AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 12:32 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Unlocking a AMD XP1900+

Is it possible to unlock a AMD XP1900+? If so, how. And whats the danger involved?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 09:54 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

its doable,

you need to connect the L1 bridges, as with all other athlons, just on an XP there is a safeguard to stop it being done by an average joe... there are little pits cut into the surface down to a conductive copper layer, so a "regular" unock attempt will always fail. you need to fill these pits somehow, (i used superglue) and then connect the bridges using conductive ink (pencil wont work, aparantly the current is too high)

i've attempted it a few times, only messed up on my last attempt, but havent fried anything yet
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2002, 11:53 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I have heard about kits that do it. I know some one (Spyder) that has used a kit. Do you know about these things?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 03:21 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Although I think his site is a bit crap there is a great guide and video at www.tomshardware.com

I used the superglue/conductive paint method and it turned out fine.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 07:47 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

How many times has this question been asked? And answered?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2002, 12:53 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

That's what we're here for Wally, Imagine the loss in OUR HITS!!! if we only needed to answer a question once! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2002, 05:48 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

LOL- i agree w/ Daniel on this one- i need a new kit- but cant rember where to get one- anyone know?? There realy nice cause u can remove them if u fry the chip :-D
Spyder:nervous: :nervous: :nervous:
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2002, 12:49 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I could use one of those thingys that Spyder is talking about Where!
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2002, 04:30 AM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
I could use one of those thingys that Spyder is talking about Where!
I don't know if those have been proven to work well yet. They were one some Korean cell phone website.

And Dano, didn't wanna step on any toes, it's just that this has been asked all sorts of times, and answered, in the AMD forums.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2002, 06:32 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

There are always 5 newbies for one learned person :-D:-D
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2002, 11:47 AM
BongWater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

For what its worth, the kits that HighSpeedPC sells do work and are cheap. And as mentioned, ya just wipe away ur mistakes.

BongWater
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 03:24 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I just looked at that kit. Let me get this right. You make the bridges with conductive goo?

Couldn't you skip the slot filling part by simply putting a tiny dot of the goo on each contact, and making the bridge with a very thin strand of wire? the goo would hold it there, and you could paint the center of each piece with clear nail polish just in case it could arc. (Not bloody likely) I might give it a shot.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 05:06 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

That would work......... but i would have better piece of mine filling the gaps incase anything got in there and shorted it out- i would never have precice enought hands to do that job-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2002, 05:44 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
I just looked at that kit. Let me get this right. You make the bridges with conductive goo?

Couldn't you skip the slot filling part by simply putting a tiny dot of the goo on each contact, and making the bridge with a very thin strand of wire? the goo would hold it there, and you could paint the center of each piece with clear nail polish just in case it could arc. (Not bloody likely) I might give it a shot.
You have no idea what you're asking. I tried to do that with a Spitfire Duron. Grabbed some stranded speaker wire. I figured the individual wires in the strand were tiny, and they'd work. They did, but it was a real bear to do. I used some clear nail polish to attach the wires. First I tried doing all four at once, but they kept moving around before it could dry. I even taped them down. So I tried doing them one at a time, gluing one down, then scraping the excess nail polish off the bridges, and doing it again with the next one. Wasn't easy AT ALL. And it would be harder with the XPs, where they have a gap.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 50
Send a message via Yahoo to dmdstar

I used the kit from www.highspeedpc.com. It took several tries, but it worked (see my sig).

The only problem with that goo is that it doesn't dry, so you have to be very careful not to touch that part of the processor after you get it done.
__________________

Abit AN7
XP 2600+ @ 2.3Ghz (210x11)

512MB Corsair XMS PC3500 DDR (2x256MB)
Radeon 9800 Pro @ 400/365
Hitachi 7K250 120GB SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax 9 80GB ATA133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 08:59 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Why did you lower the mulitplyer?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 50
Send a message via Yahoo to dmdstar

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
Why did you lower the mulitplyer?
Oh man.. that's the whole PURPOSE of unlocking it. What you want to do is lower the multiplier as far as it will go first... then crank the Front Side Bus as high as it will go... Once you've found the highest stable FSB, then inch the multiplier up until it will go no more.

You get far more performance out of upping the FSB than the multiplier. If you'll notice mine's at 185Mhz (where normal is 133Mhz) ... putting my multi at 9.5 gives me over 2100+ speed. :-D ... (and REALLY over 2100 speed because of the cranked FSB!!) ... this thing is sooo fast! I was using it at 190 x 9, but wasn't quite as stable at 190.

Note... my VCore is at 1.9 also to help with stability. (could raise it more, I suppose, but it scares me )
__________________

Abit AN7
XP 2600+ @ 2.3Ghz (210x11)

512MB Corsair XMS PC3500 DDR (2x256MB)
Radeon 9800 Pro @ 400/365
Hitachi 7K250 120GB SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax 9 80GB ATA133

Last edited by dmdstar; 8th May, 2002 at 09:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2002, 09:59 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

i managed to RMA one that had been unlocked didnt even clean the ink off! but it was obvious why it died..... i drenched the thing! nice big burns where the water shorted the L1's so i guess they knew it wasnt my poor unlocking

also killed the mobo!!!

blame it on bobbinz!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."

Last edited by Random Nonsense; 8th May, 2002 at 10:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 06:03 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Now thats just mean........ Joking.... nice job.... were going to unlock his cpu this weekend using my highspeedpc.com kit- did wonders for my 1600 :-D
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2002, 08:57 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Did you see Spyders 1600 speeds? DAMN. 1.823GHz is HELLA fast. Do you think I can get my XP 1900+ to 2GHz?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ or XP1900 Can not Understand it... Tooler EPoX MotherBoards 13 9th July, 2003 05:27 PM
unlocking an xp1900 Palomino alpha22555 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 23rd January, 2003 06:14 PM
Need help with unlocking Robin B AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 18th December, 2002 03:18 PM
Damn XP1900! SiGmA_X AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 23rd May, 2002 09:45 PM
XP1900+ Overclocking results!!! Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 15 14th November, 2001 06:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0