AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 05:22 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

AidanII Need your help with sync conversion

Composite sync monitor : VGA video card

http://www.hut.fi/Misc/Electronics/c.../vga2rgbs.html

The above URL has diagrams of a couple video sync converters. My problem here is that I don't understand wiring schematics. They include a parts list, which I also do not understand.

The part I am hoping will work is "Simple sync combining BOX". If this is an option, all I will need to do is chop up a 5-bnc cable.

If any of this in in your range, any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

This is in relation to the Color Classic PC v3.0 that I am working on. This one get's a Duron, and an Epox microATX board mounted sideways. Also, unlike it's two predecessors, it will retain the stock mac monitor, with exception for modification to the analog board to allow it to accept 640x480 @ 60Hz (I've done this part before)
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 20th March, 2002 at 05:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 05:25 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

This is the cable hack. All I need are bare wires. I have to solder this in. Please tell me this will do the trick.
Attached Thumbnails
AidanII Need your help with sync conversion-vga2bnc.gif  
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 07:34 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Re: AidanII Need your help with sync conversion

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
This one get's a Duron, and an Epox microATX board mounted sideways.
EP-8KHM ??
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 01:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If your monitor requires composite sync, then the simple cable hack will work IF your video card can provide composite sync on pin 13.

If your video card cannot provide composite sync (there should be an option in it's driver) then you have no option but to build a circuit to combine the H and V syncs together.

Depending on your monitor, it'll either need analogue sync, or TTL sync - you'll have to look this up.

If it needs analogue sync then you'll have to build the slightly more complex first circuit. If it needs TTL, then you'll have to build the slightly less complex second circuit.

If you need to ask any more, feel free!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2002, 10:52 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

The video in question can really be anything. I have not procured this component yet. I have been told that ATI has kept sync on green and composite sync around due to their mac market. Ya think a raedon will work? I'm thinking I will have to actually call ATI on this one.

Thanks for the help, really. I was trying to think of who would know something like this, and you seem to be the only component level kinda guy around here.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2002, 12:28 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Call ATI and ask them, as I've no idea personally! It's interesting to know however! Wonder if any of the NVidia cards can do that, given they're also getting more Mac friendly.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2002, 06:08 AM
CamoAlien's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 72

I am running a Radeon 8500 right now with a composite sync.

My monitor is a Sun 20" workstation monitor. It is actually a Sony GDM 20E20 composite sync monitor with a 13w3 connector on the end, so I have to use a 13w3 to HD15 (VGA) adapter.

BTW, this is a sweet monitor, and so is the video card.
__________________
Rei Ayanami - 2x 850e | SGI Zx10 | 3d Prophet II GTS 64m DVI | SGI 19" CRT | 1024mb RAM | IBM 36Z15 | Fujitsu MAP3147NP | Enermax FS-981xpss & eg651p-ve | 3Com 3c996b-t
Misato - XP-M 2600+ | K7S5A | 1024mb PC3200 | FX5950U | WD1600JB - See them all
Asuka - 2x 667b | Supermicro P3DRE | FX5200 | SGI 19" CRT | 384 RDRAM | 3Com 3c996b-t | PX716-A | HP 9200s
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2002, 06:36 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I have two 20e20's on my desk. They say they are sync on green. I need true composite sync for this mac monitor.

The 20e20's are fine monitors. I got both of mine for $135 shipped. (That's total, not each. Some people still don't know that they work on PC's... lucky me.)
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVI to ISO conversion Smoney22 Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 7 11th April, 2007 09:05 AM
Component to VGA or DVI Conversion saquib Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 27th November, 2006 10:42 PM
The Official Canadian Temperature Conversion Chart cloasters Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 5 12th June, 2004 04:03 AM
Can't run 166 in Sync with 8RDA+! turbo510 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 12th March, 2003 10:42 AM
Laptop display conversion Xanthas General Hardware Discussion 3 6th August, 2002 05:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0