AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2006, 11:01 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

bad ATI 9800

I think I found the problem of an old Hercules 9800 AIW yesterday
One resistor is missing.
NO warranty, so what can I do?
Attached Thumbnails
bad ATI 9800-r350defekt.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by gedon; 12th September, 2006 at 11:02 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 07:50 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Very little i would have to say......its gonna be extremely hard to attach such a small surface mount component and nearly impossible to get the correct part.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 11:56 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Given the line of other components, I suspect it might be a decoupling capacitor. You'd have to see if it was connected between ground and the chip supply though to be sure.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 12:12 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Given that everything is usually multiply redundant, I'd short it together and pray to xenu. Even if you could find a replacement component, I doubt you could fit it, and its soldering into the space that shim leaves you. Shorting it on the other hand would at least be simple and neat.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 12:13 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Given the line of other components, I suspect it might be a decoupling capacitor. You'd have to see if it was connected between ground and the chip supply though to be sure.

That is what I was thinking also...No way to be sure of the value...

Is there a way to trace it back and possibly use a leaded device as opposed to a surface mount device? Might be a little easier to acquire a leaded cap.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 01:32 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Shorting it on the other hand would at least be simple and neat.
If it is a decoupling capacitor, shorting it would short the power supply, and potentially cause the whole thing to go up in smoke.

Decoupling capacitors are not critical in value - as long as it's approximately correct.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 13th September, 2006 at 01:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 01:58 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I asked ATI Support yesterday. they said "ask Hercules". Does the manufacture of the card put this component on the chip?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 02:17 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
If it is a decoupling capacitor, shorting it would short the power supply, and potentially cause the whole thing to go up in smoke.

Decoupling capacitors are not critical in value - as long as it's approximately correct.

Where does one go about getting 0204 SM caps?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 13th September, 2006 at 02:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 03:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by gedon
I asked ATI Support yesterday. they said "ask Hercules". Does the manufacture of the card put this component on the chip?
Not normally, no. It would be supplied as a package from ATI. That doesn't mean that ATI will answer a support request for a product from Hercules though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samuknow
Where does one go about getting 0204 SM caps?
I tend to buy such things from RS and Farnell personally. I don't know what is available in the US however.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 09:26 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

received a new email from ATI support, they can't help me
if I understand it right, the support has no acces to this kind of information
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 10:41 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

If I were you, I would buy a destroyed 9800 off ebay. Water damaged, overheated, PWM damaged, whatever, as long as the core is more or less intact, and do a transplant.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 10:43 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

http://cgi.ebay.com/128mb-Ati-Radeon...ayphotohosting
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 12:12 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
If I were you, I would buy a destroyed 9800 off ebay. Water damaged, overheated, PWM damaged, whatever, as long as the core is more or less intact, and do a transplant.

Brilliant dsio....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

I was just going to say...the same. Oh well.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2006, 03:06 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

/pfft
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2006, 04:29 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I am not familiar with 9800. use the whole 9800 series the R350 chip?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2006, 04:34 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The very late model 9800XT uses the R360, as far as I know, all the others use the R350.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2006, 01:50 PM
Takeshi_0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 13

dsio just provided a brilliant idea!
__________________
AMD RoCKS!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800 pro to 9800 XT MOD!!! cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 15 9th July, 2004 03:55 AM
9800 Pro help booboofetish Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 1st July, 2004 10:03 PM
9800 pro dod Online Deals, and Steals 3 17th February, 2004 10:21 AM
Can anyone help me use a AIW ATI 9800? bradmax57 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 30 1st November, 2003 06:41 PM
9800! hext CRASHED! 1 14th September, 2003 05:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0