AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 12:10 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Vdimm/Vcore reference points.

Can anyone with some electronics know-how point out where I would measure the Vdimm and Vcore on this card?
Its a weird one for sure, based on the NV40 core(according to Rivatuner), or the NV45 according to spec sheets online. The fact the pipelines can be unlocked say to me NV40 though, it has the 6800NU pci-e reference heatsink but with the voltage regulation heatsink of the 6800Ultra, also it appears based on a version of the 6800Ulra pci-e reference board.
So its a 6800NU/Ultra sorta.....I think.....
At the moment it clocks to the same speed as the 6800ultra upto 400/1100 or 425/1000 and the 6th vertex shader is unlocked 100% ok but the last pixel-pipe quad seems quite iffy.
I would like to do a pencil mod to bump up the voltages just a touch, also I would like to see what they are as standard.
Any help appreciated.

-apologize for pic quality
Attached Thumbnails
Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-100_0623.jpg   Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-100_0625.jpg   Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-100_0626.jpg  
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah

Last edited by MONKEYMAN; 15th December, 2005 at 12:16 PM. Reason: doh
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 12:24 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Right found the points to measure Vcore is about 1.33v and Vddr is about 2.03v.
Can I just pencil the resistors at the measuring points or do I need to use another point?
Attached Thumbnails
Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-vcore.jpg   Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-vdd.jpg  
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah

Last edited by MONKEYMAN; 15th December, 2005 at 12:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 02:13 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The points you've hilighted on the board for measuring are actually capacitors, not resistors. Penciling them would do no good and might actually cause the board to function worse.

Without being able to look at the board or get clearer pictures, I can only make some guesses about what you need to do.

I <THINK> that the multi-legged "caterpillar" on the bottom right of the back side of the board is your voltage regulator for the vCore. The voltage divider for feedback will most likely be in that area somewhere.

I <THINK> the large three legged transistor directly above the "caterpillar" is probably the FET for vDimm regulator. Most likely it is controlled by something like an LM339 Op-Amp, although I can't see it in any of the pictures. Then again, that might be for something else, or might not be a FET at all.

The front of the board appears to have 4 inductors, so it might be using a switching-mode regulator for both vCore and vDimm, with 3-phase for the core and 1-phase for the memory.

I just don't have enough to work with. Sorry.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 02:37 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Ill get more info and post back, I should have given more to go on, thanks for your input.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 04:30 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Here is a bit of extra detail on the card, I think ive got the Vcore pencil position sorted now but I could do with confirmation of the site for the Vddr penciling so any input you have would be great.

The Vcore resistor to be penciled is about 8Kohm and Vcore is currently 1.33v can someone advise me as to what resistance I should aim for and what is the max Vcore I should take it to, cooling is the stock cooler but I have the fan at 100% and currently the card only just hits 77c max at 400/1100, Ideally I would like to get the core stable at 425+ and memory at 1100+ at the moment I can have one or the other (425/1000 or 400/1100).
Attached Thumbnails
Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-card-1.jpg   Vdimm/Vdd reference points.-vdd.jpg  
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:07 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The ISL6534 is a versatile triple regulator that has two independent synchronous-rectified buck controllers with integrated 12V gate drivers (OUT1 and OUT2) and a linear controller (OUT3) to offer precision regulation of up to three voltage rails. An optional shunt regulator allows 12V only operation, when a 5V supply is not available.

That makes it a voltage regulator, and one designed for fairly high currents.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:14 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The VT1103M is also a voltage regulator too, so the two are obviously supplying different power lines. Not sure which is which however.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Hmmm.........curiouser and curiouser.

The top chip appears to be a multi-phase switch-mode voltage regulator made by an outfit called Voltera. I'm trying to get some data on it right now, but they are being snooty. I'd guess that it is the regulator for the vCore.

The other chip is a dual single-phase switch-mode plus single linear voltage regulator made by InterSil. Pins 1, 4, and 12 provide the regulator feedback and should be at whatever the output voltage is supposed to be. Since one of the recommended applications for this bad boy is as a voltage regulator for DDR memory, it is probably responsible for vDimm. Do you have a volt meter?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:20 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

LOL.

Áedán and I cross posted.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:22 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

The present core voltage is 1.33v, and the resistance of the component is about 8Kohm what would I need to make the resistance to get 1.4v? (I didnt turn up to many electronics classes)
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:23 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

yes I got a multimeter handy.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:39 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Check the voltages at the pins that I mentioned above. Also, is there any way you can get me a clearer pic of the area of the board with the SIL chip? Maybe get a little further away from it? (dunno if that will help or not, but most digital cameras can't focus any closer than about 3 feet.)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:42 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

pins numbered like this?

1-2
3-4
5-6
etc?

Also do you mean the ISL chip or the SIL chip(silicon images)
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:43 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
The present core voltage is 1.33v, and the resistance of the component is about 8Kohm what would I need to make the resistance to get 1.4v? (I didnt turn up to many electronics classes)
Without knowing how the complete circuit is arranged, I can't tell you. You could try the pencil mod a little at a time until the voltage comes down to where you want, and then see what the resistance is. Or you could put a 100K pot in parallel with it, or put a 50K pot from one side to ground.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:47 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Best my camera will do I'm afraid

Im not sure how the pins are numbered on the VT1103M chip
Attached Images
File Type: bmp ISL.bmp (996.3 KB, 329 views)
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 06:57 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
Best my camera will do I'm afraid

Im not sure how the pins are numbered on the VT1103M chip
I'm not interested in the VT1103M right now, as I don't have any data on it. The pins I gave you were for the ISL6534.

The indented circular mark at the corner of the chip indicates the location of pin 1. The pins run straight down that side in order, 1-12. 13 is directly opposite from 12, and then 13-24 run back up the other side, with 24 being directly opposite pin 1.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 07:31 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Interesting...

Pin 1 is at 0.6v,
Pin 4 should not be shorted against pin 5 as it erases the boot sector on your hard disk and use of FIXBOOT is required

Im gonna check the other voltages when I have the system out of the case tomorrow and can get the probes on the contacts correctly to the chip(the cpu is blocking access to the card). Im up for modding the card not wiping it out lol.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 11:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Volterra are being buttheads:

"In reviewing your request for access for Volterra's secure website, we have discovered that we do not have a current non-disclosure agreement (NDA) in place with your company."

What, I've got to fill out a freaking NDA before I can even find out if your component will do the job I need? Sorry, not today. I'll go with InterSil, or National Semi, or Maxim-Dallas, or Micrel, or SGS-Thomson, or Analog Devices, just to name a few. I can pull THEIR data sheets right off their web site, no questions asked.

How some companies manage to stay in business is quite beyond my comprehension.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2005, 03:03 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Obviously covering up a high-tech conspiracy , seriously though Ive just been to their site and you have to sign you life away before you could use them.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon64 and CPU quick reference Super Nade AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 14th February, 2006 07:30 PM
Athlon64 and CPU quick reference Super Nade AOA FAQ 0 11th February, 2006 06:04 PM
Stanford introduces new points reference PC Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 10 21st April, 2004 10:53 PM
more on new points SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 21st April, 2004 04:34 PM
ISO/OSI Reference Model lplate80 Random Nonsense! 3 10th July, 2003 12:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0