AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average.
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 06:31 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Have you unlocked the cool bits thing that allows overclocking?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16

http://img391.imageshack.us/img391/639/cool1cs.jpg
this ?
if so, i've opend this and it added something to reigiestry, i can O/C (render windows, clocks) at driver settings
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2006, 06:54 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Yep that's what I meant
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16

damn it, it does NOT work --------.------ maybe the drivers are too new ;p ? ar maybe thw missing files( look at my 1st screenshot, on page 2) ?
WTF is going on ;/ on my old gf4 ti4200 rest of the options were avaiable :/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 02:50 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Do you have the latest version of rivatuner?

Also, there is ongoing debate about 512Mb GS being flashable with the other BIOS.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16

i dont want to flash it :P just want to unlock the pipeline & verticle but the fu...en RivaTune :/ are there other progz that allow to unlock it ? i have tried 84.43 / 84.21 and... both do not word properly with riva tuner :/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 08:29 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

I just got a leadtek 6800le from ebay, i know is outdated but i don't game that much. anyway the card is supposed to unlock fully, my question is, can i be succesful trying the ultra extreme mod or is that not posible with my card and just be happy that it unlocks?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2006, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16

OK, i've reinstalled Windows ( it was messed up, so maybe that was the reason of riva tuner's strange problems...) so now it is time to instal the VGA driver, witch should i instal ("Palit GF6800GS Super 512mb"), to get best performance & working riva tuner :
Latest from nVidia.com (84.21)
Drivers from my box-CD (84.12)
Or others (maybe the've got better optimizers for this card) ?
and in what order should i install them :
1 )Drivers
2) Cool Bits
3) Riva Tuner
yeah ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2006, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1

Hi

I have a Gainward Geforce 6800GS 512mb AGP Golden Sample card and tried what you have suggested.
After i enable the 2 bits and the reboot that i have to do the pc gets to the windows (XP) startup screen and then when it goes in to windows all i get is a blue screen. Every 10-20 seconds it refreshes but nothing but blue....i can see the cursor though and move it. Any ideas what the problem is?

Thanks

Matt
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 12:05 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Wait, sorry you said enable 2 bits? What 2 bits are you talking about?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 02:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattfraser
Hi

I have a Gainward Geforce 6800GS 512mb AGP Golden Sample card and tried what you have suggested.
After i enable the 2 bits and the reboot that i have to do the pc gets to the windows (XP) startup screen and then when it goes in to windows all i get is a blue screen. Every 10-20 seconds it refreshes but nothing but blue....i can see the cursor though and move it. Any ideas what the problem is?

Thanks

Matt
hy,
i have the same card (gainward 6800gs/512mb/agp) and i think that this card does not have additional pipelines you can enable.
if you look at this:
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y27...aturner_03.jpg

then on my card at bit 3 and 13 the "description" field says N/A, "state" is empty and "HW Masked" is empty too.

i think the reason is because this card has the NV42 chip included and not the old NV40. thats why it supports shader model 3 etc...

can someone confirm this or am i doing something wrong?


edit: oh and matt: to get rid of your problem reboot windows in vga mode (hit F8 before the loading screen) and change the settings back in rivatuner.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 02:43 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

This is true, the 512MB 6800GS Gainward is an NV42, and therefore not unlockable. There was a thread here: Rivatuner-compatible drivers for Gainward 6800GS AGP?

Where I explained the thing in a fair bit of depth, and we talked about it alot.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 04:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
This is true, the 512MB 6800GS Gainward is an NV42, and therefore not unlockable. There was a thread here: Rivatuner-compatible drivers for Gainward 6800GS AGP?

Where I explained the thing in a fair bit of depth, and we talked about it alot.
cool, thanks. you mentioned powerstrip, is it of any use because the gainward6800gs is already overclocked quite a lot, and i don't want to kill it :=) ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 05:01 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Na, its more just because Rivatuner doesn't understand your card. Powerstrip tends to overclock a bit better for some reason as well, and has greater monitor controls too. Trust me, you have plenty of head room on that card.

That 110nm process really brings the 6800GS chips to life.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 11

dankevielmals (aka thanks-a-lot)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 05:28 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

No problem mate.

Just out of interest, what drivers are you using?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
No problem mate.

Just out of interest, what drivers are you using?
uhm, "latest" nvidia drivers (version 84.21)
fyi, using rivatuner ("latest" version too) worked fine, no error messages, and afair i could open the driver tuning menu as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 06:30 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The latest drivers are the 91.33 drivers.

For improved image quality and performance, I recommend the TweaksRUs Xtreme-G Drivers. We have them on our files site, AOAFiles.com (or click files at the top of the forum).

Just go Drivers -> Video cards -> Nvidia and get the 91.33 TweaksRUs Xtreme-G modified driver.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 11

ah, i just looked at the nvidia homepage, there's still 84.21 on there. thanks.

i've installed 91.33 now but honestly i don't notice any difference in speed or quality (using oblivion for testing). should i? or are the improvements very small ones?

e.g. i've used this drivers control panel setting "optimize for speed/quality" and tried all different positions. no change in frame rate, no change in image quality- at all. any comment on this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2006, 12:02 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The biggest change in the 91.33 driver is that it lets you overclock more. All of us on Geforce 6/7 cards have seen an improvement in overclocking since these 9x.xx series drivers.

Aside from that, try using the old control panel, its much easier. Are you using the standard ones, or the Xtreme-G modified ones?

And yes, the differences are subtle, but you notice them after a long time using the card. The 8x.xx series for example improved sharpness, and the 9x.xx series make the colours a bit more vibrant, while also applying a colour cycling effect to fog / smoke to make it look slightly more realistic.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6800gs , mods



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my BFG 6800GS Mattman5465 Hardware Hacking 2 16th February, 2007 03:15 PM
HD on 6800GS AGP WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th January, 2007 01:37 AM
6800gs.... stanzlavos Hardware Hacking 2 4th November, 2006 08:56 PM
6800gs Agp WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 52 29th January, 2006 07:31 AM
6800GS in SLI Super Nade Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th January, 2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0