fooling with it until it wouldn't POST. Then I replaced the caps, and it still wouldn't POST. And it took out the memory as well.

Trying to learn from my mistakes, I ordered a new motherboard on the day I spotted bulging caps on my 8K3A+. I replaced it as soon as I could, and set it aside until I had time to replace the caps. I had picked up a cheap KT266 Shuttle board, and killed it by inserting the RAM the wrong way (duh). But I was only out $17.00, and it was a perfect donor for my 8K3A+. I just used desolder braid, and the transplant was a success! I felt a bit like Dr, Frankenstein ("Alive, It's alive"!) afterwards. So it folds away now.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 08:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Thanks Repo Man, a stitch in time is something to keep in mind...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2005, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by tavy
Yup, that's the problem !!

Is there any way i can measure the capacitors one at a time, so i can change the dead one, or do i have to change ALL the capacitors?

two more questions :

1. Do the capacitors have to be leaked or swollen to be defective?
2. Could it be something else burnt? The system froze a couple of times before dying in my arms, but i kept resetting to try and enter the BIOS and change back the settings.... big mistake, i know
Can anyone help me with this please?
__________________
Athlon XP-M @ 220x10 @ 1,675v
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
TwinMos Twister PC4300 @ 220 @ 11-3-3-3
Radeon 9550 Overdrive @ 472/351,tight timings (max 529/435 normal timings )
WD 800JB
Creative AudigyLS
crappy cooling and PSU


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2005, 07:30 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by tavy
Yup, that's the problem !!

Is there any way i can measure the capacitors one at a time, so i can change the dead one, or do i have to change ALL the capacitors?

two more questions :

1. Do the capacitors have to be leaked or swollen to be defective?
2. Could it be something else burnt? The system froze a couple of times before dying in my arms, but i kept resetting to try and enter the BIOS and change back the settings.... big mistake, i know
1. No
2. It's always possible, however the caps are usually the easiset to replace. The trouble with the other components is that when you are dealing with power stuff like switching regulators, you frequently get a 'cascade' failure, where the failure of, say, a single output transistor kills the regulator control chip, which then kills the other transistors.

As for changing all the caps, generally speaking it is most effective to change the parts all at one whack. If one cap has failed, the others are going to in a fairly short period of time unless it is one of the freak failures that occurs from time-to-time. By the time you take out each component, test it to see if it is good, and find all the bad ones, you could simply replace them all and be done with it. Besides, it is highly unlikely that you would either have, or have access to, the equipment necessary to properly test the caps anyway. You would need, at a minimum, a capacitance/leakage tester, and an ESL/ESR meter.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2005, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 10

Ok, i'll give it a try as soon as i find all the components.....

On the other hand, someone told me that it is highly possible to be the CPU voltage regulator's fault..... But the CPU is ok.... What do you think?
__________________
Athlon XP-M @ 220x10 @ 1,675v
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
TwinMos Twister PC4300 @ 220 @ 11-3-3-3
Radeon 9550 Overdrive @ 472/351,tight timings (max 529/435 normal timings )
WD 800JB
Creative AudigyLS
crappy cooling and PSU


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2005, 10:36 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Sorry for not getting back to you sooner. I missed your post.

The capacitors are part of the CPU voltage regulator, so yes, the problem is the CPU voltage regulator's fault. However, it is not common for the problem to be caused by other components in the regulator unless you have a catastrophic failure (flame, parts blown off the board, etc.).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with leaking capacitors on two 8RDA+ boards bupkus EPoX MotherBoards 10 17th July, 2005 10:22 PM
8rda+ bulging and leaking capacitors= dead board? MB xeqt EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th May, 2005 03:55 PM
bulging and leaking capacitors on 8rda+. help please flytek EPoX MotherBoards 14 11th April, 2004 06:00 PM
Need to replace Corsair with TwinMOS hchu EPoX MotherBoards 30 3rd September, 2003 12:44 AM
are bios chips easy to replace? JamesUK CRASHED! 15 21st February, 2003 12:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0