AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 03:54 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The system was NOT overclocked. It was in fact severely underclocked for the DDR, and the HT bus.

The overclock is not even applied until it boots into windows, and the GPU overclock doesn't come in until the driver is loaded. Failure to POST, means it was not overclocked at all.

And no, 350W should not work just fine. 350W, in a completely ideal world, with completely even power distribution over all the rails would.

That never happens. Thats why there are individual ratings for each rail. If the system is drawing the vast majority of its load from one rail, that entire power rating system, even if it is accurate (and it rarely is on cheapies) is not relevant. What is relevant is how much power a rail can deliver to the stuff thats running off it.

At the end of the day the choice is simple. You can get a cheap crap PSU with a low 350W rating. Hell it might even work for a while. But you are risking your system, limiting overclocking potential, and living dangerously.

It's not worth it, and anyone that has more than $500 in their computer would be insane not to put at least 10% of their total system's value into their PSU.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 04:10 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I give up.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 04:11 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONKEYMAN
I give up.
Quitter :P
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 04:20 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

meh, yeah I quit.

Do me one thing....find a table/graph which show a basic single-card pc, not overclocked using over 300W total combined, all rails evenly distributed or otherwise and I will bow down and declare my self a humble student of your might.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 04:49 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Athlon 64 3200+ 89W
K8 Motherboard 25W+
6800 Ultra AGP 80W
Two sticks, DDR400 combined 20W
One hard disk, 7200RPM 25W
Sound blaster Audigy 1 7W
DVD Burner 25W
2nd optical drive 20W
2-4 USB devices 10W total
4 Case / CPU fans 10W
Any PCI card 5W

Total: 89+25+80+20+25+7+25+20+10+10+5
Total: 316W

That is not a complicated system.

My system:

Athlon 64 89W
Motherboard 25W
6800GT @ ultra voltage 80W
2 Sticks DDR400 20W
3 7200RPM disks 75W
Audigy 2 with front panel 15W
TV tuner card 5W
5 USB devices including chargers 20W
8 case / CPU fans, including 3 Deltas 40W
DVD Burner 1 25W
DVD Burner 2 25W
LCD Display 5W
Cold Cathodes 10W

Total: 89+25+80+20+75+15+5+20+40+25+25+5+10
Total: 434W
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 05:08 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

bite me!



*bows down*
Attached Images
 
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2006, 07:18 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

LOL omg !!! You guys are killing me ! However my PSU 300W was handling

MSI nforce3
A64Venice 3200
2x512 GEIL
2xSeagate 120GB
2xoptical drives (dvdwr+dvd)
6800 LE 12/6
leadtektvtuner
extra network card
soundblaster live 5.1
4 fans
1 neon

all in the same time !

Now I have one 500W PSU just for fun and because Dsio scared me
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2006, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: scotland
Posts: 39

Hj guys, i just stumbled across your site and am sure glad i did. I have a couple of questions about the gainward 600gs 512mb AGP. I have a zalman vf700-cu fan, will this fit this card? i took the back panel of but the holes did not look the same. Also is the stock cooler good enough for basic overclocking on this card. I currently have the card clock at 470 and the memory at stock.
I have this card on a gigabyte board with 1 gig ram, 1 dvd writer, 1 western digital 160gig HDD and a rear 8cm case fan with an enermax liberty 400watt psu.
thanks in advance guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 12:26 AM
lkomarci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to lkomarci

Quote:
Hj guys, i just stumbled across your site and am sure glad i did. I have a couple of questions about the gainward 600gs 512mb AGP. I have a zalman vf700-cu fan, will this fit this card? i took the back panel of but the holes did not look the same. Also is the stock cooler good enough for basic overclocking on this card. I currently have the card clock at 470 and the memory at stock.
I have this card on a gigabyte board with 1 gig ram, 1 dvd writer, 1 western digital 160gig HDD and a rear 8cm case fan with an enermax liberty 400watt psu.
thanks in advance guys.
hey godrugal0, stumble more often will ya?

ok, i have the card. i can tell you, you DON'T need this zalman fan. for real. the card is as cool as ice. it's summer and the temperatures are really high over here, and still, without any additional fans, my gainward is working at 45°C (113 F) in idle mode. it maxes out at about 53°C (127F). so don't worry about it. the fan is a bit louder than on my previous Leadtek 6800GT but i'm happy as long as it's good for the vga.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 12:38 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

One of the other cool side effects of having an NV42 instead of an NV40 is that its designed to use considerably less power, while having cooling that is equal, or better than the NV40 cards (6800GT/Ultra). This means very nice temps.

The best thing you could do for yourself, is to buy a $3 tube of Arctic silver 5, take the stock heatsink off, gently and carefully remove ALL of the old thermal goop from both the core, and the heatsink, and then put on a very thin, even quality applied covering of AS5 before putting it all back together tightly.

Stock thermal goop is always rubbish, and increases temperatures. For $3, its about the best cooling upgrade you could make.

For further cooling, some nice flat plane lapping on the heatsink works, and there is another trick that I used on mine. Take the HSF to a jewlers or to a quality engravers, and they can lap the surface of your heatsink to an incredibly perfect flat mirror finish. Cost me about $10 or something from memory.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:31 AM
lkomarci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to lkomarci

Quote:
Stock thermal goop is always rubbish, and increases temperatures. For $3, its about the best cooling upgrade you could make.
true, but even so, 113 F is a really low temp for a graphics card ain't it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:35 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Not bad at all.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:37 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkomarci
true, but even so, 113 F is a really low temp for a graphics card ain't it?
45C / 113F is fine, but is that your temp under load (full 3D usage) or in 2D mode?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:50 AM
lkomarci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to lkomarci

45 / 113 is in 2d mode, and raises to max 53 / 127 in 3d.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:51 AM
lkomarci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to lkomarci

btw, about the 3d mode, it's not just playing a shabby graphics game, it's 3d rendering so that's max load.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 12:15 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

That isn't bad at all you know. Keep in mind gaming should make it hotter than 3D rendering due to the added stresses, increased memory usage, and usage of hardware functions that are not used by renderers.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: scotland
Posts: 39

Question

What is the best way to view your temps when playing a game? And how do i know if i overclock my card to much - are their any tell tale signs apart from artifacts showing up. Just to let you know, i installed your newest drivers and it reduced my 3dmark05 score by 200 from the drivers that came with the card???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 07:49 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

But the Image quality will be improved, each of the driver sets have different levels of quality and performance, if you just want benchmark scores then choose a set that Dsio has labelled as having improved performance.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: scotland
Posts: 39

sorry to double post, but what are physx cards(well i know what they do), do you put one of these in your pc as well as a gfx card?? are they worth while??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 07:58 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

At present they are PCI based so you can have one as well as your graphics card, however until more titles are released supporting them they will not benefit performance, in fact they will hinder it slightly.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD on 6800GS AGP WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th January, 2007 01:37 AM
6800gs Agp WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 52 29th January, 2006 07:31 AM
6800gs Agp z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 25 8th January, 2006 09:54 PM
AthlonXP-compatible cooler compatible with Athlon(tm)? gratznic Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 28th April, 2004 02:55 AM
RivaTuner question CreePinG_DeatH Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 6th February, 2002 11:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0