AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2008, 03:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Posts: 11

fsb pin mod

Quote:
Welcome, abraham.
You last visited: 30th October, 2007 at 05:22 PM
Private Messages: Unread 0, Total 0.
wow it's been along time since i'v been on this forum and its improved since the last visit.

anyway my bro needs a runescape pc the only pc i have laying around is a dell dimension 2200 with celeron 1.3ghz and 512mb ram
anyway, I need a pin mod to modify the fsb (bsel?) i have pc133 ram so that shouldn't hold me back but i know the cooling is not good and it has no pci locks. so i think even if i could get it running at 133fsb it would corrupt my hd. I want a fsb pin mod to be as high as it can without going over 37mhz on the pci. I need pics if possible too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2008, 04:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I used this guys method a while back and it worked.

Easy Upclocking of Tualatin Celerons to run at 133MHz clock speeds
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2008, 03:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Posts: 11

Quote:
it did not work on a Dell Dimension 2100 which uses a variety of Intel's 810 motherboard... It's not known yet what is preventing this from working.
that news makes me nervous as I have a dell dimension 2200

so all I gotta do is break BSEL 1 of my cpu and it will be running 133fsb?

Also does this overclock the system or just the cpu? If it overclocks the system, the pci will be in excess of 40mhz which will corrupt the hard drives.
__________________

Last edited by abraham; 9th July, 2008 at 03:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2008, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Posts: 11

I'm also looking for an fsb pin mod for sempron 3000 socket 754 i need it to be like 265-270mhz area and like i asked before does this overclock the whole system or just the cpu?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2008, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

BSEL mods will leave the PCI clock stock. It's the same as throwing a 133 FSB CPU in the board.

Don't know of any pin mods for A64's as all of them had the same HTT speed so there wouldn't be any need for AMD to be able set differently
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2008, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Posts: 11

well i tried to bsel mod the celeron and it did not post so i undid the mod and its running fine. too bad i guess intel locked the motherboard to prevent this. oh and the reason i need the pin mod for the sempy was because my motherboad has no pci lock and no fsb ajustments.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2008, 11:45 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by abraham View Post
well i tried to bsel mod the celeron and it did not post so i undid the mod and its running fine. too bad i guess intel locked the motherboard to prevent this. oh and the reason i need the pin mod for the sempy was because my motherboad has no pci lock and no fsb ajustments.
You can always give CPUFSB a try. This worked on my "locked" Intel 845GRG mobo. I was able to clock it from 2.4-2.66 stable.
CPUFSB supports just about all the old mobos and CPU's.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th July, 2008 at 11:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2008, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Posts: 11

Iv already tried my pll was not supported because it was a locked pll. and it overclocks the pci bus which corrupts your hard drives.
__________________

Last edited by abraham; 10th July, 2008 at 02:34 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2011, 09:40 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Just 'cause they are old problems doesn't mean they weren't real ones.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
celeron , pin mod



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0