AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 01:18 AM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

Question Need Help to make this Mod for 4 pin on PSU

I found one here
Non-P4 ATX Power Supply 4 Pin Molex Connector to +12V Pentium 4 4 Pin Connector CPU Power Adapter

except the picture is not clear where I would route the wire any help I am not inveting much in this system and would be really hard this time of year to afford anything it looks simple if there was only a different view of the part.

Thnxz alot
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 01:49 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

TBH I much rather use a PSU that was designed to provide power on the 4pin 12v connector. Mainly since older PSUs without it are unlikely to be able to stably supply enough power.

Either that or if you really must use what you have, I would buy the part - god only knows where you are going to get the 4pin 12v connector from without, say, gutting a PSU with one on anyway.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 05:48 AM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

Quote:
Originally Posted by Favu View Post
TBH I much rather use a PSU that was designed to provide power on the 4pin 12v connector. Mainly since older PSUs without it are unlikely to be able to stably supply enough power.

Either that or if you really must use what you have, I would buy the part - god only knows where you are going to get the 4pin 12v connector from without, say, gutting a PSU with one on anyway.
I did not ask you what you would rather do I asked for someone with some knowledge into wiring this. I`ve done many mods and they almost always seem to work so please unless your trying to help it is better not to say anything.
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD

Last edited by SHOUTSAMD; 4th January, 2008 at 05:49 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 08:47 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOUTSAMD View Post
I did not ask you what you would rather do I asked for someone with some knowledge into wiring this. I`ve done many mods and they almost always seem to work so please unless your trying to help it is better not to say anything.
Really? I happen to agree with him. Powering a mobo is not something to be taken lightly. What do you think will happen while you are running the mobo if the cable mod breaks? Sure you'll do it properly but I'm not sure its a risk to take when that cable costs 8$.

And btw. if you need help pulling off this mod I'm not really sure your XP on modding is that great for you to react like you did. No offense..
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 10:43 AM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

Understud but what problem I am having I big big bills I mean like I just paid out near $20,000 it is a refurbished asrock mobo I only paid like 32 dollars for it shipp so if they can sell them I can make one all I need are the pinouts
I have many old dead PSU`s to gets the parts from and about 3 soldering irons as well.this is what I bought ASRock K7UPGRADE-880 VIA KT880 Socket A ATX MB w/SND & LAN ASRock K7UPGRADE-880 K7UPGRADE-880
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD

Last edited by SHOUTSAMD; 4th January, 2008 at 10:45 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 11:07 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Why should a cable that he builds be any lower quality than one he can buy?

Pins 1 and 2 are ground, pins 3 and 4 are +12V. The +12V pins (3 and 4) are the two pins closest to the latch on the connector. No other voltages are present on the connector. You may want to double check my suggestions with other sources too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 11:27 AM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

OMG I have never seen this before I could be wrong but "Has anyone here ever replace radial elcerolitic capacitors? "Well the colored white half in all my experience has always been negative I hooked the board up tyo the PSU out of my main system and it would not start. I looked and every cap on the board has the positive side soldered to the white half I sure hope I`m wrong but maybe someone here has the same board and could take a look at theirs.
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 11:29 AM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

And btw. if you need help pulling off this mod I'm not really sure your XP on modding is that great for you to react like you did. No offense..[/QUOTE] j I`m not having the greatest day of my life believe me
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 01:41 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán View Post
Why should a cable that he builds be any lower quality than one he can buy?

Pins 1 and 2 are ground, pins 3 and 4 are +12V. The +12V pins (3 and 4) are the two pins closest to the latch on the connector. No other voltages are present on the connector. You may want to double check my suggestions with other sources too.
That should do it right there....

I have made 2 to 1 molex splitters and all have been fine. If solder and heat shrink tubing are uses, it will be as strong as anything....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 04:53 PM
SHOUTSAMD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Posts: 37

dAMN i HATE WHEN i GET ON A KICKER AND STQART WORKING ON ALOT OF DIFFERENT PROJECTS AT ONCE i SOMEHOW FRIED ONE OF MY BOARDS LAST NIGHT THE OTHE ONE THAT CAME IN WAS doa Im sorry abnout5 the caps my living room looks like a plane crash with all the electronics hey I been up for three dyas man I need sleep. Got to do it cya
__________________
8RDA3+PRO rev 1.4
AXMH2400FQQ4C ADYHA0503XPMW 200X12 2.4ghz@1.76V
2x512 OCZ PC3200 2,2,2,5 @200 Dual channel
PNY GEFORCE 7600GS 512MB 8X AGP
MAXTOR 500GB SATA 1 AND 80GB 7200 ATA 133
LITE ON DVD/CD BURNER
ANTEC EA380W DUAL 12V RAILS
POWER UP MIDTOWER CASE
SAITEK RUMBLEFORCE GAMEPAD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2008, 05:11 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I find that, for me, a lack of sleep is a good way to ensure that things die in needless ways.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I make mp3? Nasimov OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 5th March, 2004 11:25 AM
what to make out of this????? purplemohawkman Case Modifications 3 9th February, 2004 07:28 AM
Should it be better? Make it so. revrondo EPoX MotherBoards 14 16th December, 2002 11:18 PM
What would I make? FerrariF50 Random Nonsense! 12 11th April, 2002 08:28 PM
Might Just Make me like ATI demonX Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 11th March, 2002 05:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0