AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 03:25 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

I've looked for it aswell and couldn't find it in there products list, it is an Active Online Energy Series. I going to ring the local dealier.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 04:00 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by QSDT
I've looked for it aswell and couldn't find it in there products list, it is an Active Online Energy Series. I going to ring the local dealier.
That's what the manual that I linked to is for, the Active3000. That would be the model that I gave you the specs on, also.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 04:14 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

What advantage do UPS's offer, I mean power goes out, you have and extra 30 mins. seems hardly worth the expense and trouble. A more normal shut down?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 04:24 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Basic UPS functionality provide the capability to shut your system down in an orderly fashion before total power failure. By implementing larger batteries, you enable yourself to run longer on the batteries before you have to shut the system down. For businesses that have mission-critical servers, having a UPS with significant run-time (on the order of an hour or so) enables them to ride out longer power outages without having to either shut down the servers altogether or switch over to the expensive backup generators.

In my case, it was a matter of a combination of convenience and necessity. Power fails here during storm season frequently enough that I need the UPS (in fact, I just recently had to reinstall my system because a thunderstorm managed to scramble my boot drive, hence my purchase of a UPS). However, when I am in the middle of a hot coding session, it is DAMNED inconvenient to have to break my train of thought to shut down the system, especially if I am writing code against a deadline (which I almost always am). So for me, it is a good investment. But the situation varies according to your needs.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 04:33 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Of course I wasn't thinking, loss of work! Thanks for not laughing at me! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 04:50 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I guess they other advantage is the surge protection, that actually works as opposed to the $10 surge protector power boards, and considerable power filtering on some.

Of course, there is a far better option that does the same thing and offers 4 hours of battery life in case of a blackout.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 31st January, 2006, 05:10 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

gizmo thanks for the link, I rang the dealer and you had the right one. After I've restored the batteries I'll run it till it stops I'll let you know how long it goes for see how close you were!
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 07:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by QSDT
gizmo thanks for the link, I rang the dealer and you had the right one. After I've restored the batteries I'll run it till it stops I'll let you know how long it goes for see how close you were!
Did you ever run this test? If so, what were the results?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

I need to replace the battery in my old APC anyway, so your article looks like a good idea right now. But, I'm getting this when I try to go to Page 2:

"You are not authorized to view this resource.
You need to login."

Obviously, I'm logged in here on AOA. What gives? (Don't tell me you guys are charging a membership fee to read the articles! )
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 07:47 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by aztec61
I need to replace the battery in my old APC anyway, so your article looks like a good idea right now. But, I'm getting this when I try to go to Page 2:

"You are not authorized to view this resource.
You need to login."

Obviously, I'm logged in here on AOA. What gives? (Don't tell me you guys are charging a membership fee to read the articles! )
One of our admins will sort it out. We don't require a membership fee to view articles, in fact I just checked and even when logged out its working fine for me.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 02:20 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by aztec61
Obviously, I'm logged in here on AOA. What gives? (Don't tell me you guys are charging a membership fee to read the articles! )
It's an evil Republican conspiracy, and besides, we just don't like you.

Actually, I haven't got a clue. Does it happen every time, or just sometimes?

Being logged in to AOA shouldn't make any difference one way or the other, because the forums have a separate authentication from Joomla (the Front Page CMS) and in any case all of the articles on the web site are open to the public for viewing.

Have you tried hurling your cookies? I meaning tossing them? Err.......unloading them? Um........well, I think you know what I mean? We do make extensive use of cookies, so it's possible that there might be something corrupted there.

Last edited by Gizmo; 11th October, 2006 at 02:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

"It's an evil Republican conspiracy, and besides, we just don't like you."

Up YERS, baby!

I just tossed me cookies but still get the same message. Could be it doesn't like Opera? Maybe I'll give it a go on Firefox.

This is why I hate PeeCee's...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 05:22 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Opera 9 is fine under both linux and Windoze.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 05:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by aztec61
I just tossed me cookies but still get the same message. Could be it doesn't like Opera? Maybe I'll give it a go on Firefox.

This is why I hate PeeCee's...
It works fine in both IE and FF for me, and Dsio just confirmed that O9 is fine as well.

Are you using O9 or O8?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 05:54 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by aztec61
Obviously, I'm logged in here on AOA. What gives?
Well, just so you feel a bit more comfortable, it does exactly the same thing to me. However, I'm going to see if I can thump it one! That usually fixes problems.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 06:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Maybe post thump, but I find it works.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2006, 07:43 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Right, should be fixed now. Oddly enough, it looks like the link in the first post was slightly borked, and that caused the second and subsequent pages of the article to be inaccessible. However, if you drilled down to the article from the Front Page (by going to the Miscellaneous articles section), it would work fine.

Thanks to A for figuring out what was going on.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2006, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
It works fine in both IE and FF for me, and Dsio just confirmed that O9 is fine as well.

Are you using O9 or O8?
Using O9. It's working now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2008, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Posts: 1

thanks soooo much

i just got 2 1400 thru ebay..no batteries..been looking for days to determine 12v or 24v system..today i stumbled on to this site..and your your post..MOST EXCELLENT!!!!!!..one of the best ive ever seen..errrrr not to mention that it was a great help pics and all..very impressed....so i joined the site..i hope i can contribute in the futuer..thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2008, 08:06 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Thanks for stopping by.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware hack , ups



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding GPU box to EMIII smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 27th October, 2006 09:13 PM
Adding Machines fpsfreak ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 27th May, 2003 03:45 PM
Adding Ram Dsherm112 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 2nd May, 2003 12:07 AM
*** Adding an ATA 100/133 to a 486 *** CaesaR General Hardware Discussion 10 3rd June, 2002 08:29 PM
WUs not adding up SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 12 27th October, 2001 06:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0