AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 02:30 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Question FarCry + 1.4Patch + HDR + AA + Nvidia = ?

Hi all,
i've been reading about the 1.4 patch for FarCry and i know it will allow AA + HDR on ATi hardware, but does anyone know if it allows it on NVidia hardware? I know NV's can handle them both at the same time in the Source engine, but will this patch allow it in FarCry's engine (CryEngine AFAIK)?

Thanks,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 02:34 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Misleading really. The Source Engine DOESN'T use HDR. It uses tonemapping and blooms to replicate HDR, but it's not ture FP16 HDR like in Oblivion, Splinter Cell, Far Cry Etc.

SM3 HDR cannot be rendered with AA on nVidia hardware currently.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad

Last edited by Pitch; 25th September, 2006 at 02:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 03:22 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Damn...I wish FarCry used it more. I just hope Crysis will so we can have AA + "HDR" at the same time.

Even setting AA in driver settings doesn't override it, the game just uses HDR and ignores the driver settings completely.

I wonder if it would be possible for Crytek to release a patch that would fix it for SLi (use one GPU for HDR and one for AA) or a switching patch (switches between HDR and AA every few ms. Would have a weird effect though, unless it was switched at an interval below the point the eye would is able to detect. it'd probably lag a helluva lot as well).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 03:24 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
Damn...I wish FarCry used it more. I just hope Crysis will so we can have AA + "HDR" at the same time.
No Crysis uses full HDR so you'll need a ATi card to get it, or G80 if it supports it.

I hope G80 supports HDR+AA so developers start building such options into their games. Although details on G80 are few and far between.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
I wonder if it would be possible for Crytek to release a patch that would fix it for SLi (use one GPU for HDR and one for AA)
Ambitious, but no idea if it's possible, plus, since there's no load balancing between the cards, you'll be back to single card performance. Not something that's likely to sit well with people
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad

Last edited by Pitch; 25th September, 2006 at 03:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 04:21 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Ambitious, but no idea if it's possible, plus, since there's no load balancing between the cards, you'll be back to single card performance. Not something that's likely to sit well with people
Well what would people prefer: 60+ FPS with AA+HDR or 120+ FPS with either AA or HDR. I know which i'd go for (and yes, i do get 60+ FPS with either HDR or AA at max).

I know that it's written deep within the game itself, but i think i'm gonna work on a mod that can enhance the effect that you get with paradise rendering mode, so it's closer to HDR that just an aura. There's got to be a setting somewhere.

SOT, what happened to the Enhanced Reality mod? Perhaps it could be integrated into there? It...was...you that made that or have i lost my memory again?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 08:17 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Indeed I did, but stopepd due to lack of feedback. I think only 2 people tried it. Feel free to use/tweak it into what ever you wish.

Also, I had alook at the HDR filters while attempted a Bullet time mod to give a sort of Overhaze. I don't know how much modding ability there is with it I'm afraid.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad

Last edited by Pitch; 25th September, 2006 at 08:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FARCRY for 10 $ chrisbard GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 20th July, 2006 09:17 PM
FarCry and my system = ..... skool h8r GAMES! OH YEAH! 47 14th February, 2006 11:56 PM
Modding FarCry skool h8r GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 23rd October, 2005 05:03 PM
farcry 64 scubes 64 Bit computing 1 7th July, 2005 10:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0